We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Reviews (437)
Filter reviews
437 results
Traveller rating
226
109
50
34
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
226
109
50
34
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsday tripcape townsafari experiencehour driveambassador suitecheetah interactionluxury chaletan overnight stayonce in a lifetimeamazing experiencetented campdirt trackself drivewild animalstasty lunchcheetah runfire pit
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 437 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2017

Not too long of a drive from Cape Town, and the price for the whole weekend was very reasonable, included meals and 4 safaris. Eugene, our guide, was funny and knowledgeable, we had an amazing time. We went stargazing at night, I've never seen so many stars, one of the darkest places I've been. Definitely worth the trip!!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank megabyte579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverdoorn, Public Relations Manager at Inverdoorn Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear Megabyte579,

Thank you for your feedback. It sounds like you've had a wonderful time, and really soaked up all nature in the Klein Karoo has to offer - from safari to food to star gazing. We hope to see you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Marketing Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

If you find yourself in Cape Town and not wanting to fly to another region for a safari this place is perfect. Only about 2.5 hours from Cape Town, this reserve provides an up close experience with much of Africa's wildlife in a safe guided tour.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverdoorn, Public Relations Manager at Inverdoorn Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear David R,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the trip to Inverdoorn Game Reserve. We hope to see you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

After being fetched from our hotel in Cape Town promptly at 7:00am we travelled in a comfortable mini bus to the Inverdoorn Reserve; a drive of some 3 hours through the great scenery along the way.

The Reserve is like an oasis in the vast semi-desert, which is the small Karoo in the southern part of South Africa. We chose the two day, overnight safari. Our accommodation was very comfortable and totally adequate for a one night stay.

The buffet lunch which was served was varied and very good.

In the late afternoon we went on a 2 hour drive in an open vehicle through the extremely large reserve. Our driver and guide was knowledgeable about all aspects of the wild life we were to see on this drive and those we were to see early the next morning ; lion, zebra, rhinoceros, buffalo, giraffe, cheetah, hippopotamus and more.

An exciting experience was the cheetah run which was organized for us. Amazing to see these beautiful animals reach a speed of about 70km per hour in literally a few seconds.

We returned to the Reserve late in the afternoon for drinks and relaxation before dinner. Dinner took place around a "boma" - a camp like fire around which you can sit and chat.

The main course dinner choice was either ostrich steak or kingklip fish. We chose the kingklip - served with the usual additions. Very tasty and filling.

Early the next morning (at 6:am) we gathered for early refreshments before starting off on the next 2 hour drive through the reserve. It was wonderful to experience the early morning rising sun and once again to see the animals in their natural habitat.

We returned to the Reserve for breakfast followed by checkout and the return bus trip to our hotel in Cape Town.

The entire experience was indeed memorable.

For an opportunity to see the Big 5 (we actually saw 4 of the Big 5 as we did not see the leopard) an overnight trip to Inverdoorn is truly recommended.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ISMAUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverdoorn, Public Relations Manager at Inverdoorn Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Dear Ismaur,

It sounds like you have had a fantastic trip! Thank you for your feedback. The cheetah run is always a treat to watch - it's amazing to see them run. Inverdoorn is really a special reserve and we were glad to share our wildlife with you.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Marketing Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

We took our overseas guest on a day visit to INVERDOORN based on there advertising only to be totally dissapointed . Firstly the 2.5 hour drive as told to us is not real in anyway as approximately 30 to 40 mins of this is on a horrible disgusting dirt road .
We arrived there at 10 am for the game drive at 10.30 after a totally unorganized scuffle by the staff they are able to finally leave at 11am on the safari . OUR GUESTS were quite happy with the animals they saw but then again they were none the wiser .
The facilities was very poor . Lunch was served in ice cold windy conditions resulting in a very uncomfortable experience . The food had potential for taste but unfortunately it was ice cold . So we hot footed out of there for our long drive back home .... NEVER EVER AGAIN .

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank splodgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverdoorn, Public Relations Manager at Inverdoorn Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Dear Splodgee,

Thank you for your feedback, we have taken it under advisement. We do include instructions on the site detailing the directions to Inverdoorn, but it is still a tricky dirt road. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your day safari. We hope to improve for the future.

Kind Regards,
Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

We arrived at 10h30 and very kept waiting for an hour and half before we could get to our rooms. There was no further communication or even an offer of something to drink; We just sat there waiting.
When we finally got to our chalet, the lady rushed her talk so quickly, I didn’t know what the hell was going on. We had no idea that there was a separate dining room for breakfast and lunch,
On the 2nd day we received one 500 ml of water and that was it for the entire day and next morning. Our coffee machine had no water in it either and couldn’t even have coffee the next morning.
As advertised in their brochure …”a wide variety of free roaming wildlife..” but fail to let the public know that the predators namely the lions are separated from the reserve!! They are rescues from canned lion hunting and are so fat they can barely move. And there are no free roaming cheetahs in the reserve, also as advertised in their brochure. It seems the Game Reserve is just pulling the wool over everyone’s eyes.
Inverdoorn is clearly aiming for the foreign tourists and not the locals, especially with their pricing. Not value for money. Its a glamourised zoo
This was our first local game reserve trip but has left a sour and bitter taste in our hearts.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willa518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverdoorn, Public Relations Manager at Inverdoorn Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Dear Willa518,

Thank you for the time for giving us feedback. We are sorry to hear that your trip was not up to standard, and we have taken your feedback under advisement. There is water available at the reserve from the front desk and both dining areas, as well as any of the staff.

The lions and cheetahs are kept separate as we are primarily a private game reserve with an emphasis on the conservation of wildlife. Due to the 10 000ha of land, we need to keep the predators separate from the rest of the roaming wildlife for preservation purposes.

Kind Regards,
Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews