We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I heart Balai Laiya”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mabini
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Balai Resort Anilao
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Mabini
Reviewed 25 November 2009

Our stay at Balai was wonderful. It definitely exceeded our expectations! The resort's theme is native and back-to-basics. I love the nipa huts! The rooms were small but they were very clean. Smelled like fabric softener. There were two double beds and they also provided clean towels. The bathroom was nice. Spacious, clean and has hot and cold water. They also have those traveller soaps and shampoos in sachet. We didn't use them since we brought our own. Didn't know they would provide that.

The staff were polite and friendly. They answered all of our questions and took good care of us while we were there. Meals were served when we wanted it since we were the only guests and the servings were more than enough. The other reviews were correct. The food is what makes your stay worth it. Dea, the cook, is amazing! Someone should pirate him and bring him to the city. Hehe. Kidding.

The beach is not sugary, like Boracay. It is white though but more gravelly/pebbly. The water is clean and clear. You can see fishes swimming arpund you! Better than Boracay's... almost as beautiful as Moalboal's water in Cebu. There's no TV or radio in the rooms so you have to keep yourself preoccupied. There's sungka in the dining hall, billiards in the reception area and a couple of novels/magazines lying around. I love the dining area! Breezy and relaxed. The chair was too high for my daughter though so she had to eat standing and used the chair as her table. Cute.

Overall, an amazing experience. Not bad for our first family outing. The commute wasn't too bad as well. It was around 5 hours from Laguna but we enjoyed the trip. The directions on the site are accurate. If you're not sure, you can always ask the locals.

See you soon, Balai!!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kaliweftie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2009

Enjoyed our stay at Balai. Went for diving and the boat guys were great. Location is a bit isolated so if you crave snacks, make sure you bring some on your trip and keep them in a bag so that the bugs don't try to get them. You can get soft drinks n beer n such but there are no snack machines.Rooms were a bit pricey...3,000p per person if you are sharing a room...4,000p per person if you are single room. Also...we took a driver with us and there were drivers quarters there so that was nice but we are still trying to figure out why each of us was charged 200p for driver entry fee. Rooms are cute..bamboo floors and perfect for a diving trip. No TV's, a/c was great, fan in the room as well. Hot water in the shower and plenty of places to hang wet scuba gear on your shared front balcony. Food is served buffet style and we enjoyed it all during our stay. Staff was nice n very helfpul. Slept with our doors open and listened to the waves at night. It was very nice!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2009

I was invited by a very good friend of mine to join his family, relatives and friends to have fun in Balai Anilao. I checked about the place first through the internet and asked some friends about it and got favorable reviews about the resort. Since my weakness is great food, I was easily convinced to join them after hearing that Balai serves good dishes (buffet style) despite the long trip from Manila.

We left Manila at 4:30 AM to reach Balai before 8AM to enjoy the morning sun of Anilao. We requested for a boat to bring us to Sombrero Island as suggested by their office representative in Manila and was charged P1,500 for the boat rental. We reached Sombrero Island after a 20 minute boat ride and surprised to learn that our group (7 adults, 2 kids and 1 mentally challenged person) was being charged an amount of P1,500 for a maximum of 2-hour stay in an island with no cottages, no food stalls, no other people aside from the guy manning the island. This same guy did not allow us to use one of the two tables in the island without us paying him another P800. We wanted the guy to issue us receipts for all his charges but he wouldn't issue one. We then decided not go down from the boat and we just transferred to another place. We just rented the boat for 2 hours and went back to Balai, looking forward to lunch. We had tilapia and grilled pork... not enough for second servings considering that we were with 2 kids.

Dinner came... salty chicken barbecue, breaded pork chop, cold cream soup and pasta with creamy mushroom sauce were served. I started asking for nearby restaurants or fastfoods to satisfy my cravings and hunger but we were stuck in an isolated place with nothing to do but play mahjong while the others play rummikub with the kids. Since we had an early day, we went back to our rustic rooms at 10pm.

The worst of our stay came...breakfast! We were stunned to see pancakes, rice, bread, eggs, a bowl of "Sabah Mackarel" and a plate of slices of canned meatloaf!!!! Why were we eating canned foods in a resort located in a place which is supposedly rich in fresh seafoods and low-priced meats???!!!! Where were the sumptuous meals that other people talked about?

Due to our great disappointment, we left Balai before lunchtime. We left with no good memories of our stay, and no good experience to share with our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Mackarel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

The SERVICE is great. All members of the staff are always smiling. They were very helpful, accommodating and fast.

The ROOM looks and feels "native" with its airy, bamboo floor and the nipa hut roof. You can decide if you want to use the a/c or if you'll just settle with the fan. The bathroom is very clean unlike other resorts. But I just want to share that I found a cockroach despite the cleanliness of the area.

The BEACH is nice and clean but it doesn't have fine, white sand. But I can say that I liked it so much. The waves are not big so it's nice to swim. A few cottages and benches are scattered in the area. There are just a few people even if it's a long weekend.

The FOOD there is just amazing. We paid for the overnight package with 3 meals/buffet and all the foods that they served are delicious.

The place is a bit far from Manila though it's not difficult to find it cause the instructions that they gave us was good enough. We didn't get lost. In fact, we just commuted to go there. The only 'not-so-good' thing is that the total fare is a little pricey.

Balai Laiya is wonderful. We'll go back there for sure. :)

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mariellovesthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

My best friend brought me here with his families and another friend from the states. We check in to their rooms, rooms are really very rustic and old.

Then we rented a boat from the hotel for 1500 pesos, which is good for 3 hours. The boat man said that we can go to Sombrero Island, the only decent beach area nearby. We got there, and they were charging 150 pesos for each people and 800 pesos for the table, which i feel is outrageous for an undeveloped Island, lots of broken corals on the beach which I think is not safe for children since we have two with us. It has zero amenities, not even a restroom. The person in charge was arrogant and we feel unsafe to stay so we decided to leave immediately. Then we were brought to a snorkling area which is just average. With nothing else to do, we were brought back to the hotel one hour earlier than our expected time. Actually the boat wants us to stay in sombrera island and even discouraging us to go snorkling.

Here comes our lunch. We read that they have a heavenly buffet but it turns out that is wasn't heavenly at all. The food is limited both in quantity and quality. We had egg drop soup, fried tilapia, grilled pork, vegetable and dessert. Considering that we had three kids with us, the food wasn't even enough to make our first round. Considering that it was buffet. We already advise the staff that the food was not enough. When they serve our dinner, the chicken is very salty that the children don't even want to touch it. The cream soup that they serve was not enough. But the worst of all, was breakfast. They serve us canned goods of sardines and maling or mai-ling meatloaf whatever it is, eggs and pancakes. As if we are stranded on an island and there is nothing fresh to serve. My host decided that we should skipped lunch even we already paid for it. We feel sorry that our host feels embarassed for taking us to that place.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ricci2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mabini
3.2 km away
Eagle Point Resort
Eagle Point Resort
#1 of 7 in Mabini
310 reviews
1.4 km away
Solana
Solana
#2 of 7 in Mabini
53 reviews
1.3 km away
Sea's Spring Resort Hotel
Sea's Spring Resort Hotel
#9 of 10 in Batangas City
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.7 km away
La Luz Beach Resort & Spa
46.2 km away
Club Balai Isabel
Club Balai Isabel
#1 of 2 in Talisay
617 reviews
39 km away
White Castle Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balai Resort Anilao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balai Resort Anilao

Address: San Teodoro, Mabini, Luzon, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Batangas Province > Mabini
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Mabini
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Balai Resort Anilao Hotel Mabini
Balai Hotel Batangas
Balai Hotel Anilao
Balai Resort Anilao Batangas, Philippines - Mabini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing