We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$87
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel(Midsomer Norton)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Bristol South(Bristol)(Great Value!)
US$67
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trebar(Clutton)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
7
14
1
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
14
1
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskaraoke machineoctober half termgames roomfridgebristolensuitebedsfacilitiescountrysidebath
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2017

Had to plan a stag weekend in May and stayed at Cholwell Hall. It was a fantastic place to stay in. We were 18 guys there and there was plenty of room for our group. Everyone was very helpful during the booking process which was mostly done via email, their response to my emails were quick as well. They also emailed me lists of things to do in the area, taxi's, fancy dress places and many more things I found relevant to our weekend. Transport was something I had luckily organised before hand but just make sure that you have it sorted as it can be hard trying to book last minute cabs for such a large group. There was however a bus from nearby that ran into Bristol which we took once but takes a while with all the stops.
The facilities were great, from a large dining room that fit us all comfortably with space for more to a games room attached to a living room which was also large enough for us. The kitchen was large enough for the majority of our group to chill out in in the morning and talk about what happened during our night before in town. They have all the things you would need in a kitchen with plenty of spares. Enough fridges for all the drinks we had as well. We had a barbeque on the saturday and everything was there that we needed with a great view of the countryside. Unfortunately we had an incident from one of the guys in our group which ended up with some damage to the house. I explained the situation before we left and they were very understanding about the situation. Obviously this ended up in us losing some of the deposit but no more then thought necessary. I would have hoped for nothing to go wrong but with 18 guys in a stag you can only hope.

All in all the experience was great, from the group I was told that the house made the weekend. A great place for us to all hang out before and after our trips into Bristol and having really great time feeling right at home.

Alex

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Alex5654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyBell-Cholwell, Guest Relations Manager at Cholwell Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

A very fair review, thanks chaps.
Glad you all had a good time,

Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

We have just had an amazing weekend at cholwell hall! Large house with spacious rooms plenty of room for everyone. Very clean. Had a party sat eve with a karaoke machine provided. Lovely large dinning room with huge table , was great for family Sunday roast. Would defiantly stay here again. Only downside was that the Windows don't open!! Could have done with at least the kitchen window to open as got very hot when cooking. Brilliant time had by all.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank baxty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

I had a large hen party of 25 to organise so we needed a big house and this is a mansion and the venue is ideal as its halfway between Bristol and Bath. The house has a large games room which we used as our party area (lots of room to dance!) and a big kitchen with all the equipment you need. There are eight bedrooms spread over two floors, it was lovely to have so much space. The only negative thing I would say is that the decor is very 70's and there are lots of wear and tear in the house if it could be updated or fixed I would have definitely given it 5 stars. I would recommend this house for large parties as the setting is beautiful and there are no neighbours so don't need yo worry about noise levels!!!!

Claire Durman

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank welshuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016

I booked Cholwell Hall to celebrate my 40th birthday with some friends. Lucy was so helpful with information to hand to help with the planning. The house itself is huge, there were 22 of us and there was plenty of space for a group of that size. The beds were very comfy and the house was very clean. Its a brilliant place for a party due to the massive dining room and lounge and also a really big kitchen. We used top tier caterers who were fantastic and walked to the Mezze Pub down the road for dinner on the other night. For the space that you get and the privacy I think Cholwell Hall represents fantastic value for money. It could with a bit of updating here and there but then they would have to charge more, for us it was the perfect venue, thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank amandaberry2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Colwell Hall is a grand old building that is currently in a state of disrepair, which means that a weekend here feels more like being stuck inside a rundown nursing home, or hippie squat.

Much of the soft furnishing is in very poor condition, with many of the chairs in the living room stained or ripped to the point that it´s unpleasant to use them.

Besides the grubby furniture, we also experienced a recurring issue with the electrics, with one fuse regularly blowing. Unfortunately, the fuse box is locked away so each time this happens you´ll need to call the caretaker out to sort it. This is a bit of hassle.

The hall is sold as being suitable to host large parties but the small kitchen isn´t really set up for cooking for more than a handful at a time - the oven is just a standard sized affair and there are only four electric hobs. The owners had taken the decision to lock all of the windows, which means that it was impossible to get fresh air into any of the rooms. Not such a big deal in the bedrooms, but in the kitchen this was somewhat of a discomfort.

One of the few positives about the venue is that it´s very remote, and double glazed throughout, which means that there´s no issue with being as noisy as you want, so long as you´re inside the property.

If you´re a big group of lads looking for a place to drink, sing karaoke and eat takeaway food Cholwell Hall could be a good fit, but otherwise I´d recommend looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyBell-Cholwell, Manager at Cholwell Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2016

Same group as Ben J below. We had to evict this group. Am not sure what service is provided by giving multiple publicity to a group whose behaviour fell well below the norms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews