We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A highlight of our trip”
Review of La Lancha Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Lancha Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2007

We ended a two week Latin American journey with 3 nights at La Lancha, visiting Tikal and Yaxha. We visited in late April, 2007, near the end of the dry season. It was very hot (high 90s) and the roads were dusty. On the positive side, we saw almost no insects and certainly no mosquitos. Even in the forested ruin areas, we never had to worry about insect bites (though we used bug spray lightly as precaution).

The hotel was a lovely retreat from the dust and heat. The lakeside side seemed to collect cool breezes, and we were comfortable on our porch or at the open air restaurant. Our lake side room were slow to cool down, but the system of double fans helped considerably. The pool area is small but charming.

My one warning about La Lancha is that there are a lot of stairs. Some of the casitas are relatively close to the main dining area, but would then require climbing steps down to the pool and back up. The beach area is quite a long walk down from the main hotel. If you went down there, you'd want to stay at least an hour to justify it! The beach is tiny but very charming, with a couple of loungers and canoes. Be advised that the paddles are kept up in the office, so you need to get them before you embark on the climb down to the beach.

We requested a lake view casita, not knowing that these were the farthest down from the entry/dining room area. Since one of our party was elderly, that turned out to be a challenging choice. For most people, the steps would be manageable. I felt guilty, though, that the staff had to carry our heavy suitcases (packed for 2 weeks of travel) down all those stairs, and back up at the end.

One of the charms of La Lancha is its small size. There are only ten casitas, so only 20 guests will be there at any time. Since most people go out to see ruins during the day, a choice to spend part of the day at the resort leaves you with a feeling of relative privacy. The ratio of staff to guests is very high.

The room prices at La Lancha may seem high by Guatemalan standards, but they will seem reasonable to anyone who has traveled or lived in the US or Western Europe. The prices for special outings (such as to Tikal) seemed high to me...often upwards of $100 per person, but few guests seem to arrive by private car and you are dependent on the hotel (or other tour operator) to drive you the relatively far distances to sight seeing locations. It is very helpful to be with people who know the lay of the land.

A couple of previous reviews referred to having coffee or breakfast on the porch of their casitas. We were not offered this service, but perhaps it would have been available on request. The rooms have no phones, so ordering "room service" would have to be done through the intercom system (disguised in each room by a conch shell).

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank chaucerquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
There are newer reviews for La Lancha Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 199 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2007

This is the most delightful lodge type hotel I've ever seen in Latin America. Every touch was so thoughtful, from the flower perched on the soap in the shower, to the charming decorations in the room and open dining area, to the beautiful drop down pool and spa.

The staff were warm and helpful in all their suggestions. They seemed to anticipate any needs we had. Despite any rigors inherent in the exploration of jungle and ruins, this was an extremely relaxing stay on our trip.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sablatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2007

In late February, my husband and I spent 6 days at La Lancha in Remate. We loved the place, but be aware if you decide to book a reservation that the hotel is located about a 40 minute drive from the Flores airport on a partial dirt road and is sited on a steep hill that ends at Lake Peten. The rooms, located on the hill, were very comfortable in spite of not having air conditioning. Daily the temperature averaged about 95 degrees, but at night it would go to the high 60's or low 70's, therefore, the fan in our jungle room was quite adequate. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. Someone greeted us each day as we returned from our visits to the many Maya sites in the area. Since the hotel is far from anything else, we ate at the hotel each night. The food was wonderful with an emphasis on Guatemalan fare and the wine list was made up of Coppola wines only, which we enjoyed, too. At first, we thought the wines were overpriced until we ate in other hotels and restaurants and discovered the Coppola wines were priced reasonably. The view from the restaurant and the flora and fauna around La Lancha were an added joy. In the future, we plan return.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catseye1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2007

The hotel is beautifully situated, with very friendly staff. However, it's overpriced by Guatemalan standards.

The rooms were nice, but the beds, including the linens were very disappointing.

The restaurant was very good and a great spot to meet fellow La Lancha'ers.

The hotel charges $45 each way to pick you up and drop you off at the airport. This is ridiculous.

Stayed: February 2007
2  Thank Little_Peanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2007

Hotel overall:

The hotel itself was very nice, one of our favorites on our Guatemala-Belize stay. I was especially surprised with the quality since I had been warned that hotel accommodations in Belize/Guatemala are on a much lower standard than say Mexico or the Caribbean islands. The hotel has a nice view of the lake by the pool and has a trail leading down to the shore where there a canoes you can take out for a spin (complimentary).

Rooms:

The rooms were very clean and well kept, and minor luxury feel to it. There were nice touches like flowers in the room when arrived, and votive candles which were lit for us in the evening. However, the rooms felt a little damp, I am not sure you can get away from that since were in the jungle and it was raining almost everyday. The bathrooms were marble and had a “rain” type shower head – very niiiiice!

Restaurant:

the food was delicious!!! Which was lucky for us since La Lancha is in the middle of nowhere and you basically have to eat at the hotel. We especially like the whole fish and La Lancha camerones dishes. The prices were reasonable.

Location:

In the middle of nowhere, really not our cup of tea, but it’s a popular style. I am sure it’s great for animal/bird watching and a to get away from it all for some people. If you want more people I would suggest staying in Flores.

Tours:

Tikal – I would definetly recommend this tour to anyone who loves history and archeology. There are a lot of ruins, many of them yet to be escavated. There is plenty to see and there are a couple of pyramids that tourists are still allowed to climb up on … many places around the world (i.e Chichen Itza) are restricting that ..so you have a good opportunity here.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ematchey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
10.8 km away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
7.5 km away
Camino Real Tikal
Camino Real Tikal
#1 of 6 in Santa Elena
356 reviews
30.2 km away
Jungle Lodge
Jungle Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tikal National Park
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 km away
Bolontiku Hotel Boutique
Bolontiku Hotel Boutique
#1 of 1 in San Andres
135 reviews
14.1 km away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
334 reviews
30.6 km away
Hotel Tikal Inn
Hotel Tikal Inn
#2 of 2 in Tikal National Park
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Lancha Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Lancha Lodge

Address: Lake Peten Itza, Santa Elena 17029, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Peten Department > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range: RM742 - RM1,317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Lancha Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your La Lancha Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Lancha Hotel Flores
La Lancha Flores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing