We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
32
30
11
9
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
30
11
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews motor lodge new owners spacious unit bbq area super close two nights black barn only stayed one night lounge area walking distance cooking facilities minute walk hawkes bay te mata peak a great place to stay good size great hosts
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2018

well appointed motel....clean, comfortable bed, all that you would expect from a modern motel. Great conference facility - large, airy, good facilities (projector, screen, whiteboards), catering all good, owners very friendly, professional and welcoming. Great breakfasts - not easy cooking eggs bene for 11 people at 7.15am but Kim and Tom delivered! All good - and great location (walkable distance to Black Barn and not far to Havelock North center whilst being quiet)

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomandKimD, Owner at Wine Country Motel Havelock North, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Thank you Tracey. It was a pleasure hosting and catering for your conference needs. The conference / meeting side of the motel is part of what we would like to build on. Thank you for being an amazing group. Yes we love the fact we are in a nice quiet location yet handy to everything. We hope to see you all again.
Cheers
Tom and Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

We were extremely happy with our stay at the Wine Country Motor Lodge. The rates are very reasonable. The room was basic but very tidy, clean and comfortable, including the bed. The pool and BBQ area were a real bonus, and both are immaculately maintained. We had breakfast delivered to the room and the eggs benedict were fantastic! The new owners are doing a great job and were very helpful with information and advice on cycling in the area, giving us maps and highlighting preferred routes. They gave us great recommendations on where to eat, and stored our bicycles in their garage. They even let us leave our car there and come back and have a swim after we had checked out! Great family run business from genuinely kind and generous people. Highly recommended

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MKirgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomandKimD, Owner at Wine Country Motel Havelock North, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Lovely to have you both to stay with us and glad you enjoyed my Eggs Benedict, that's my favorite too :). Yes we are very lucky with all our off road cycle ways here in the Hawkes Bay, its a great way to explore and visit some wineries. We look forward to hosting you again.
Cheers
Tom and Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay at Wine Country Lodge in Havelock Nth. Unit very tidy and clean and bed especially comfortable - had a great night’s sleep. Hosts were very welcoming and friendly. They went out of their way to help two tired travellers . Delish eggs bene from brekkie menu next day. Highly recommend. (I had a sneak look through window of well set out conference room).

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank scoonzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomandKimD, Owner at Wine Country Motel Havelock North, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Thank you for staying with us and for the lovely feedback. It was pleasure hosting you both and glad you enjoyed breakfast. Yes the conference room is a great asset to our Motel, awesome for group events and meetings. Hope you come back to see us again one day.
Cheers
Tom and Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

Great place to stop over while exploring the vineyards. lots of vineyards in very close proximity. Excellent service and very helpful assistance from Colin who directed us to good food places. Nice food places just a short drive away. Small pool which was great for a cool down.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DutchFamily645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomandKimD, Owner at Wine Country Motel Havelock North, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Thanks for your comments. Yes it was very warm so the pool proved very popular over the summer, on one 40 degree day we had about 40 guests all swimming at once. Nice to see guests enjoying their holidays. Hope to see you again.
Cheers
Tom and Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

This is an excellent motel - it has just been taken over by new owners and we found the place to be perfect for our needs.

We are a family of four and so had a family room, two singles in one and a double bed in the lounge/kitchen/dining area.

Kitchen had a double hob, microwave, toaster, kettle - even egg cups and a cafetière! The bathroom was big with a bath and shower and lovely toiletries all really nicely displayed. The towels were HUGE too which was really nice as often they are tiny scraps of material in motels!

Housekeepers were very efficient and even did washing up which wasn’t expected! Bed was super comfortable and the whole place was spotlessly clean.

My girls loved the swimming pool, loungers were a bit old but still comfy enough to lie on and it was very much appreciated to have a cool off in the hot summer.

The new owners were really helpful, there’s a laundry for guests and they helpfully provided me with an airer so I didn’t have to use the dryer. We extended our stay as we enjoyed it so much. It’s a short distance from the town but a short drive to it and splash planet and Te mata peak and walking distance of a small Four square supermarket. We also did a day trip to Napier and went to Hastings all of which are close by.

It was really nice and quiet and really had a welcoming feel to it. We would definitely stay again and would recommend to others, in fact on our travels we hope for somewhere like this as we loved it so much!

Thanks for having us!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Rebekah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomandKimD, Owner at Wine Country Motel Havelock North, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Thank you Rebekah. It was awesome to meet such a lovely family and to have been part of your adventure as you traveled around the world. Your girls will treasure those memories forever.
Cheers
Tom and Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews