We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our seven weeks in Greece!!”
Review of Eleonas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eleonas
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Zaros
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

Eleonas cannot be described in words. This was a magical experience that transported us into a time warp. Our days were filled with silence and distant sheep bells, buzzing honey bees, full moon shining on the mountain slopes, the wind in the olive groves, morning walks to the monastery, sumptuous breakfast buffets with fresh yogurt, honey, almond and caramelized rose petals, fruit, local cheeses. If there is a tenth muse, it is Manolis,
bringing the art of hospitality to classical heights.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank gnelson18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 532 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

This hotel is amazing, it’s so beautiful and comfortable and friendly, it deserves all the amazing reviews :-) there were lots of lovely little touches, and the gardens are gorgeous. I could have moved in and lived there!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank fran881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here 6-20 Sept 17. We are a 39 and 36 year old couple. Flew from Gatwick to Heraklion. Picked up a pre-booked hire car from the airport, all very smooth no problems. We used Argus car hire and we had a Jimny Jeep which I'd recommend if you wish to visit some of the more adventurous beaches. A normal car is still ok but you may have to park a little further away, Crete is hilly!

Eleonas is a lovely place, the location is very scenic and Manolis and his team have mastered customer service. They are attentive and nothing is too much trouble. All the staff from the cleaners to the restaurant staff are super friendly and make you feel more than just another guest. The rooms are beautiful and clean and tidy.

Top tip: I think the award winning Zaros spring water is plumbed in to every room. Don't bother buying bottled water, just fill up from the tap in your room.

The pool area is clean and tidy and very peaceful. A self service bar is there for cooled drinks, alcoholic and non alcoholic and there is a phone to order food which the staff will bring down to the pool for you.

The food at Eleonas Restaurant is reasonably priced and very good. The breakfast buffet is really good, tasty and fresh. Everywhere is clean, tidy and a nice space to enjoy your food.

Top tip:Do not miss the lamb and potatoes that is served once a week. Oh my god it's very good.

Zaros village is about a 20-30 minute walk away. We drove whenever we visited. There are a couple of good tavernas down there. We were repeatedly drawn back to "VEGERA".

VEGERA - we have visited 4 different islands in Greece in the last 4 years and I can't think of a place that offers such wonderful food with unbelievable hospitality at such a great price. Two people can eat a shared menu, with wine,bread and water for less than €20. That's total, not per person, I couldn't recommend this place enough. The owner is quite eccentric, she's amazing actually, how many times have you had the owner of a restaurant come and pile more food on your plate because she thinks you haven't eaten enough. Just go there you'll see.

There are numerous beaches the nearest is roughly a 35min drive. We preferred Komos beach, great for swimming, sun loungers and umbrellas and the Bunga Bunga taverna with good food which is directly on the beach.

All in all this was a wonderful holiday and we can't recommend Eleonas enough. 10/10

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank philandcarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Returned a couple of weeks ago from a great holiday there. Been to Crete 4 times and this was a change from 20 years ago on the clubbing trips to Malia. Great location on the side of a hill, there are even car parks at each level. The staff are amazing and very friendly, Monolis is a top top guy and runs the place very well, he knows how to look after his guests and will help with whatever he can. He told me there had been comments made about the pool being too child orientated so......he's going to build a pool for adults!

Top tip...next door on a bit of land was a horse tied to a bit of rope, we fed it the apples that were left for decoration in our room and filed it's water bucket up from the stream next door, look like it had a sad life so visit it and make it feel loved.

People with disabilities and steep hills would struggle if their room was at the top so make sure you get rooms near the pool.

Room Tip: Every one has two balconies, best rooms for views further up the hill, go lower down if you struggle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

This lovely hotel fully deserves the consistent praise and good reviews it receives. From the moment you arrive and until the sad moment when you have to leave the friendly staff look after your every need.

The mountainous location is absolutely stunning and you are completely removed from all the tacky tourism and over development of many of the coastal areas.

We hired a car at the airport which we had for the entire week's trip and really managed to pack in a lot of great day trips. The beach is only a 30/35 minute drive away and many of Crete's top archaeological sites, such as Festos, Gortys and Ayios Triadha are all in reasonable striking distance. We visited both Lemos and Matala beaches, We preferred the latter for bathing and the beach is in a lovely bay setting. It is a lot more developed but it's pretty low key and we'd recommend the Eleni taverna on the beachfront which served up some great fresh fish.

We'd also recommend a new museum which is on the road towards Rethimnon called the Museum of Ancient Eleutherna which is situated close to the actual site. It can't match the magnificence of the museum in Heraklion but it does have some superb Minoan and Roman artefacts. And it's relatively quiet. En route there we also visited Arkadhi Monastery which is well worth looking at although be warned lots of coach parties descent upon on it in the morning so maybe leave it until the afternoon when you'll have it more to yourself.

The hotel provide excellent maps with several walking routes which are all close by, They are all colour coded and on the routes you will be guided by arrows of the relevant colour. We didn't get lost once which tells you all you need to know. We managed the gorge walk which took us around 4 hours. It is tough so be warned and we'd recommend you attempt it first thing before the sun gets too hot. Coming down is hard on your knees! It's well worth the effort though as the scenery is beautiful.

Back to the hotel facilities; the rooms are lovely with great views from a private terrace and they have everything you need. You won't need to buy much as water is safe to drink from the tap (Zaros drinking water factory is a few K down the road) and they provide some great fresh coffee along with a machine to make it. The fridge is fully stocked with drinks and snacks too.

The restaurant serves nice, tasty, but simple, Greek food and the breakfast selection is outstanding. By far the best we've had in Greece. There's a Cretan music and dance evening on Thursdays and it's fabulous and not what you'd expect.

If you're lucky you might meet the semi-resident feline, George, who is totally gorgeous but he does go off wandering occasionally so you may not be lucky enough to meet him.

All in all you can't go wrong with choosing Eleonas, particularly if you want to experience a more authentic Cretan holiday and get away from the crowds.

Room Tip: We had room 18 which had a really private terrace on the edge of the property. Fab views of olive gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zaros
90.9 km away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
152 reviews
75.4 km away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
463 reviews
47.8 km away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.7 km away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 177 in Rethymnon
657 reviews
34 km away
Kapsaliana Village Hotel
90.6 km away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eleonas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eleonas

Address: Main Street, Zaros, Crete 700 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Zaros
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Zaros
Price Range: RM501 - RM934 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eleonas 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 20 rural lodges are situated on a peaceful and refreshing mountain slope, surrounded by olive trees and sweet-scented herbs, and are facing a magnificent view. This is the perfect getaway land. The beauty of the landscape makes it ideal for nature-lovers. Be it summer or winter, wild nature and its enchanting beauty will cast a spell on you. Experience moments of relaxation and tranquility, and admire nature in all its grandeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Eleonas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eleonas Hotel Zaros

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing