We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

The Masons Arms Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Knowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$24 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed lunch here today after a walk at Tarr Steps. From the warm welcome to the setting and the food, it was faultless. We sat in the garden and had a lovely crisp pint of lager with complimentary nuts and olives. We then moved to the patio area where fresh bread, butter, oil and balsamic were brought out. The table water was topped up when needed and served cold. The service was exceptional, the staff looked like they really enjoyed working there and it was all very polished but warm and genuine.
The food was superb, we enjoyed every single mouthful. Each dish was put together with a lot of thought and consideration about what flavours complimented each other. The portion sizes were perfect. Amazing flavours. I’m pretty sure it doesn’t matter what you order from the menu, you will enjoy it- it’s that good. It truly deserves its Michelin star and we will most definitely be returning when we are next in the area.

Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

What an absolutely amazing evening at the Masons Arms last night. The food was stunning and the service was excellent as always. I can think of no better place to have celebrated our daughters 21st.
Sorry we stayed so late but you make it very difficult to leave !

Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

The food and service is excellent. It’s a very special place where the food is of the highest standard. I took my wife here for her birthday and she absolutely loved it. Definitely one the the best places we have ever eaten at.

Thank Ali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Owner at The Masons Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank you so much for your "amazing" review, we do hope to welcome you back very soon. MD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

Having visited last year and having a wonderful meal, my husband and I wanted to return as we were staying close by. We had originally booked for a Tuesday evening, and for some reason (a desire to go more than once perhaps) my husband got the dates wrong and we found ourselves there on a Saturday night. The restaurant was full, but we were able to sit in the bar and we were treated to the same level of attention and consideration we had received on our previous visit. The food was sensational, and it felt as if we had just popped to our local- the atmosphere was relaxed and yet highly personable.
We decided to keep our original booking for the Tuesday, and the food was just as amazing. This has quickly become one of my favourite restaurants and for me is well worth a trip out of the way. It is apparent how much effort and love Sarah and Mark put into making this place truly special.

Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at The Masons Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Wow! Thanks so much, we do hope to welcome you back on your next trip. Mark & Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

Me and my partner went on a last minute trip to Devon for Easter. We didn’t think we would find a place to eat for Sunday - but the Masons arms had late availability.

Great choice, it was a set menu for three courses - not a lot of choice (so wouldn’t suit if you are a fussy eater) but all food was to an excellent standard... very tasty indeed.

Service was very good from the moment we arrived... atmosphere good - enjoyed the whole experience and would recommend.

Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Owner at The Masons Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thanks for your great review, hope to see you again soon -maybe to try our mid-week lunch menu. MD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Masons Arms Restaurant also viewed

Monksilver, Exmoor National Park
Bampton, Devon
 
Bideford, Torridge
Chagford, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The Masons Arms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing