We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
77
42
21
16
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
42
21
16
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew ownersthe pubthe ice cream shopdining roomrideau canalthe cottagesgrounds are beautifulsandwichesburgergreat joblong timesoupmain buildinglooking forwardfishfrench toastpotatoes
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2018

Has the jive of a 50-60's resort. I really liked it. The restaurant was spacious, the staff friendly and welcoming. The food good. Guests can stay over night also. An attractive place to visit. Wish I had more time to enjoy our selves.

Room Tip: restaurant very good
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank skaszab2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Generations living in this area north of Kingston have worked at this resort. It has been totally renovated and refurbished and is more majestic than ever. Sitting amongst some of the oldest trees in the area, the Opinicon in all its glory is the focal point. Opinicon Lake sits beside it and original cabins surround it. The gift shop and snack bar are just like it was in the 60's . The bar is new and inviting with inside and outside seating. If you want to dine in the restaurant book way ahead. Stop in for a game of snooker upstairs as long as there isn't a booked event . Chaffeys Lock is a beautiful area of Ontario to visit, any time of year. Stay at the Opinicon overnight while you are there.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank birdturd73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

In my opinion , We didn't find the restaurant to be that great. Food was just so so. Service was very slow
Waitress was very very rude. Prices were high for what you got. Gorgeous location. Would probably stay at the Inn if restaurant improved.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Aapwilbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

Drove from kingston for friday night dinner. Dinning room was empty but were jammed together with anther table of four in the end veranda .I cannot understand why were seated so tightly together when the there was so much empty room to space us apart .It was hard to hear across the table in our table of four .everyone in the room had to speak loudly to be heard over each other .The hostest should have more training in spacing tables apart when the dinning room is very empty .Our server was nice . The menu is very limited and expensive . Lamb shank was dry and needed more gravy which was forgotten . We celebrated our 50th anniversary and it was great to bring back memories of past visits to resort . Fantastic renovation. The food needs a big improvement before it gets a poor reputation .

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Golfingnutkingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
havebaby_willtravel9, Owner at The Opinicon, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

First off, thank you for driving up from Kingston, and happy anniversary! I’m sorry to hear the evening didn’t go as you had hoped. The verandahs are the most popular seating areas and are frequently requested, so knowing your special anniversary I suspect they tried to give you the best seat in the house. Unfortunately that seems to have ended up working against us that night. All the very best, Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

My wife and I came with two friends (all of us seniors) and stayed in a fully renovated cabin near the lake. Two bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a living room. Retained its original (1954) rustic charm, but updated to current first class standards. Perfect for our group.

Surroundings were well kept, including new docks, a mini-trail with scenic outlooks on the lake and even a woodland theatre. Facilities included kayaks, canoes and small motorboats. Opinicon Lake is quite large but retains an intimate feel. Next door is Chaffey’s Lock, part of the Rideau Canal system. Nearby Cataraqui Trail is on an old railway bed 100+ km long, providing more than ample woodland hiking suitably flat to accommodate seniors.

The main lodge has been fully upgraded to add a Pub and second floor meeting and socializing space, replacing accommodation. Significant construction projects are underway to add new winterized hotel style accommodation with cabin architecture as well as more common areas. This is being accomplished with minimal disruption to patrons.

The new owners are committed to not just restoring this “grand old dame” to its former glory, but to bringing it to modern first class expectations.

The weak link for now is food services. The menu is ambitious and exciting, but execution falls short, some items very good, others mediocre. Serving staff are very friendly, but not always attentive. Further attention to training is required. Cabin guests are given a 15% discount on meals, but IMHO the very good buffet breakfast should be included in the price of the accommodation.

The Opinicon is moving forward quickly and purposefully with a great vision. We look forward to an even better next visit.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews