We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
View Deal
Travelocity
View Deal
Reviews (439)
Filter reviews
439 results
Traveller rating
227
109
50
35
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
109
50
35
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsday tripcape townsafari experiencehour driveambassador suitecheetah interactionluxury chaletan overnight stayamazing experiencetented campdirt trackonce in a lifetimewild animalsself drivecheetah runfire pitprivate safari
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 439 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

The safari was a bit tame as really an animal sanctuary. The big five are all represented and you can close so excellent for photography. Excellent food and accomodation plus fantastic interaction with the cheetahs.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Susanhilary1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

In the day drive, you get put on an open bus (pack warm clothes!) and get driven around the reserve. They have a couple of elephants and three rhinos in the big, open part. The animals have their favourite spots, so unfortunately, it feels more like you're visiting an exhibit in a zoo than seeing them in their natural habitat. Same goes for the the lions and cheetahs which are in their own separate fenced off area. At least that means you can fairly close to them without too much effort.
The food afterwards is fine but nothing to write home about. Drinks cost extra.

If you have more time (and willingness to drive), consider going to Addo Elephant National Park instead. It's much cheaper and you can drive around yourself. No fences anywhere near. Unplanned, close encounters with elephants possible (if not likely).

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank _3_2_5_G_A_3_2_5_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

We went for the kuganha tents safari. I expected trouble on the dirt road but i did not have any, thus arrived at 11:30. Because our early arrival the reception offered a lunch at 30% discount.
Excellent lunch.
We were the only guests in the Kuganha tents so we had a private Ranger, Private staff at the tents.
All the staff and our ranger were excellent.
The tents were like a dream, beautiful and decorated with detail.

Food was fresh and all excellent prepared.
All drinks were included.

We stayed in early spring and we had our warm coats with us. Because, after sunset it can be cold on the safari drives.

We were lucky and saw all different animals Inverdoorn keeps. Especially the early morning drive was rewarding.

This two day experience i will never forget.
Only wish i could stay longer.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Joep v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

We visited Inverdoorn for an overnight stay with one safari on the first afternoon and a morning safari at 7am the next day.

We loved how close we could get to the animals and the variety on the reserve. All big 5 are there. There were 5 of us passengers on each safari, which made for an intimate experience and each person was able to ask many questions to find out more about the animals. Tiffany was our guide and she was friendly, passionate and informative. She clearly loves the conservation work she's part of and it shows.

The accommodation was as expected and we were made to feel very welcome during our stay. Thanks Inverdoorn team!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kirstie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

We stayed 2 nights in Inverdoorn and we loved every minute of it. We got the Chalet room and it was cozy and warm even though we went during the end of winter. The minute we arrived, the staff took care of all our needs. For the price we paid, it was truly worth it. Each day, we had 2 safari adventures and 3 full meals with snacks in between. Some of the meals were even buffet. The food was delicious with their authentic South African dishes. Though drinks were an added expense, their wines were very reasonably priced and had a great wine selection. We also availed of their Cheetah encounter (you need to pay extra) and it was amazing seeing those cheetah up close. The safari adventures were great as we got to see pretty much all of the animals you would like to see in a safari trip. You've got the rhinos, giraffes, buffaloes, hippos, zebras, elephants, lions, ostrich and much more. The guides were very friendly, accommodating and knowledgeable on the animals. It was also nice to know that lions, elephants and cheetahs were rescued. We would definitely not mind going back to Inverdoorn Game Reserve.

Room Tip: The chalet is perfect for couples. The room needed a bit more lighting, but other than that it was perfect for us.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jinny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews