We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palace Hotel Monte Real
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Monte Real
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2017

From the cold reception when we checked in to the dark interiors, this hotel did not have a welcoming atmosphere. The bedroom was large with a big balcony, but no complimentary bottle of water, extremely dark black decor, depressing. Dinner was just ok, served by Irene , who was excellent. Breakfast was a bleak affair, coffee v poor, fruit good, it was only after we had paid our bill that we were asked "was everything ok". The thermal facilities were not available. We won't be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eiloes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirecaoResort, General Manager at Palace Hotel Monte Real, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Eiloes,
First of all thank you for sharing your experience at Resort Monte Real.
We regret you were dissappointed with your stay at our hotel, and that the dinner was not up to surprise you. Concerning breakfast we are always making efforts to improve by adding more options, recently with more variety of bread and peanut butter.
Our team is always available to receive you on your next visit to Monte Real.
Pedro Paixão | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 872 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Looking for a place to rest just for a couple days, with pool, we stepped on this marvellous oasis. Behind a clasical, smart castle appearance we found an elegant hotel, with great design inside and outside the rooms (big rooms btw). Very well equiped, we mostly enjoyed the pool area. Good options at the pool bar to eat (still surprised not to find Cocacola Light in this area).
After just a long weekend I found the calm and relax i was looking for! Will surely come back.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank tripitit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirecaoResort, General Manager at Palace Hotel Monte Real, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear tripitit,
Thank you for your review.
We’re glad to know you spent a pleasent stay with us.
Looking forward for your return.
Pedro Paixão | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

It's a nice surprise in the middle of nowhere. The hotel is big, modern style. The room is very urban and has a big bed. The pool is area is ok and has a bar as well. There are two extra areas which belong to the hotel which are the Termal and the Spa. We love the experience in the spa because of the original showers they have. One is the Montreal which is cold and you can experience it as you were under a thunderstorm and rain. And the other is Amazon style which is like you were in the tropical forest listening to the birds. The area around the hotel is good to walk. And there are beaches nearby. However we preferred beaches a little further away because they were better.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank LizaTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirecaoResort, General Manager at Palace Hotel Monte Real, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Dear LizaTrips,
Thank you for your comment on Palace Hotel Monte Real.
We were glad to know you have enjoyed the confort of our hotel.
Hoping to welcome you again soon.
Pedro Paixão | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

Very nice building, well decorated, spacious and confortable room, good breakfast. The best is the surrounding nature park, with plenty of outdoor sports facilities. The hotel just missed to advert clients that the spa wasn't working...

Room Tip: Choose a view to the outside swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank filipealexandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirecaoResort, General Manager at Palace Hotel Monte Real, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Dear filipealexandre,
Thank you for sharing your experience at Resort Monte Real.
We’re happy to realize you appreciated the surroundings of the hotel.
Concerning the Spa, we confirm that it is open, and working with several treatments available. At the Resort Monte Real, only the Thermal Spa is closed due to refurbishment that needs to be done in order to proceed with the reopening.
Our team will always be available to welcome you on your next visit to Monte Real.
Pedro Paixão |General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Situated in the heart of the village, the hotel is very comfortable, very well furnished, and has a lovely bathroom. The rooms have a balcony with table and chairs for you to appreciate the environment around the hotel. It is a quiet place, wonderful to rest and unwind. The staff is really friendly and nice!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pauclaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monte Real
9.2 km away
Hotel Cristal Vieira Praia & Spa
Hotel Cristal Vieira Praia & Spa
#2 of 2 in Vieira de Leiria
159 reviews
5.2 km away
Lisotel
Lisotel
#5 of 10 in Leiria
112 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel D. Afonso
Hotel D. Afonso
#2 of 6 in Monte Real
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 km away
Hotel Villa Batalha
Hotel Villa Batalha
#3 of 4 in Batalha
412 reviews
33.9 km away
Eurostars Oasis Plaza Hotel
Eurostars Oasis Plaza Hotel
#1 of 17 in Figueira da Foz
625 reviews
33.4 km away
Your Hotel & Spa Alcobaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel Monte Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel Monte Real

Address: Rua de Leiria, Monte Real 2425-039, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Monte Real
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Monte Real
Price Range: RM327 - RM515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel Monte Real 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace Hotel Monte Real provides two distinct environments: a brilliant fusion of sophistication with the elegance of a palace with modern architecture. Some rooms have the charm and romanticism of the past with a contemporary design in a century-old building, others offer freshness and design features with modern inspiration. The Monte Real Palace Hotel offers you 101 rooms, 10 communicants and five suites, a restaurant where the aromas and flavors stand out in a romantic and charming way, a bar with spirit and elegance, and banquet rooms with capacity up to 230 people, outdoor pool with bar, gardens and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palace Hotel Monte Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing