We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable Sunday lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old House at Home Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Burton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2018

We used to visit this pub frequently when we lived locally but moved away 17 years ago. We were really pleased to discover that the ambiance was as cosy as ever and the food was still exceptionally good. Pleasant, prompt table service. (We used to have to order all courses at the bar).

Room Tip: Only visited the restaurant.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2018

Stayed for new years eve in room 3,every thing was very nice,rooms look like they've recently been refurbished. A A 5 star so all of a good standard. Evening meal very nice &well served,all in all a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Room6,executive king I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank viv h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We stayed in a cottage nearby and used the Old House at Home on numerous occasions for drinks and to eat. Varied menu with 'real' food that was delicious and well presented. Lovely ambience, great staff and the fireplace is beautiful. What a pub should be.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

Had lunch here recently. Can’t fault the place. Staff were very helpful. They were very busy and we waited a little while for the food but saying that the food was excellent. Very good lamb dish. In fact all three of us had something different and all three dishes were so very good. Would certainly go here again , compliments to the chef!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Marion W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

I visited this restaurant last Thursday. They had what SEEMED to be an almost completely GLUTEN FREE MENU.

Unfortunately this turned out not to be the case: I ordered pork belly, which was described as gluten free on the menu. It was mediocre quality but initially seemed safe for a coeliac like myself, which is the main thing.

However, in the centre of the meat, seemed to be a slightly darker shade. Initially I took this to be just darker pork. It turned out to be stuffing. Fortunately I queried this, and it turned out that it did contain gluten. At this point the waitress said 'It only contains a bit of gluten, so you will probably be alright.' This is not the case, as with many types of food intolerant whether it be an allergy to gluten, dairy or nuts. The effect can be devastating.

THERE IS NOTHING WORSE THAN AN ESTABLISHMENT INCORRECTLY CLAIMING TO PROVIDE GLUTEN FREE FOOD.

If you are a Coeliac, then just go for a drink. Don't eat there.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c0eliac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Old House at Home Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old House at Home Inn

Address: Burton SN14 7LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Burton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Burton
Price Range: RM 569 - RM 768 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old House at Home Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old House at Home inn provides tastefully decorated bed and breakfast accommodation and is ideal for those of you visiting Wiltshire, Bath, Badminton and Castle Combe or for travellers en route via the M4. The accommodation comprises five quiet double bedrooms and one twin room in a separate building from the pub. All come with en-suite wet room, plasma TV, broadband access and tea and coffee making facilities. Stay with us and experience our luxury 5 star accommodation at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Old House at Home Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old House At Home Hotel Burton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing