We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
7
14
1
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
14
1
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskaraoke machineoctober half termgames roomfridgebristolensuitebedsfacilitiescountrysidebath
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

I had a large hen party of 25 to organise so we needed a big house and this is a mansion and the venue is ideal as its halfway between Bristol and Bath. The house has a large games room which we used as our party area (lots of room to dance!) and a big kitchen with all the equipment you need. There are eight bedrooms spread over two floors, it was lovely to have so much space. The only negative thing I would say is that the decor is very 70's and there are lots of wear and tear in the house if it could be updated or fixed I would have definitely given it 5 stars. I would recommend this house for large parties as the setting is beautiful and there are no neighbours so don't need yo worry about noise levels!!!!

Claire Durman

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank welshuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016

I booked Cholwell Hall to celebrate my 40th birthday with some friends. Lucy was so helpful with information to hand to help with the planning. The house itself is huge, there were 22 of us and there was plenty of space for a group of that size. The beds were very comfy and the house was very clean. Its a brilliant place for a party due to the massive dining room and lounge and also a really big kitchen. We used top tier caterers who were fantastic and walked to the Mezze Pub down the road for dinner on the other night. For the space that you get and the privacy I think Cholwell Hall represents fantastic value for money. It could with a bit of updating here and there but then they would have to charge more, for us it was the perfect venue, thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank amandaberry2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Colwell Hall is a grand old building that is currently in a state of disrepair, which means that a weekend here feels more like being stuck inside a rundown nursing home, or hippie squat.

Much of the soft furnishing is in very poor condition, with many of the chairs in the living room stained or ripped to the point that it´s unpleasant to use them.

Besides the grubby furniture, we also experienced a recurring issue with the electrics, with one fuse regularly blowing. Unfortunately, the fuse box is locked away so each time this happens you´ll need to call the caretaker out to sort it. This is a bit of hassle.

The hall is sold as being suitable to host large parties but the small kitchen isn´t really set up for cooking for more than a handful at a time - the oven is just a standard sized affair and there are only four electric hobs. The owners had taken the decision to lock all of the windows, which means that it was impossible to get fresh air into any of the rooms. Not such a big deal in the bedrooms, but in the kitchen this was somewhat of a discomfort.

One of the few positives about the venue is that it´s very remote, and double glazed throughout, which means that there´s no issue with being as noisy as you want, so long as you´re inside the property.

If you´re a big group of lads looking for a place to drink, sing karaoke and eat takeaway food Cholwell Hall could be a good fit, but otherwise I´d recommend looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyBell-Cholwell, Manager at Cholwell Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2016

Same group as Ben J below. We had to evict this group. Am not sure what service is provided by giving multiple publicity to a group whose behaviour fell well below the norms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2015

We had been looking forward to this Christmas party for months. However we were harassed over the weekend by the caretaker. This culminated on Sunday when we were in nearby Bath for a curry. We returned to find our possessions had been packed up and put outside. Leaving us to find hotels, friends floors to sleep on, or return home early. Some of us were over the limit to drive and therefore had to spend a fortune on taxis leaving and returning to collect cars the next day.

Worst of all a number of sentimental items were left inside the house, I will give him the benefit of the doubt and assume he has not deliberately stolen them. He now refuses to respond our messages to collect them. Let alone grant a refund for the Sunday night that left all severely out of pocket.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
15  Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyBell-Cholwell, Manager at Cholwell Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2016

Harassed? Most of our guests are very nice, decent people who have been warmly welcomed here to enjoy wonderful facilities. We are less welcoming to the minority who lose control of themselves and cannot behave properly. Cholwell Hall is a well-run ship! Thankfully, problem-groups are very few, but drunk and stoned are not the groups we welcome. In this case our caretaker did a great job. Having become concerned about damage to property, he acted on police advice and threw them out. Quite right too.
We now have a total of 4 bad reviews! That is a pity. 2 of the 4 damaged the property, and have then moaned on these pages that they didn’t like our response! Quel domage. The other 2 reviews? These have never laid eyes on the property. This was Casafiori and Cday84 from Dec 2013 who didn’t stay here but who fraudulently tried to get money from us - lots about that in our responses from that time below.
All in all we have a terrific track record of customer satisfaction. Hundreds of groups have stayed at Cholwell Hall, and had a great time. The majority left no review at all. Most who did leave a review wrote positively about the experience. Only 4 in the last 10 years decided to leave a bad review, but as we have indicated above, from our own perspective these 4 were all tinged with spite from groups who were less than perfect themselves.
We are proud of the accommodation and the service that we offer to guests staying at Cholwell Hall. We offer a kind welcome to guests who come here with good intentions. Please ask if you would like any further information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Cholwell Hall was ample for our party of 20 adults and 3 children. It's large enough for you not to feel you are on top of one another. The places they recommended for catering and eating out were all good. Ian made sure we had all the information we needed and very helpful when one if our party had to make a trip to urgent care centre! All was well I hasten to add

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 15marieandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews