We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveller rating
178
70
28
18
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
70
28
18
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubcastle combewet roomcalves liverhair straightenersred cabbageexcellent lunchlovely mealdisabled accessflat screen tvpork bellysunday roastcooked to perfectionvery pleasant staymain coursefollowing morningcar park
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 299 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Stayed for new years eve in room 3,every thing was very nice,rooms look like they've recently been refurbished. A A 5 star so all of a good standard. Evening meal very nice &well served,all in all a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Room6,executive king I think.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank viv h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We stayed in a cottage nearby and used the Old House at Home on numerous occasions for drinks and to eat. Varied menu with 'real' food that was delicious and well presented. Lovely ambience, great staff and the fireplace is beautiful. What a pub should be.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

Had lunch here recently. Can’t fault the place. Staff were very helpful. They were very busy and we waited a little while for the food but saying that the food was excellent. Very good lamb dish. In fact all three of us had something different and all three dishes were so very good. Would certainly go here again , compliments to the chef!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Marion W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

I visited this restaurant last Thursday. They had what SEEMED to be an almost completely GLUTEN FREE MENU.

Unfortunately this turned out not to be the case: I ordered pork belly, which was described as gluten free on the menu. It was mediocre quality but initially seemed safe for a coeliac like myself, which is the main thing.

However, in the centre of the meat, seemed to be a slightly darker shade. Initially I took this to be just darker pork. It turned out to be stuffing. Fortunately I queried this, and it turned out that it did contain gluten. At this point the waitress said 'It only contains a bit of gluten, so you will probably be alright.' This is not the case, as with many types of food intolerant whether it be an allergy to gluten, dairy or nuts. The effect can be devastating.

THERE IS NOTHING WORSE THAN AN ESTABLISHMENT INCORRECTLY CLAIMING TO PROVIDE GLUTEN FREE FOOD.

If you are a Coeliac, then just go for a drink. Don't eat there.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c0eliac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed here on a business trip last week!

Couldn’t be more impressed! From the moment I arrived - staff super friendly and helpful.

Easy check in then lovely evening in the bar. Wonderful dinner - perfectly cooked steak, fine wine and a delicious cheese board!

Fantastic quiet room. Superb wet room shower, coffee, tea etc. Home from home!

I can’t wait to return! Very homely!

I’d happily bring the family here and hopefully will

Highly recommend!!!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank jon-ernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews