We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Spa Services”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Trillium Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Here is my review

1. Lakeview Chalet - nice, but bathroom needs updating, as well as kitchenette. Beds were cozy. Freezer was not working, and porch "overlooking the lake", which you cannot see due to the abundance of trees, needs a serious cleaning and paint job.
No cable in rooms, and very small television.

2. Food - very good. Waitresses were great as well.

3. Spa - now here is where it went all wrong. My services were terrible. I had a massage by an esthetician, and paid the same as a massage from a RMT. The facial was the worst facial I have ever had. This is due to the esthetican I had, because my mother had the same services and she thought they were great (different esthetician)
The spa decor however was beautiful, but way too many stairs - WATCH YOUR STEP!

4. Staff - no complaints. All staff were friendly and attentive

5. Location and Resort - very nice. We were not able to take advantage of any outdoor amenities as it rained the whole weekend, but the beach and pool looked nice. Outdoor pool not heated.

Room Tip: Make sure you have coffee in your room for the morning. Lakeview does not mean full lakeview - you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_K_Henry, Innkeeper at Trillium Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Dear Connie G
Thank You for your comments regarding your recent stay here at Trillium Resort and Spa. To address some of your comments. After reading your review I did go up to the deck and agree that we should open the view up a little. We will mark some tees for removal. The freezer should work I will also look into that. The demand for Television is not very big and our Resort and Spa, however we are happy to provide a complimentary library of DVD’s. I have firmly passed on your spa concerns to our management company, who have since met and discussed concerns as well as taken steps to ensure our guests are getting high quality treatments. We were happy to compensate you accordingly. Again Thank you for you great comments regarding the food and staff.
We hope to host you again
Sincerely
Robert Henry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 150 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2012

Stayed at the Trillium Resort and Spa this past weekend, and both me and my friend were very impressed.
We stayed in Lakeview 1 chalet and the only downside to this was that there are many stairs to get into the chalet which posed a bit of an issue for my friend who is currently walking with a cane. We managed quite well and the staff were very accomodating throughout the Resort.

Even though it rained the whole weekend, the weather broke enough that we were able to enjoy the hot tub, sauna, pool and beach. Best of all there were no kids since this is an adult only resort. The food was very enjoyable and the chef made a garlic butter sauce for my linguini that was the absolute best. The wait staff were very attentive and friendly. Over all I would highly recommend this resort for a quick or long getaway. We are already planning our trip there next year. This would be a great place to go to in winter or summer. They have a main lodge that is very comfortable for reading, playing games, or sitting quietly.

The spa was not really the best, it seemed that the ladies were not really enjoying their jobs, so next year we will not make the spa a highlight (most reservations come with a spa credit).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank my3dragonflies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_K_Henry, Innkeeper at Trillium Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear My3 dragonflies
Thank You for all your Great comments. It was nice having both of you here and seeing you enjoy, regardless of the weather.
We have addressed the Spa points and have gotten much greater feedback over the last several days. We Look forward to hosting you again soon in Lakeview #2.
Thank You
Sincerely
Robert Henry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed at Trillium for a one night stay and play package. The resort was very charming, with a rustic, relaxed feel. Not super luxurious like some Muskoka area resorts, but excellent value. We enjoyed having access to all possible activities for no additional cost such as canoes, kayaks, bikes, lawn toys, life-size chess, outdoor sauna, hot tub etc... We also sampled the spa and while it was still a very enjoyable experience one of our masseuses seemed to be relatively inexperienced. Great weekend all around and the golf at North Granite Ridge was also excellent.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Maple cottage and it was good. No experience with the other cottages, although they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mt250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

A perfect Muskoka destination wedding venue. Being from Kingsville, Ontario we were pleasantly surprised that your house wine is from our local Pelee Island Winery. Stayed in a pet friendly 2 bedroom chalet. Accommodations were very nice with leather furniture, fireplace, mini bar fridge, kitchen sink, 2 burner stove top, coffee maker and stocked with kitchen basics. Other cottages were not as nice as the chalets. No TV reception. DVD movies were available at no cost. Would recommend bringing some movies of your own choice you've been wanting to see. Although no air conditioning, with ceiling fans and windsows open for lake breezes it was very comfortable to sleep at night. Dining room staff did an excellent job, Very accommodating and helpful. Hot breakfast buffet was different each day. We enjoyed fresh fruit, smoothies and warm cinnamon rolls. Take out lunches were priced right with good sized portions and always ready on time. Wish there was a hairdresser available at the spa for wedding guests. No charge for bikes & helmets, canoes, sports equipment etc. Just sign out and return. Easy check in & out. Be aware your credit card deposit is charged immediately upon making yoiur reservation.

Room Tip: Lakeview 1 chalet is closest to main lodge. Others are up a steep hill. Although chalets were duplex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsGartner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

My husband and I didn't really have any expectations with this resort and were open to a new experience. Upon arrival the resort had a rustic charm to the grounds. Our semi-cottage was average and relatively clean. The fridge in the room was extremely loud, sounding on and off throughout the entire night. Needless to say, we didn't sleep well. We had access to bicycles, canoes and paddleboats. The canoe ride on the lake was romantic and peaceful. We enjoyed the tranquility of the lake. The hiking grounds were not the greatest as our visit was during a more dry season. The soil on the hiking grounds were almost hollow with dry rotting trees. It wasn't as nice as I hoped it would be. A part of our package included a spa credit; my husband had the facial and I got a deep tissue massage which didn't seem like it as all. The masseuse seemed to enjoy talking about and had a nervous energy which wasn't exactly relaxing. My husband enjoyed his facial and had no issues. The food lacked flavour and there was a lack of service. The staff seemed to be talking to each other more than tending to the customers. When we arrived for breakfast, there was no food available. We had to wait for coffee and more food to be prepared. At check out they automatically added a service charge to our bill, forcing us to pay more than we wanted due to the service received. We will not be returning to this resort.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ZenFunTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_K_Henry, Innkeeper at Trillium Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear ZenFunTravel
Thank You for your comments regarding your recent stay here at Trillium Resort.
To address some of your points; In terms of the food, I spoke with the Chef and he assured me that he adds many flavorful ingredients including some grown here on site, while he prepares his dishes. We had many favorable comments on the food, and we realize that personal taste and opinion come into play. I passed on your comments to our management company at the spa and they mentioned that it was said all was great. The reason there was no food when you arrived for breakfast was that you were ½ hour early as breakfast starts at 8:30 Monday to Friday not 8:00, however coffee should have been available. The hours are posted on our board at the front desk area. The 15% that was added to your bill was as per the Jaunt Voucher that you purchased and is clearly outlined that it would be posted upon check out. I was sorry to read that you would not return to our Resort. We have had guests in the past that have only stayed 1 night like yourselves ,returned for a two night stay and commented that the 2 night stay allowed for a greater experience all around. All your points have been noted and discussed throughout our staff.
Thank you
Sincerely
Robert Henry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Sydney
31.9 km away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
16.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
32.5 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 km away
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn
16.3 km away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
197 reviews
14.4 km away
Econolodge Huntsville
Econolodge Huntsville
#17 of 18 in Huntsville
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trillium Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trillium Resort and Spa

Address: 848 Clearwater Lake Rd, Port Sydney, Huntsville, Ontario P0B 1L0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville > Port Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Sydney
Price Range: RM675 - RM871 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trillium Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among 86 acres of pristine forest and woodlands, a spirited waterfall and private lake, The Trillium Resort & Spa, located in the heart of Muskoka, Ontario offers the perfect "adult only" vacation getaway. The lakeside resort accommodations feature six waterfront chalets and eleven "bedsitting" cottages set amid towering hardwoods.For a truly indulgent Ontario resort experience The Trillium Spa offers an array of luxuriating spa services and treatments in the 5,000 square foot post and beam spa facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Trillium Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trillium Hotel Port Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing