We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (710)
Filter reviews
710 results
Traveller rating
645
57
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
645
57
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vecchio asilo home made cakes san gimignano the perfect host his wife bruschetta tuscan gem breakfast each morning stayed nights room was large longer stay home away from home gracious hosts amazing views charming hotel wonderful place minute drive
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 710 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Spent two nights here...excellent breakfast with home made bits and pieces. Comfortable room and nothing was too much trouble.
My only comment is that to eat in the evening is a bit of a drag back into Siena, 20 mins or so. Not a real problem as such, but if you like a couple of drinks with your meal, then you need to be careful, especially after dark. Don't let that put you off though. Car park 3 and 4 are the ones to aim for....as you hit the town, the car park signs are in front of you, 3 and 4 are straight across, then save your legs and take the lift up to the town. When leaving, if you miss the turning right, back to the hotel, which is easily done, carry on down to the round about and double back , then clearly signal left near the junction.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mikeact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

Simply furnished, but very clean and comfortable. Great service with friendly, family-like personal touch. Definitely would come again for longer stay in Tuscany, because it’s really nicely located - close to major “attractions” of this wonderful region.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Slawomir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018

Last minute booking after a confusion elsewhere. The owner was really friendly and helpful. The food was simple, rustic and excellent. The accommodation was clean, quaint with good A/C. I can thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful time staying at Hotel Vecchio Asilo. The hotel is a perfect base for exploring San Gimignano and surrounds.
Elio is the perfect host. He made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived, and was extremely helpful. The rooms are comfortable and breakfasts are excellent.
Well done Elio and family.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank rigog2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

Where to start.
If you are planning a trip somewhere in Tuscany be sure to stay at least one night here (we already regret staying only one night). 30-40min from Firenze by car and very close to Siena.

Rooms are very spacious, clean and have a beatutiful view over the Tuscan landscape. The building itself has an interesting history.

Last but not least, the hosts are amazing, we felt welcomed at heart from the moment we parked outside. Elio really set the standard of welcoming guests to a hotel. The breakfast was all homemade and/or local food.

Tip: grab a bottle of (also local!) wine from the fridge in reception and enjoy the sun setting over the beautiful landscape. We did and we wont ever forget that moment.

Thank you for letting us stay!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank alibaba-oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews