We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast was Meagre in the Extreme”
Review of Manoir de Chaix

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Truyes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manoir de Chaix
Ranked #1 of 1 Truyes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2017

An impressive domain. Stunning bedroom with separate toilet and shower facilities.
Bedroom was tastefully furnished. Excellent bed & bedding.

On arrival Dominique was very business like and we were shown straight to our room.
The welcome and the Manoir lacked warmth and friendliness. This was in total contrast to almost every establishment we have staying at in France over the years.

Dinner was very simple, an ordinary family affair. Certainly not of the quality other reviewers have raved about when Christian and his wife ran the Manoir.
There were twelve of us at the dinner table. Only one bottle of white wine was de corked. There were three bottles of red between us all and the host was not pouring the wine but guests had to serve themselves. AWKWARD.
With 10 of us paying a substantial amount each there was a huge amount of profit being made and that figure was not reflected in the quality of the food.

My real dissatisfaction and disappointment is that one is paying for a B/B service and minimum standards are expected.
The following morning Dominique didn't seem to care about her guests. We were all offered left over toasted baguette from the previous evening. That was totally unacceptable and an insult in an establishment that pride itself on its reputation. A fresh baguette or at least a selection of brown or seeded slices should have been offered.
Why offer us a huge selection of conserves with nothing palatable to spread them on.
There was one small croissant per person and one piece of small hard brown crusty bread each.
A bunch of tiny grapes on the table and whole fruits which are always impossible to cut into and eat with a normal knife. There was one cheese and one cold meat on offer.
The freshly squeezed orange juice was in a glass so tiny it was ridiculous. No second helping offered.
We had seen photos on Trip Advisor of a breakfast table laden with delicious foodstuffs. Sadly we were not offered that. We had to pay for a breakfast that was very substandard and unacceptable.

Our hostess appeared burned out the following morning and uninterested in her guests. She remained in the kitchen and never came out to check if people were in need of anything. We were not the only disgruntle people.

I suggest the owners reflect on how they themselves would like to be served inferior food at inflated prices. We felt short changed on both meals.
The owners seem only interested in profit, they should meet the basic needs of what their guests are paying for and that certainly includes an acceptable breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank gunner909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francis F, Propriétaire at Manoir de Chaix, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017


We are really surprised by your comment.
We strive to offer quality dishes to our guests.
Our food is not highly sophisticated but it's tasty. We only work with local, natural and organic products. It is to this end, that we put a lot of effort in growing our own vegetables and to raise our hens.
For breakfast, we offer coffee, tea, hot chocolate, croissants, various types of bread, cakes, homemade jams, honey, cheese, organic yogurts, fresh fruits, freshly squeezed orange juice( not industrial juice) and fresh eggs on demand.
We are really sorry to see that your opinion doesn't reflect what the vast majority of our guests think,they all really appreciate the freshness of our products.
For us, more than food, a meal is a moment for sharing and of conviviality, and this is why we share our meals with our guests.
Our GuestBook is available to you at anytime during our stay.
Dominique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2017

We stayed with our two children at the Manoir de Chaix and made it our base to visit the Loire castles nearby. The rooms are spacious, quiet, clean and well-equipped (worth mentioning is the top quality of bedding). Breakfasts are scrumptious: fresh-squeezed orange juices, delicious breads and twelve (yes! twelve!) kinds of delicious homemade jams. The orange marmelade, with crunchy caramelized orange zests is to-die-for.
We also had the pleasure to have dinner at the Manoir, together with other guests and sharing the table with our hosts. I highly recommend dining at the Manoir: garden vegetables, amazing local wines, top-notch three-course meal, and if you are lucky to be there on a warm summer night, this dinner will take place outside in the most beautiful setting. Dinner with Dominique and Pascal will be one of our most memorable vacation moments. I can't wait to return to the Manoir. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SFrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

If you would like to stay in a beautiful family home that has lots of history (the line dividing Free France and Occupied France goes through the woods nearby), where you are warmly welcomed by its host and hostess, who join you and other guests at a large dining table for a wonderful home-cooked meal, garden-fresh vegetables, outstanding cheese and wine, this is your place. Well-appointed, spacious rooms, peaceful location surrounded by fields of sunflowers, breakfast with more croissants and bread, jams and coffee than one could want. We thoroughly enjoyed the company of Pascale and Dominique, who set a high bar for Chambres d'Hotes.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

We spent 3 nights with Dominique and Pascal and were impressed with the beauty of the house, garden, food and countryside around us. Our upstairs double bedroom was large with a sitting area with table and chairs, and windows to both front and back of the manoir overlooking trees.The bathroom was modern and had everything we needed, including a separate toilet. The only thing lacking was a kettle and tea/coffee supplies in the room. We had two dinners with other guests and the hosts, a wonderful experience speaking in both english and french (basic!) while managing at least 4 courses of delicious food cooked by Dominique from her own or local produce. It was much better food (not haute cuisine and you shouldn't expect that) and much less expensive than we had in a nearby restaurant. Easy day trips to the Loire Valley villages and chateaux. Not many Australians have stayed here, but we highly recommend it and hope more of you will visit Manoir de Chaix.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pghms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

This is the first review since the return of the owners, Pascale and Dominique, from their 12 years in Corsica. They now run the B&B as they did before they left, and it's one of the best I've stayed in. The rooms are comfortable, the beds ensure a great night's sleep (aided by the eau de vie de prunes after dinner), dinner is a feast of home-grown and home-cooked food (even the meringue for dessert was made with egg whites from their chickens) eaten in the company of Pascale (and his generosity with local wines) and Dominique, and breakfast boasts a collection of jams that takes some beating. They even welcomed our 10-week old daughter, with all the noise and disruption that she brings, with smiles and coos. This is how Chambres d'Hotes should be done.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lugga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Manoir de Chaix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir de Chaix

Address: Lieu Dit Chaix, 37320 Truyes, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Truyes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Truyes
Price Range: RM304 - RM549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing