We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CHECK BAD REVIEWS FIRST!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inverdoorn Game Reserve
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Ceres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2017

I visited for a one night stay during my trip to Cape Town. This place has now put me off ever going to a safari again, I was so bored but stuck in the middle of no where so couldn't go home till my transfer the next morning : ( The safari lasted 3 hours, we saw about 5 different species but only a rhino the first night from the big 5 and we was so far away it was really pointless going for such high cost. To put into context I'm from England and went to Africa adventure world in Lowestoft where we got so much closer to giraffe, we was able to feed them from the jeep with our hands, hence I expected this to be way more wild then it was. I hated but so much I didn't want to go on the morning trip. There's not many animals and the ones which are here all seem to be rescued.

The wifi barley worked so I was sat in my guest room which has no tv and no wifi. Literally had to force myself to sleep in the hope tomorrow would come sooner. The assistant manger tried to out me on their private network so I asked for my iPad to also be, then he said it only works for 1 device, little did he know I work in IT so accessed the router to find the password and shared with my iPad. Liar!

They also overcharged us so check your bill, they did refund some money in the morning.

We was so happy till we came here, what a waste of money. I cannot wait to get back to my normal hotel!

Some good points, food was OK the steak was nice. Staff waiters friendly and helpful
I'm in joburg next week and have already asked work if I cam change my safari to quad bikes as I'm worried it could be a similar experience. Lesson learnt at least, PLEASE filter for bad reviews on trip advisor first

Room Tip: Luxury prices but budget hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank grantboy1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

The safari was a bit tame as really an animal sanctuary. The big five are all represented and you can close so excellent for photography. Excellent food and accomodation plus fantastic interaction with the cheetahs.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Susanhilary1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

In the day drive, you get put on an open bus (pack warm clothes!) and get driven around the reserve. They have a couple of elephants and three rhinos in the big, open part. The animals have their favourite spots, so unfortunately, it feels more like you're visiting an exhibit in a zoo than seeing them in their natural habitat. Same goes for the the lions and cheetahs which are in their own separate fenced off area. At least that means you can fairly close to them without too much effort.
The food afterwards is fine but nothing to write home about. Drinks cost extra.

If you have more time (and willingness to drive), consider going to Addo Elephant National Park instead. It's much cheaper and you can drive around yourself. No fences anywhere near. Unplanned, close encounters with elephants possible (if not likely).

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank _3_2_5_G_A_3_2_5_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

We went for the kuganha tents safari. I expected trouble on the dirt road but i did not have any, thus arrived at 11:30. Because our early arrival the reception offered a lunch at 30% discount.
Excellent lunch.
We were the only guests in the Kuganha tents so we had a private Ranger, Private staff at the tents.
All the staff and our ranger were excellent.
The tents were like a dream, beautiful and decorated with detail.

Food was fresh and all excellent prepared.
All drinks were included.

We stayed in early spring and we had our warm coats with us. Because, after sunset it can be cold on the safari drives.

We were lucky and saw all different animals Inverdoorn keeps. Especially the early morning drive was rewarding.

This two day experience i will never forget.
Only wish i could stay longer.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Joep v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

We visited Inverdoorn for an overnight stay with one safari on the first afternoon and a morning safari at 7am the next day.

We loved how close we could get to the animals and the variety on the reserve. All big 5 are there. There were 5 of us passengers on each safari, which made for an intimate experience and each person was able to ask many questions to find out more about the animals. Tiffany was our guide and she was friendly, passionate and informative. She clearly loves the conservation work she's part of and it shows.

The accommodation was as expected and we were made to feel very welcome during our stay. Thanks Inverdoorn team!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kirstie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ceres
0 km away
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
55 reviews
29.2 km away
Aquila Private Game Reserve
Aquila Private Game Reserve
#28 of 130 in Cape Town Central
360 reviews
55.6 km away
Hamlet Country Lodge
Hamlet Country Lodge
#6 of 12 in Ceres
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.2 km away
Aquila Private Game Reserve
Aquila Private Game Reserve
#1 of 5 in Touwsrivier
157 reviews
31.3 km away
Klondyke Cherry Farm
Klondyke Cherry Farm
#2 of 12 in Ceres
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverdoorn Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverdoorn Game Reserve

Address: Cape Winelands, Ceres, Witzenberg Municipality 6835, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Ceres
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Ceres
Price Range: RM1,593 - RM3,051 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Inverdoorn Game Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Inverdoorn Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverdoorn Game Reserve Hotel Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing