We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inverdoorn Game Reserve
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Ceres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2017

I stayed overnight at the Inverdoorn Game Reserve and went on two safaris during my visit. We saw many different animals on the safaris. I highly recommend going on 2 safaris because we saw more animals during our 7:00 Am safari than during our 5:00 safari. We learned so much about the animals from our very knowledgeable tour guide. I was also very glad to hear about how Inverdoorn rehabilitates so that they can be safely returned to their habitat.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the overnight safari
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank violetfem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2017

Not too long of a drive from Cape Town, and the price for the whole weekend was very reasonable, included meals and 4 safaris. Eugene, our guide, was funny and knowledgeable, we had an amazing time. We went stargazing at night, I've never seen so many stars, one of the darkest places I've been. Definitely worth the trip!!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank megabyte579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverdoorn, Public Relations Manager at Inverdoorn Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear Megabyte579,

Thank you for your feedback. It sounds like you've had a wonderful time, and really soaked up all nature in the Klein Karoo has to offer - from safari to food to star gazing. We hope to see you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Marketing Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

If you find yourself in Cape Town and not wanting to fly to another region for a safari this place is perfect. Only about 2.5 hours from Cape Town, this reserve provides an up close experience with much of Africa's wildlife in a safe guided tour.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverdoorn, Public Relations Manager at Inverdoorn Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear David R,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the trip to Inverdoorn Game Reserve. We hope to see you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

After being fetched from our hotel in Cape Town promptly at 7:00am we travelled in a comfortable mini bus to the Inverdoorn Reserve; a drive of some 3 hours through the great scenery along the way.

The Reserve is like an oasis in the vast semi-desert, which is the small Karoo in the southern part of South Africa. We chose the two day, overnight safari. Our accommodation was very comfortable and totally adequate for a one night stay.

The buffet lunch which was served was varied and very good.

In the late afternoon we went on a 2 hour drive in an open vehicle through the extremely large reserve. Our driver and guide was knowledgeable about all aspects of the wild life we were to see on this drive and those we were to see early the next morning ; lion, zebra, rhinoceros, buffalo, giraffe, cheetah, hippopotamus and more.

An exciting experience was the cheetah run which was organized for us. Amazing to see these beautiful animals reach a speed of about 70km per hour in literally a few seconds.

We returned to the Reserve late in the afternoon for drinks and relaxation before dinner. Dinner took place around a "boma" - a camp like fire around which you can sit and chat.

The main course dinner choice was either ostrich steak or kingklip fish. We chose the kingklip - served with the usual additions. Very tasty and filling.

Early the next morning (at 6:am) we gathered for early refreshments before starting off on the next 2 hour drive through the reserve. It was wonderful to experience the early morning rising sun and once again to see the animals in their natural habitat.

We returned to the Reserve for breakfast followed by checkout and the return bus trip to our hotel in Cape Town.

The entire experience was indeed memorable.

For an opportunity to see the Big 5 (we actually saw 4 of the Big 5 as we did not see the leopard) an overnight trip to Inverdoorn is truly recommended.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ISMAUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverdoorn, Public Relations Manager at Inverdoorn Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Dear Ismaur,

It sounds like you have had a fantastic trip! Thank you for your feedback. The cheetah run is always a treat to watch - it's amazing to see them run. Inverdoorn is really a special reserve and we were glad to share our wildlife with you.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Marketing Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

We took our overseas guest on a day visit to INVERDOORN based on there advertising only to be totally dissapointed . Firstly the 2.5 hour drive as told to us is not real in anyway as approximately 30 to 40 mins of this is on a horrible disgusting dirt road .
We arrived there at 10 am for the game drive at 10.30 after a totally unorganized scuffle by the staff they are able to finally leave at 11am on the safari . OUR GUESTS were quite happy with the animals they saw but then again they were none the wiser .
The facilities was very poor . Lunch was served in ice cold windy conditions resulting in a very uncomfortable experience . The food had potential for taste but unfortunately it was ice cold . So we hot footed out of there for our long drive back home .... NEVER EVER AGAIN .

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank splodgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverdoorn, Public Relations Manager at Inverdoorn Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Dear Splodgee,

Thank you for your feedback, we have taken it under advisement. We do include instructions on the site detailing the directions to Inverdoorn, but it is still a tricky dirt road. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your day safari. We hope to improve for the future.

Kind Regards,
Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ceres
0 km away
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
58 reviews
29.2 km away
Aquila Private Game Reserve
Aquila Private Game Reserve
#29 of 129 in Cape Town Central
369 reviews
29.2 km away
Aquila Private Game Reserve
Aquila Private Game Reserve
#1 of 5 in Touwsrivier
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.3 km away
Klondyke Cherry Farm
Klondyke Cherry Farm
#1 of 12 in Ceres
99 reviews
55.6 km away
Hamlet Country Lodge
Hamlet Country Lodge
#8 of 12 in Ceres
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverdoorn Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverdoorn Game Reserve

Address: Cape Winelands, Ceres, Witzenberg Municipality 6835, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Ceres
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Ceres
Price Range: RM1,717 - RM3,605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Inverdoorn Game Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and South African Hotels so you can book your Inverdoorn Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverdoorn Game Reserve Hotel Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing