We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
165
29
5
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
29
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestslarge dining tablecroissantsbreakfast tableloire valleylovely surroundingsbreadpeaceful locationsurrounded by fieldswonderful staylocal producespent nightsfantastic tablechristianhostcheesegarden
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2017

We stayed with our two children at the Manoir de Chaix and made it our base to visit the Loire castles nearby. The rooms are spacious, quiet, clean and well-equipped (worth mentioning is the top quality of bedding). Breakfasts are scrumptious: fresh-squeezed orange juices, delicious breads and twelve (yes! twelve!) kinds of delicious homemade jams. The orange marmelade, with crunchy caramelized orange zests is to-die-for.
We also had the pleasure to have dinner at the Manoir, together with other guests and sharing the table with our hosts. I highly recommend dining at the Manoir: garden vegetables, amazing local wines, top-notch three-course meal, and if you are lucky to be there on a warm summer night, this dinner will take place outside in the most beautiful setting. Dinner with Dominique and Pascal will be one of our most memorable vacation moments. I can't wait to return to the Manoir. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank SFrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

If you would like to stay in a beautiful family home that has lots of history (the line dividing Free France and Occupied France goes through the woods nearby), where you are warmly welcomed by its host and hostess, who join you and other guests at a large dining table for a wonderful home-cooked meal, garden-fresh vegetables, outstanding cheese and wine, this is your place. Well-appointed, spacious rooms, peaceful location surrounded by fields of sunflowers, breakfast with more croissants and bread, jams and coffee than one could want. We thoroughly enjoyed the company of Pascale and Dominique, who set a high bar for Chambres d'Hotes.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

We spent 3 nights with Dominique and Pascal and were impressed with the beauty of the house, garden, food and countryside around us. Our upstairs double bedroom was large with a sitting area with table and chairs, and windows to both front and back of the manoir overlooking trees.The bathroom was modern and had everything we needed, including a separate toilet. The only thing lacking was a kettle and tea/coffee supplies in the room. We had two dinners with other guests and the hosts, a wonderful experience speaking in both english and french (basic!) while managing at least 4 courses of delicious food cooked by Dominique from her own or local produce. It was much better food (not haute cuisine and you shouldn't expect that) and much less expensive than we had in a nearby restaurant. Easy day trips to the Loire Valley villages and chateaux. Not many Australians have stayed here, but we highly recommend it and hope more of you will visit Manoir de Chaix.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pghms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

This is the first review since the return of the owners, Pascale and Dominique, from their 12 years in Corsica. They now run the B&B as they did before they left, and it's one of the best I've stayed in. The rooms are comfortable, the beds ensure a great night's sleep (aided by the eau de vie de prunes after dinner), dinner is a feast of home-grown and home-cooked food (even the meringue for dessert was made with egg whites from their chickens) eaten in the company of Pascale (and his generosity with local wines) and Dominique, and breakfast boasts a collection of jams that takes some beating. They even welcomed our 10-week old daughter, with all the noise and disruption that she brings, with smiles and coos. This is how Chambres d'Hotes should be done.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lugga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016

This is an excellent gite and terrific value for money, It is a beautiful old house, very well furnished, with large comfortable bedrooms. We were welcomed by Christian, who cooked us a superb dinner in great style, plus delicious canapes and wine beforehand. Breakfast was a tour de force - there must have been at least twenty-five different pots of jam on the table, the great majority from the manoir's own garden.

Room Tip: If you are elderly, request a room in the main house.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lancer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews