We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
177
70
27
18
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
70
27
18
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubcastle combewet roomcoffee machinehair straightenerscalves liverred cabbagelovely mealdisabled accesspork bellyflat screen tvsunday roastroaring firecooked to perfectionvery pleasant staymain coursefollowing morning
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 297 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

We'd not been here for around 7 years having been disappointed the last time, we certainly weren't this time. All our food was excellent so much so we all had desserts too as we couldn't resist. The food was plentiful, nicely presented and well cooked. My husband adored his calves liver and I loved the chocolate brownie sundae. Servers were all very friendly and not slow at all which other reviewers have mentioned - in fact a little fast. A pet dislike of mine is having plates cleared from the table when one or more are still eating, please don't do it - but that is just a personal issue - we will be visiting again and won't be leaving it so long this time, well done we all were impressed!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this lovely pub while on our way to Cardiff - we were looking for somewhere with comfortable accommodation and good food, and this place did not disappoint. All of the staff we encountered here were very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank xxCCJxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

The pub and accommodation was first class. Food was lovely and the staff were very friendly. Prices of food and drink all very reasonable. I would highly recommend this to anyone. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

Our casual mid-week supper with friends turned into a drama when one of our party got stuck a mile up the road with a blow out. The Old House at Home to the rescue - there was nothing they could not do for us - they completely saved our evening providing us with an impromptu takeaway steak dinner complete with trimmings. The food was delicious even eaten out of a box in a back of a car! Great service - great food. Thanks to Chris, Danny, Steve and Sally

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank SarahJane592017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

A disaster. Had to ask for the home cooked bread to go with the soup. When it arrived it was like a cheap frozen white loaf and cut so thin it was like a wafer.

Food was vile and service was extremely rude.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank mghseq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews