We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
BagaLangit Hideaways(Mabini)(Great Value!)
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
US$201
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Anilao Scuba Dive Center(Mabini)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$32
US$22
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Planet Dive(Mabini)(Great Value!)
US$52
US$39
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Buceo Anilao Beach & Dive Resort(Mabini)(Great Value!)
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$170
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Solana(Mabini)
US$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
10
14
3
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
14
3
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Enjoyed our stay at Balai. Went for diving and the boat guys were great. Location is a bit isolated so if you crave snacks, make sure you bring some on your trip and keep them in a bag so that the bugs don't try to get them. You can get soft drinks n beer n such but there are no snack machines.Rooms were a bit pricey...3,000p per person if you are sharing a room...4,000p per person if you are single room. Also...we took a driver with us and there were drivers quarters there so that was nice but we are still trying to figure out why each of us was charged 200p for driver entry fee. Rooms are cute..bamboo floors and perfect for a diving trip. No TV's, a/c was great, fan in the room as well. Hot water in the shower and plenty of places to hang wet scuba gear on your shared front balcony. Food is served buffet style and we enjoyed it all during our stay. Staff was nice n very helfpul. Slept with our doors open and listened to the waves at night. It was very nice!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2009

I was invited by a very good friend of mine to join his family, relatives and friends to have fun in Balai Anilao. I checked about the place first through the internet and asked some friends about it and got favorable reviews about the resort. Since my weakness is great food, I was easily convinced to join them after hearing that Balai serves good dishes (buffet style) despite the long trip from Manila.

We left Manila at 4:30 AM to reach Balai before 8AM to enjoy the morning sun of Anilao. We requested for a boat to bring us to Sombrero Island as suggested by their office representative in Manila and was charged P1,500 for the boat rental. We reached Sombrero Island after a 20 minute boat ride and surprised to learn that our group (7 adults, 2 kids and 1 mentally challenged person) was being charged an amount of P1,500 for a maximum of 2-hour stay in an island with no cottages, no food stalls, no other people aside from the guy manning the island. This same guy did not allow us to use one of the two tables in the island without us paying him another P800. We wanted the guy to issue us receipts for all his charges but he wouldn't issue one. We then decided not go down from the boat and we just transferred to another place. We just rented the boat for 2 hours and went back to Balai, looking forward to lunch. We had tilapia and grilled pork... not enough for second servings considering that we were with 2 kids.

Dinner came... salty chicken barbecue, breaded pork chop, cold cream soup and pasta with creamy mushroom sauce were served. I started asking for nearby restaurants or fastfoods to satisfy my cravings and hunger but we were stuck in an isolated place with nothing to do but play mahjong while the others play rummikub with the kids. Since we had an early day, we went back to our rustic rooms at 10pm.

The worst of our stay came...breakfast! We were stunned to see pancakes, rice, bread, eggs, a bowl of "Sabah Mackarel" and a plate of slices of canned meatloaf!!!! Why were we eating canned foods in a resort located in a place which is supposedly rich in fresh seafoods and low-priced meats???!!!! Where were the sumptuous meals that other people talked about?

Due to our great disappointment, we left Balai before lunchtime. We left with no good memories of our stay, and no good experience to share with our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Mackarel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

The SERVICE is great. All members of the staff are always smiling. They were very helpful, accommodating and fast.

The ROOM looks and feels "native" with its airy, bamboo floor and the nipa hut roof. You can decide if you want to use the a/c or if you'll just settle with the fan. The bathroom is very clean unlike other resorts. But I just want to share that I found a cockroach despite the cleanliness of the area.

The BEACH is nice and clean but it doesn't have fine, white sand. But I can say that I liked it so much. The waves are not big so it's nice to swim. A few cottages and benches are scattered in the area. There are just a few people even if it's a long weekend.

The FOOD there is just amazing. We paid for the overnight package with 3 meals/buffet and all the foods that they served are delicious.

The place is a bit far from Manila though it's not difficult to find it cause the instructions that they gave us was good enough. We didn't get lost. In fact, we just commuted to go there. The only 'not-so-good' thing is that the total fare is a little pricey.

Balai Laiya is wonderful. We'll go back there for sure. :)

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mariellovesthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

My best friend brought me here with his families and another friend from the states. We check in to their rooms, rooms are really very rustic and old.

Then we rented a boat from the hotel for 1500 pesos, which is good for 3 hours. The boat man said that we can go to Sombrero Island, the only decent beach area nearby. We got there, and they were charging 150 pesos for each people and 800 pesos for the table, which i feel is outrageous for an undeveloped Island, lots of broken corals on the beach which I think is not safe for children since we have two with us. It has zero amenities, not even a restroom. The person in charge was arrogant and we feel unsafe to stay so we decided to leave immediately. Then we were brought to a snorkling area which is just average. With nothing else to do, we were brought back to the hotel one hour earlier than our expected time. Actually the boat wants us to stay in sombrera island and even discouraging us to go snorkling.

Here comes our lunch. We read that they have a heavenly buffet but it turns out that is wasn't heavenly at all. The food is limited both in quantity and quality. We had egg drop soup, fried tilapia, grilled pork, vegetable and dessert. Considering that we had three kids with us, the food wasn't even enough to make our first round. Considering that it was buffet. We already advise the staff that the food was not enough. When they serve our dinner, the chicken is very salty that the children don't even want to touch it. The cream soup that they serve was not enough. But the worst of all, was breakfast. They serve us canned goods of sardines and maling or mai-ling meatloaf whatever it is, eggs and pancakes. As if we are stranded on an island and there is nothing fresh to serve. My host decided that we should skipped lunch even we already paid for it. We feel sorry that our host feels embarassed for taking us to that place.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ricci2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

me and my friend went to balai anilao last may 19 and it was a very nice and fun experience.after 2 hours bus ride and 30 minutes bumpy ride in jeepney we arrive at the resort around 12:30 pm..we went straight to the front desk to check in.the girl in the front desk is so nice she smiled right away we she saw us she entertain us very politely and after we showed her the receipt from UCPB (FYI before you can go to balai laiya you need to pay the half of your bill in their account in UCPB) the girl told tme that they implement that policy for marketing purposes because some of the guest have reservation but on the day itself they won't show up,they need to estimate the number of people that will come on a certain day so they could estimate the food that they gonna serve since all the meal is buffet.nwei going back after i showed her the receipt she show us our room then she said that the lunch is ready....since both of us is so tired due to the long bumpy travel time we just put our thing in our room then go straight to the dining area...there are 3 main dishes that you can choose from then soup and a desert.the food was really amazing!!!!it is just a typical pinoy food but there is some kinda twist on it...that makes it real mouth watering..me and my friend realy enjoy the food there.after eating we gear and and get ready to swim.. the sand is white but its not as white as bora though...water is clear and cold..i really enjoyed by stay at balai laiya..this is highly recomended

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank piffer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews