We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Pousada Aguape(Aquidauana)
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pousada Pequi(Aquidauana)
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Beira Rio(Aquidauana)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Hotel Santa Izabel(Aquidauana)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
89
17
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
17
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshis knowledgehorse ridingwet seasonrio negrowould love to go backmemorable experiencefauna and florasouthern pantanalvictorenvironmentplanecanoehorseslandscapetripspiranhaaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Hello, We were hosted at the hotel. Following the recommendations, we decided to book and very disappointed.
1) We arrived at 13:30 at Campo Grande, following the recommendation of Pollyanna decided to go to the hotel at the same day. She said the trip 4-5 hours, she said we will reach in the evening'. we arrived at one o'clock in the morning, after 10 hours of traveling with three children, I'm sure she will never do that trip with her ​​children's! but sha still earned her payment for that night!
2)2) The food was terrible!!!
3) We have not received any professional instructor, luckily that the drivero got us worried about us and felt responsible for us.
We did not feel any concern or care from Daniel, the owner.
4) in the surrounding area there are hardly any animals!!!
5) Old equipment ,during safari trip we got stuck with the car.
Even before the trip they knew that the car was causing problems.
Old fishing rods, we were 5 people and somehow brought only three fishing-rods after paying so much we expect a serious and fair treatment.
We are a family travels a lot. I recommend that you do not get to this hotel!
I realized there was more in the recommended locationsׂׂ(BARRANCO ALTO,
FAZENDA SAN FRANCISCO).
i recommend to travel to bonito and from there go for 1-2 night to pantanal(fazenda san fracisco),in bonito you can do rio prata.
phon number of driver in bonito:67-92437891,Helio.
Unfortunately I did not have this information, hope you use it!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank eliana0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuilhermeRondon, Gerente geral at Barra Mansa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Eliana,
We feel sorry for your terrible review and impression about our place. At the same time, our feedbacks during the same days and at the whole season with other groups at the lodge were fantastic. Food, excursions, guides were horrible on your oppinion but for the other guests it has all been excellent. We treat all guests the same way with good care and that was not different with your family. Maybe the language issue was complicated as your family did not speak Portuguese, English or Spanish, so harder to get communication with your boys and make them feel better looked after. We believe people are different, coming from different places and having different cultures, but our overall very positive feedbacks during 18 years of operations make us keep moving and believe we are on the right direction. For sure we'll take your comments on a positive basis to keep improving our services. All the best, Daniel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed for a couple of days in the Barra Mansa Lodge. We had a really great time we loved the excursions. The people where very helpfull and hearty and our guide was really good.

The atmosphere in de lodge was always really relaxed. Our cabin was good and really close to spot some nice animals in the morning. But i dont want to forget the cook. The food was really good.

We want to thank everybody at the Barra Mansa Logde for making our time in the Pantanal even more amazing. If we are close by we would certainly go back. Also a thank for John from Brazil Nature Tours for all the help during our trip it was amazing

Capibara

Ronnie
Teun
Jeff
Jeroen
Marc

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R0nnie34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stayed in Barra Mansa for 4 days with my son in the beginning of April. It was a wonderful vacation. The Rondon family - father and son - were so generous and hospitable, the staff so welcoming and efficient, that one could not ask for more.
This is a secluded Fazenda on the banks of Rio Negro - an absolutely breathtaking natural surrounding. All the guests' needs are taken care of: simple and comfortable rooms, very tasty home cooking (in great variety) and guided tours of various sorts.
We had two guides - Juan from the farm and Carlos, the English speaking guide. They were absolutely perfect! Their knowledge of the area and their enthusiasm were of the highest order. Carlos took care of all our needs 24 hours a day. We feel we made a real friend there in the Pantanal.
Just to give an example of Barra Mansa's hospitality: After the first day we said that we prefer to start the morning activity earlier. In the following days we started at dawn (coffee and pastry were already served by the dedicated kitchen staff). Then we went out by boat with thoughtfully prepared picnic basket.
In short: a great place, it is expensive but well worth the money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gadi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The hotel is very well located in the middle of the "Pantanal", the wetland of Brazil and probably one of the most fascinating in earth. Remotely located. No internet, not even cel phone works there. Peaceful and relaxing paradise. The hotel provides great tours around its area, such as fishing, horsing, kayak, boat tour through the river. All the activities are very well organized and worths. During the tours you can spot the wild animals of the "pantanal", mammals, birds and caymans. The food served at lunch and dinner are typical from the region and all prepared from goods from the farm. Delicious meat. Really "farm" made food. The only thing we felt could be better is the service between the tours. Normally they start very early in the morning just after breakfast, but once you are back to the hotel, they do not serve nothing for eating, not even a snack and you need to wait until the lunch time. With kids it is definitively an issue. The same in the afternoon. Although there are plenty of food (all from the farm), the management doesn't feel confortable if you ask for a snack between the tours and meals.. If you ask anything for the farm's staff (even at the kitchen, which you can see from outside and notice there are plenty of food), they have to ask to the owner if they can serve anything. I noticed that the management are sometimes rude with the staff if they break the rule and offers a slice of bread. I wouldn't mind if they had a small menu with a cost, but it is too severe and rigid from the management not serving nothing for hours and hours and we were there with a child. The closest place to buy anything is 45 minutes from the hotel and.............by plane..............The other point with an opportunity for improvement is the confort of the rooms. Although the rural style can and should be preserved, the quality of sleeping could be better. Other than the quality of sleeping and rigidity of timing and norms for having meals (people have different habits of having their daily meals), the place really deserves a trip. It is a lifetime experience from a ecological tourism standpoint.

Room Tip: If you or any of your party are not used to stay 4 to 6 hours without eating even a snack, bring your own as once at the farm you are tied to the place and to the rigid norms of the management. Bring also repelent and sunblock.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank petrauskas1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuilhermeRondon, Manager at Barra Mansa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear guest,
Thanks for your comments and positive review. Regarding the food issue, we believe there was some misunderstanding. Yes we don't have a menu to be ordered out of meals' times, but we always try our best to serve any request of our guests with no extra cost and we would never be rude/severe/rigid with the staff if any guest ask for a snack or slice of bread. Definitely this could not have happened and maybe it was a wrong impression due difference on languages, but we can assure that any request of our guests are welcome and never seen as a problem and we don't have rules for not serving food out of meal times if requested. The restaurant is also filled with fruits all day long where guests can help themselves out of meals times. We feel sorry about your impression on that point and we'll try our best to improve our services. Thanks again, the manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The travel to the Pantanal is fascinating, but (quite) expensive.

When we are staying at a hotel that charges a premium price (similar to the “all inclusive” premium resorts), we may expect a premium service and installations.

We would give the Barra Mansa a 5 (grade) for the Pantanal trips and 3 for the accommodations and food.

We enjoyed the care and sympathy of the hotel owner (Guilherme) who did everything to make our stay more pleasant. The Pantanal trips are “tailored” for each guest; we enjoyed the boat trips, kayak and the horse rides; the guides are very friendly and knowledgeably (especially Joao).

The accommodation is quite basic and small, with “outdated” bathroom;
We would expect a split air conditioning instead of the wall-mounted A/C who makes some noise (in a so silent environment); wi-fi is working great.

The food was also basic(-), little different from the hotel’s advertising of “excellent gastronomy”; for the price we would expect much better quality and variety; During our stay, there were no fish in the menu…as drinks are not included in the package, we would expect (at least) water (or lemonade) to be supplied during meals…
We would suggest to provide snacks between the meals; sometimes there is an 8 hours difference between lunch & dinner, without any food in between…crackers and some cheese/jam will be very advised…

Transport to Barra Mansa is quite costly (as well); we shared the air trip with other guests and took the 4X4 vehicle on the way back; both trips were interesting (we enjoyed the overland better)/

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ISR77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews