We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveller rating
178
70
28
18
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
70
28
18
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubcastle combewet roomcalves liverhair straightenersred cabbageexcellent lunchlovely mealdisabled accessflat screen tvpork bellysunday roastcooked to perfectionvery pleasant staymain coursefollowing morningcar park
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 299 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2018

We went for Sunday lunch as a group of 7 plus one dog (we were told it is dog-friendly, and it was - water and biscuits given, plus petting!). It was quite busy (car park pretty full, but Cynthia helped us to find a place), no surprise for Sunday lunch, but the staff attention was excellent and the service efficient. For the mains, several of us chose roasts which were very generous in their portion sizes and also looked appetising. The meat was very tender and well-cooked (pink for the beef). Some thought the red cabbage first-class, others not so keen, but veg OK on the whole. Two of us had linguine with tiger prawns, and that was very good too. For the starters, the soup (leek and potato) was fine, and two of us had a selection of Italian antipasti. The menu description was exactly right, except for quail eggs - only one quail egg per serving! Everything else was in multiples - a small criticism! The desserts were good too. All in all, this is a friendly and welcoming pub serving decent pub food. It's not chef-y and not pretentious - just a good country pub, with comfortable decor and seating, where you can relax, feel at ease, and get a good meal.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

This weekend was an important occasion and was shared with all of the family and some friends, we are a small family! The inn was an interesting building and full of character and characters. We were welcomed and shown to our room by Nessa, who showed herself to be both efficient and friendly and a good advert for the pub. Our disabled room was pleasant, spacious and clean but very hot, it later transpired that the thermostatic valve on the radiator had failed and it was stuck wide open. Our attempts to turn it down were pointless and eventually the radiator was turned completely off, a portable heater was then supplied so all was well. Our evening meal was excellent, very tasty and properly cooked and presented, most enjoyable.
The following morning rapidly descended into a minor farce, the valve on the shower which controlled the selectable shower heads lost its handle and so we were stuck with a choice of a low level shower head on a short hose, all quite good fun if you enjoy a one handed shower!! Especially if you are not very tall, as I am a 6 feet 2inch adult it presented the odd problem in use.(By this time I was looking for a camera crew! )
We went down for breakfast and enjoyed that, Nessa was informed of our problems and promised help.
We went out for the day returning for a meal that evening, all 13 of us were there and had a really good meal and the staff looked after us all extremely well. All expressed their satisfaction at the food quality and quantity, the service was good and food freshly cooked. A very nice meal, every meal we had was of a high standard throughout the weekend.
Apart from the problems with the room, which were dealt with quickly enough we had a very good weekend at the Old House at Home and would return there without hesitation as the staff made us all feel welcome throughout our stay, the food was well cooked and presented and the accommodation snags were fairly minor. All in all we had an excellent weekend despite a couple of minor snags, Thank you. Roger the wrinkly.

Room Tip: Ask nicely!
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 770RogerM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Lunch menu good and reasonable-tagliatelle was delicious as was the soup.
Service good.
Comprehensive wine list.
Good parking.
Had a lovely round table by the window-a great spot.
Really enjoyable lunch in a great atmosphere.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Mhabbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

1st visit here - Loved the decor and classic old style of this pub. The food was really good, great selection and lovely flavours, a nice selection of drinks. Staff were also friendly & attentive. Will be back again!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

An overnighter with my good lady wife. Initially greeted at the bar by a very cheerful new staff member, we were passed to the landlord to be checked in. He gave the impression he was doing us a bit of a favour by letting us stay, despite the hefty £150 price tag for the very ordinary room in a purpose-built block adjacent to the pub. The service was efficient but lacking warmth. The food was good enough to match the menu prices, so no issue with that.

The room had a huge bathroom but it was really badly laid out, with a cheap and small sink more suited to a caravan. There was also some kind of soap/shampoo from a dispenser on the wall of the shower. Not great for £150 a night. My acid test for a hotel is the quality of the toilet paper, and this was the cheapest rubbish on the market. It was also almost impossible to reach, unless you are a yogi or contortionist of some kind; come on guys - sit on the loo before you screw the roll-holder to the wall! The price is far too high for the quality of the room.

On departure, the landlord was very keen to take our money and asked if we enjoyed our stay, then completely ignored what we had to say and started moaning about staff not turning up.

So, not much chance of a recommendation, and less chance of us going back. Shame, really.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ian_9999_2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews