We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee break”
Review of Wright & Co.

Wright & Co.
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 August 2017

We were a large group and there was plenty of space to accommodate us, however, our coffee was not hot enough. We sent some, but not all, back and, whilst nothing overt was said, it was obvious the staff were not happy with this.

Thank helenpZ623UG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eshla W, Owner at Wright & Co., responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Hi there,

Sorry to hear about your experience, we encourage our customers to let us know if something isn't right as this helps us get it right for next time and to hear that you did that with a negative response is disappointing. Thank you for your review and feedback, we will take this on board.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

We had a delicious lunch with excellent service. The avocado smash was beautifully presented and very tasty. Coffee was served quickly and nice and strong. Would thoroughly recommend Wright and Co.

Thank MandyJKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eshla W, Owner at Wright & Co., responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Hi there,

Thank you for your kind review, look forward to seeing you next time.

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

After our Saturday morning walk we popped I got coffee and breakfast.

It was absolutely crazy busy when we were there but were immediately greeted by friendly smiley staff and seated real quickly.

My wife had been hanging out to have the smashed avocado on toast for ages so she had that and I had the full cooked Wright and Co breakfast.

Coffee is always near the best coffee around which I always love and enjoy.

Initially when my breakfast came out I thought it could've been a little bit bigger BUT WOW it was one if the best cooked breakfasts I've ever had. A definite 10/10 and well worth what I thought was a bit expensive.

My wife absolutely loved her smashed avocado on toast.

A very well worth while visit which I highly recommend.

It was so busy with a great atmosphere and the staff appeared very much in control and relaxed.

Great place.

Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eshla W, Owner at Wright & Co., responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Hi there,

Thank you for your lovely words and kind review. We look forwards to seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

Our family lunched here on a Saturday - cabinet food was lowish. Cafe not all that busy, but we seemed to have a long wait for our meals. We expected better based on the Trip Advisor ratings - food and service were both average.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eshla W, Owner at Wright & Co., responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Hi There,

We are sorry to hear about your experience here at Wright and Co. We will take your feedback and review on board and hope you give us another go.

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

Unsure how this boring contemporary yawn fest gets anything higher than a 3. From the uninspired decor boring menu and disconnected service it must be a rare day when anything comes together to warrant a slow clap. Firstly how is a chicken and bacon burger worth $26.50. It surprised me that they got the $26 then decided another 50cents? It had chicken tenders in it. The lettuce and tomato were not anything deserving of a plate and the flavour was confusing. No special ingredients were evident so unless the bun is flown in from France and the bacon from Siberia how can any normal size burger need to cost that? My bad for allowing the teenager to order it but the limited choices left no alternative.
Keeping with the bad choice theme the kids club frankn bun at $9 consists of a small fat crispy bun and an oversize frankfurter. They must think they are so cool having the bun too small but kids just think it's a useless chunk of over cooked bread which they cannot eat. No fries in this price either.
The pancake is actually a hotcake and the type that is burnt on the outside and not cooked through. Another limited kids option which left the kid dismayed.
The breakfast curry bowl is an attempt at a unique offering unfortunately the lack of egg which is the main item results in a sweet curry sauce and one poppadom for $18.
This cafe is ridiculous in its acoustics. Nowhere can you get a quiet spot. The noise from the kitchen and customers is like a concrete mixer.
The coffees are surprising in their small cups given the price and local competition and they don't even make the pastry offering on site. They buy them in. Why would a cafe with a kitchen buy in sweet items? Maybe they got outpriced.
3 kids 2 adults no booze or sweet and still over $100. What the actual?

1  Thank Brody P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eshla W, Owner at Wright & Co., responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Hi,
Thank you for your review.... although we did have to wade quite far through the seemingly nasty comments in order to find anything constructive. We apologize that you did not have a good experience but there are a few points we felt should be mentioned..

Firstly, we pride ourselves in using locally sourced and preferably organic ingredients where possible. This is what our customers appreciate however it does come at a slightly higher price point. The chicken and bacon burger you ordered was made with Bostocks Organic chicken breast, locally sourced holly bacon ham and served on a bun that was baked fresh that morning and delivered at 6am by one of the regions top bakers.

Secondly, the pricing of any item on any menu is not simply based on ingredient costs. We also have to factor in labour, rent, outgoings, licenses etc. etc. All of that being said, your chicken and bacon burger actually should have cost you $29 but we try to bring the retail costs down to sit within an affordable price point, not the other way round.

Weekends are always crazy and lots of people within one area will always add heightened levels of noise. Despite our existing noise buffering aesthetic additions, the hum of chatter within a busy cafe is hard to extinguish completely. Interestingly enough, most diners find that this adds atmosphere but we apologise that it was not to your liking.

You have some valid comments around the kids menu, all of which we will take into consideration - especially the frank ' n bun which was clearly unpractical to eat and needs some review. Should you ever decide to bring your family back into our establishment again, we would actually like to offer you another brunch 'on us' in the hopes that we may better your previous experience. Please give us a call on 06 650 3664 to arrange a voucher and to discuss any of this further if you wish.

Please remember, that behind the establishments in which you review, are real people often with families to support, working hard to provide a positive experience for their customers. You have every right to let us and others know if you did not enjoy something and we openly welcome any constructive feedback but please remember We are not purposely trying to ruin your family brunch! There really is no need to add nasty comments in the hope of sounding comical as this does nothing other then upset our staff and frustrate customers wanting relevant feedback without opinionated negativity. No matter what platform is used we look into EVERY suggestion, review or comment made by our visitors and constantly try to improve what we do, so thank you again for the few relevant points you raised.

With kindest regards,
Liv, Clint, Eshla and Nick
Directors of Wright & Co

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wright & Co. also viewed

Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Wright & Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing