We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waikouaiti Beach Motor Camp
Nearby Hotels
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Larnach Castle Lodge(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$179
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$316
US$304
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aria on Bank(Dunedin)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garden Motel(Dunedin)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5)
Filter reviews
5 results
Traveller rating
0
2
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
2
2
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here & it was lovely that our small dog was also made welcome. Lovely clean facilities & friendly staff & although the showers were $1 you were able to enjoy a decent shower for this. Less than a 5 minute walk to the beach. We will certainly use again

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 229ceca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2014

Just stayed overnight on the way back home from Invercargill. We were tired when we arrived and there was no one in the office when we arrived and it took ages to find some one and get our accommodation sort out.Our cabin was smaller than i expected in yet we were in the large cabin. Cabin blinds were broken and did not work properly and my son said the sheets on his bed were dirty and when we unlocked the cabin and went in there was a rubbish tin full of the previous persons rubbish. So it seemed that cabin was not checked and cleaned before we checked in.I also felt lied ot by the motor camp.When I first inquired about booking cabin online they said the camp was booked out on the date we wanted but that with some of the cabins booked the deposits had not been paid so we could go on a waiting list for a large cabin and that we would no in two days if there would be one available for us as they were giving people two days to pay their deposit. The camp ended mucking me around and it turned to be about a week later I got a confusing email which left me thinking we might have a cabin and I was scared we would miss out and everything was booked out in Dunedin and we were due to leave Christchurch in a few days time so in case we did have cabin I paid a dipost anyway with extra $20 to show how much we needed the cabin because as I said everything was booked out in Dunedin. So instead of paying $80 per night the usual price of the cabin we paid $100.. Eventually our booking was conformed and we definitely had a cabin Now the reason i felt lied to by the motor camp was when we arrived at the camp it was extremely quiet ,hardly anyone there and all the large cabins were empty and only one small cabin was occupied.I felt cross as the camp had led us to believe that the night we booked that the camp was booked out and going to be really busy and that there was a wait list for all the cabins and therefore had left me feeling pressured and worried that we would not get a cabin and have nowhere to stay and therefore making me panic and paying more money that I needed to in order to secure a cabin.Won't be staying here agaib

Room Tip: no tips just don't stay here
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMNZ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Situated almost right on the beach the camping ground was not very busy when we stayed. Friendly host and clean and tidy facilities.

There are a wide range of shops in the main street including a fabulous artisan bakery, takeaways, dairy, antique shop, hardware store among other others.

We were really just 'passing through' this trip and it served our purpose well but not sure we would want to camp here in the height of the season when the grounds were full. This is not a reflection on the camping ground itself, it would just not be our personal choice to stay in the busy season. A few more trees around the campsites themselves would make it look a bit more inviting!
We have stayed in 5 different camping grounds this trip, all the same price for a powered camping site .....but this was the only one that charged extra for showers :(

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews