We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The George at Wath
Nearby Hotels
The Unicorn(Ripon)(Great Value!)
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$332
US$288
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
US$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Solberge Hall Hotel(Newby Wiske)
US$108
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveller rating
127
33
6
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
127
33
6
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubcouldn't do enoughlovely countrysidequiet villageexcellent barlovely eveningbrilliant serviceovernight stopbeautiful restaurantfor sunday lunchevening meallittle gemplenty of tea coffeesmall portionsthe en suite bathroomstayed here for two nightslight lunch
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 174 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

Tried to contact The George by phone with no reply.
I used their website contact form and got a quick response from Jennifer. However she advised they currently have no landline and limited mobile signal. So use the online cointact form if you want to book anything!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sheila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018

We visited the Norton Canley gardens nearby (I can't find it to review it 'twas excellent) and found the George as we drove out. There were 6 of us in our group, the pub was empty. We found a garden at the back, it was a bit messy but an open space. The folks behind the bar were totally indifferent to us so we had a single drink and moved on. Wath isn't on the beaten track so perhaps we were a nuisance as customers?

Room Tip: We didn't require accommodations
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank reubenmilner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

we had booked the George for three people in December. just been tiold that it has been sold and is no longer accepting B&B business until sometime next year. They are not interested in being asked to suggest an alternative.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank PeeWee_in_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

We booked this hotel purely in the basis that it was dog friendly and close to where we needed to be early the next day. Very pleased we did!
We received a very friendly welcome and our room was comfortable.
As we were leaving before breakfast was served, we were left out cereal, toast and juice as well as a sandwich to take with us. This was much appreciated.
We didn't get chance to eat at The George but we will when we stay again. We will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JayParkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

I believe in fair, honest and factual reviews - its the only way to encourage hoteliers to up their game. This George at Wath review is a mixed bag for you to consider.

The Good:
We were in the York room - it was nicely decorated, very clean and nicely presented, as was the en-suite bathroom. Similarly the main restaurant looks very smart and clean. The hotel is situated in a very quiet village in the middle of nowhere around three and a half miles from Ripon. It's like a ghost town - you should have a quient night.

The Not So Good:
The £6.95 roast Sunday Dinner (as advertised on their website) doesn't exist - it's £8.95! (at least that's what we were charged).
Whilst on the subject of food - our Sunday lunch was served at a tepid temperature and quickly went cold. The Yorkshire puds had a burned look to them and were tasteless (being in Yorkshire I was really looking forward to - and expecting a delicious Yorkshire pud - disappointing to say the least). Breakfast - not a great choice of cereals at breakfast and no fresh fruit. The sausages looked only partly cooked and the griddle used for the bacon could do with a clean - I had to clean off the bits of griddle debris from my bacon.
If you visit this hotel in cold weather be sure you are wearing your thermals - it was quite cold in the restaurant and again in the breakfast room - the heating was only turned on when we arrived to eat in both areas - that's not good enough for a supposed 4* hotel. A convector heater was provided in the bedroom - just as well, because the central heating wasn't turned on in the morning,

If you must stay here I suggest you eat out for better value - personally, we wouldn't return. Sorry "The George at Wath" I'm only commenting honestly on our experience.

Room Tip: No comment
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank skippa1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews