We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Boathouse(Ormesby St. Margaret)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
68
23
18
13
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
23
18
13
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew ownersstarters and mainsselection of beersbeef wellingtonpub foodfish chipsmain courselovely foodherbiedogaleschaletnorfolk
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2018

Firstly let me make this very clear , this review is for bar meals aT the Grange Not. lanes Restuaant at the same site. Called in for lunch , the price itself should have been a warning, we were warmly greeted at the bar and given menus . This rather dated establishment needs a great deal of improvement. Steak pie and three sausage with peas and mash were ordered Both meals were swimming in gravy , a small jug of gravy would have been preferable . The mash was slop, I can only imagine it was either frozen or instant mash it was vile. The sausages looked good quality, I left one sausage
as it tasted totally different to the other two and I wondered if it was thoroughly cooked. When the Manager came to remove the plates I pointed this out to him, I was later advised one was a Lincolnshire one a Cumberland etc, which I found quite bizarre . I found the foul language from three men at the bar quite loud and offensive ,

but,appreciate this can be difficult to police But, when the manager stood behind the bar and joined in to the conversation and language I was appalled. Fortunately we are blessed with many places to eat in Norfolk. So no need to return .

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Caistergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lane S, Owner at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2018

Sorry to hear about your experience, I can only apologise that it was not to your tastes. The mash I can guarantee is freshly made on site, maybe there was a little too much butter in it for you and for this I can only apologise for it not being to your taste. The menu does state that the sausages and mash does come with gravy, if you request it separate we would be happy to that for any customer. The main bars decor I can agree is a bit dated but we are currently working our way through the building refurbishing everything as we go. I can only apologise for the bad language from the gentleman at the bar, sometimes they can forget themselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

This is an updated review, having visited the location several times now.
First things first... If this place was closer, it would be my local, fact,but sadly we live over 8miles away so it has become a destination pub.
They do a special fish & chips on (at the time of writing )tuesday, £3.50 ,yes really,..you should not be able to get in the place for this, superb fish lovely chips and peas ,and a place to sit,& be waited on, seriously you can't get a sandwich for that price!!!!
Really nice staff,and no one looks at you in that awkward way that turns both of us out of a pub. Last review was under the title of ...Sit back and relax... it and the crew haven't changed...keep up the good work guys, both myself and wife has been both sides of the bar, we know how hard the work is, and you are doing a great job,you disserve to flourish
And now for the beer review.....Its awful and I only drink it to save sending it back,
When I say this at your bar again,you will know who we are. See you again soon we hope.
Big compliments to all the staff.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lane S, Owner at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2018

Thanks for coming, hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile

We had our daughters 18th birthday party at the grange. We had the room they had recently decorated off the main bar. They didn't charge us for it which is not something you would get at many places. It had a really cosy feel with timber walls and log burner.Kaeti was extremely helpful from the very beginning and did a fantastic job putting out our decorations.Nothing was too much trouble. We had a Buffett for 35 people and there was a great range of food from rolls, chicken,sausage rolls,quiche and lots of other choices and a selection of cake. All the food was lovely and more than enough to go round and a reasonable price too. There was even a cocktail menu made up that my daughter and her friends enjoyed.We were allowed to link our phone up to the speaker system so we could have music whilst waiting for the band in the other room , who were brilliant by the way! and again when they had finished. Was nice to have the side room with the Buffett so older guests who didnt want to watch the band had comfy sofas to sit on and enjoy the Buffett. We hired a few rooms for family and a few chalets outside for friends to stay which ment my daughter could stay with her friends and finish her evening off she had a great time! The staff work extremely hard here and kaeti and I think her brother ( sorry I can't remember your name!) have really improved the grange and I wouldn't hesitate to have another party here in the future. We even had breakfast the next morning to help with a few hangovers!,also very reasonable, my parents had the small fry up and it was more than enough.Thankyou for making Jades 18th one to remember!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tammy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lane S, Owner at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2018

We had a great time organising this event for you and enjoyed the evening, I’m glad it reached your expectations and am so happy you had a great time. See you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

We dropped in today for a breakf
ast as it was freezing and we were starving. Lovely food all nicely cooked served on a really hot plate. I thought it a bit pricey as it was £17+ for 2 large breakfasts and 2 coffee's but we were very full at the end of our meal. Our only negative was that the coffee was obviously made by a tea drinker and not as strong as we would otherwise have liked. Next time we will just ask for Strong coffees! Thank you

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Leemur2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lane S, Owner at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2018

Thanks for coming, sorry about the coffee, it is freshly ground, I have to use a medium blend to try and please the masses, but I agree, love a stronger bean. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

Where do I start first of all when we arrived they couldn't find my booking they hadn't put in book I had booked a chalet I thought I was told £280 but after checking the message they sent me on messenger they had quoted £240.
As a chalet wasn't available they put us in room 2 directly above the bar couldn't fault room it was clean .
Anyway we ended up in a room which they put a extra bed in for my 16 year old son so we were all in one room which was cosy NOT.
When I said about price they didn't correct me they just gave me a £10 discount but at time I thought £50 but as I said they at no time corrected my quote and I have it in writing .
We did eat there one night and can't fault the food it's really good .
But room 2 if you want to sleep isn't any good there's shouting loud music till 02:30am and there was no effort to warn us about it all in all it wasn't our cup of tea we actually left a day early as needed a decent sleep.
To be honest I just feel like I was ripped off.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lane S, Owner at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2018

Sorry about this sir, I remember checking you in and you told me you booked online and I did say that was not possible as we didn’t offer that service. We were fully booked but I did manage to squeeze you in, at the time you seemed quite happy as you had been driving all day. I can only guess that you may have booked else where and came to us by mistake. Sorry about the bands volume, Saturday nights can be quite busy.
I just wished you had brought this to my attention when you were staying and I could of sorted something out for you, I always like to try and sort any problems out for customers but I can only do this at the time and when it is brought to my attention. Once again I’m sorry that you were not happy with your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews