We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (577)
Filter reviews
577 results
Traveller rating
554
23
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
554
23
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesrouvas gorgeolive grovesoutdoor gymthe half board optionprivate terraceminute driveperfect place to relaxeach eveningnearest beachwonderful weekfamily vacationyogurtheraklion airportpeace and quietrental carnearby gorge
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 577 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

This hotel is amazing, it’s so beautiful and comfortable and friendly, it deserves all the amazing reviews :-) there were lots of lovely little touches, and the gardens are gorgeous. I could have moved in and lived there!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank fran881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here 6-20 Sept 17. We are a 39 and 36 year old couple. Flew from Gatwick to Heraklion. Picked up a pre-booked hire car from the airport, all very smooth no problems. We used Argus car hire and we had a Jimny Jeep which I'd recommend if you wish to visit some of the more adventurous beaches. A normal car is still ok but you may have to park a little further away, Crete is hilly!

Eleonas is a lovely place, the location is very scenic and Manolis and his team have mastered customer service. They are attentive and nothing is too much trouble. All the staff from the cleaners to the restaurant staff are super friendly and make you feel more than just another guest. The rooms are beautiful and clean and tidy.

Top tip: I think the award winning Zaros spring water is plumbed in to every room. Don't bother buying bottled water, just fill up from the tap in your room.

The pool area is clean and tidy and very peaceful. A self service bar is there for cooled drinks, alcoholic and non alcoholic and there is a phone to order food which the staff will bring down to the pool for you.

The food at Eleonas Restaurant is reasonably priced and very good. The breakfast buffet is really good, tasty and fresh. Everywhere is clean, tidy and a nice space to enjoy your food.

Top tip:Do not miss the lamb and potatoes that is served once a week. Oh my god it's very good.

Zaros village is about a 20-30 minute walk away. We drove whenever we visited. There are a couple of good tavernas down there. We were repeatedly drawn back to "VEGERA".

VEGERA - we have visited 4 different islands in Greece in the last 4 years and I can't think of a place that offers such wonderful food with unbelievable hospitality at such a great price. Two people can eat a shared menu, with wine,bread and water for less than €20. That's total, not per person, I couldn't recommend this place enough. The owner is quite eccentric, she's amazing actually, how many times have you had the owner of a restaurant come and pile more food on your plate because she thinks you haven't eaten enough. Just go there you'll see.

There are numerous beaches the nearest is roughly a 35min drive. We preferred Komos beach, great for swimming, sun loungers and umbrellas and the Bunga Bunga taverna with good food which is directly on the beach.

All in all this was a wonderful holiday and we can't recommend Eleonas enough. 10/10

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank philandcarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Returned a couple of weeks ago from a great holiday there. Been to Crete 4 times and this was a change from 20 years ago on the clubbing trips to Malia. Great location on the side of a hill, there are even car parks at each level. The staff are amazing and very friendly, Monolis is a top top guy and runs the place very well, he knows how to look after his guests and will help with whatever he can. He told me there had been comments made about the pool being too child orientated so......he's going to build a pool for adults!

Top tip...next door on a bit of land was a horse tied to a bit of rope, we fed it the apples that were left for decoration in our room and filed it's water bucket up from the stream next door, look like it had a sad life so visit it and make it feel loved.

People with disabilities and steep hills would struggle if their room was at the top so make sure you get rooms near the pool.

Room Tip: Every one has two balconies, best rooms for views further up the hill, go lower down if you struggle with hills.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

This lovely hotel fully deserves the consistent praise and good reviews it receives. From the moment you arrive and until the sad moment when you have to leave the friendly staff look after your every need.

The mountainous location is absolutely stunning and you are completely removed from all the tacky tourism and over development of many of the coastal areas.

We hired a car at the airport which we had for the entire week's trip and really managed to pack in a lot of great day trips. The beach is only a 30/35 minute drive away and many of Crete's top archaeological sites, such as Festos, Gortys and Ayios Triadha are all in reasonable striking distance. We visited both Lemos and Matala beaches, We preferred the latter for bathing and the beach is in a lovely bay setting. It is a lot more developed but it's pretty low key and we'd recommend the Eleni taverna on the beachfront which served up some great fresh fish.

We'd also recommend a new museum which is on the road towards Rethimnon called the Museum of Ancient Eleutherna which is situated close to the actual site. It can't match the magnificence of the museum in Heraklion but it does have some superb Minoan and Roman artefacts. And it's relatively quiet. En route there we also visited Arkadhi Monastery which is well worth looking at although be warned lots of coach parties descent upon on it in the morning so maybe leave it until the afternoon when you'll have it more to yourself.

The hotel provide excellent maps with several walking routes which are all close by, They are all colour coded and on the routes you will be guided by arrows of the relevant colour. We didn't get lost once which tells you all you need to know. We managed the gorge walk which took us around 4 hours. It is tough so be warned and we'd recommend you attempt it first thing before the sun gets too hot. Coming down is hard on your knees! It's well worth the effort though as the scenery is beautiful.

Back to the hotel facilities; the rooms are lovely with great views from a private terrace and they have everything you need. You won't need to buy much as water is safe to drink from the tap (Zaros drinking water factory is a few K down the road) and they provide some great fresh coffee along with a machine to make it. The fridge is fully stocked with drinks and snacks too.

The restaurant serves nice, tasty, but simple, Greek food and the breakfast selection is outstanding. By far the best we've had in Greece. There's a Cretan music and dance evening on Thursdays and it's fabulous and not what you'd expect.

If you're lucky you might meet the semi-resident feline, George, who is totally gorgeous but he does go off wandering occasionally so you may not be lucky enough to meet him.

All in all you can't go wrong with choosing Eleonas, particularly if you want to experience a more authentic Cretan holiday and get away from the crowds.

Room Tip: We had room 18 which had a really private terrace on the edge of the property. Fab views of olive groves and mountains.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

You can read plenty of reviews about this place, I will just highlight a couple of things.

The good:
* Sleep quality is superb. It is absolutely and perfectly quiet when you close the doors & windows. The aircon unit is very silent as well. The bed is of a good size and there is a nice blanket provided (ours was in the cupboard next to the bed).
* Manolis is amazing as the proprietor. He gives everything to make you feel warm and welcome at the property.
* Internet speed is very good. They have satellite internet I believe, and you can easily get over 10mbit/s throughput at all times from it - if this is important for you :)
* The garden around the property is great - if you arrive during the harvest season you can easily pick fresh pears, figs, plums and so on straight from the trees.
* The pool is very refreshing and well kept.
* The water comes from the mountain, it is the same water as is bottled and shipped all around crete at the facility you drive past when getting to the place. When Manolis says that the tap water is good to drink - he means it.

The not so good:
* The water pressure is bad. This means that there are a lot of oscillations in the temperature of the water as there is more or less consumption by your neighbors and also you can not get a strong steady shower.
* The restaurant is just OK. While the breakfast was always very good, we did not find it to be worthwhile to go there in the evenings - the restaurants downhill in Zaros were better value for money, and just overall tastier (especially Vegera!).

I still give this place 5 stars. If you want to get far from the city noise, do some hiking, visiting nature and have the best sleep, look no further.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DmD111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews