We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Thank you Allan and Debbie for opening your home...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sandcastle

Sandcastle Ruakaka
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sandcastle Ruakaka
Welcome to Sandcastle Guest Room #1 Queen Bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Sandcastle Ruakaka
Welcome to Sandcastle
Guest Room #1 Queen Bed
Guest Room #2 Double Sofa Bed and Single Bed plus Double Bed with Single Bunk (see other Picture)
Guest Room #2 Double bed with single bunk plus double sofa bed and single bed (see other photo)
Kitchenette
Courtyard
Courtyard
Sunrise Hen and Chicken Islands Ruakaka
Fun the the Surf Ruakaka Beach
Dinner at Sandcastle. For a small extra charge we can provide an evening meal.
Breakfast at Sandcastle. Include in the price.
George. Guard cat on duty
Your Hosts Allan and Debbie
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ruakaka, Northland Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brenlyn
Yeppoon, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Thank you Allan and Debbie for opening your home to us!”
Reviewed 18 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Sandcastle B&B was a lovely stop over for us "Far from the Madding Crowd" so to speak. Very peaceful and a magnificent beach to walk for ever if you fancied. Comfortable and very spacious accommodation. Great hosts in Allan and Debbie making us feel very welcome. Resident cat George also extended his welcome paw too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefullness
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2015
Brendan and Lyn were a delightful couple to host. We thoroughly enjoyed their company. Meeting wonderful people like this is the reason why we host.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mysh3l
Moe, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sensational!”
Reviewed 25 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Allan opened his home to us after booking 6 months earlier from Australia. The entire downstairs area was ours to use.
One room contained a queen size bed with the other room able to sleep 3.
Tea and coffee facilities were available as was a washing machine. Shower is separate to toilet.
Breakfast is included in the price and consists on nice, toast, fruits and yoghurts.
Great value!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2015
An ideal couple to host. Good company and interesting conversation. We hope to welcome you back some time in the future.
All the best
Allan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkiMLin...
1 review
“Amazing accommodation ! Great Hosts !”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We booked with Allan & Debbie at very short notice. As soon as we arrived we were welcomed into their Home which was fantastic. The bedrooms were fully equipped & there was a fabulous "Games Room" with so much to do. Our 4 year old Daughter loved the books & toys. Breakfast in the Morning on their Deck was top class. We will definitely stay again ! Highly recommend

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2015
This was a delightful family to host. Mark gave us a lesson on how to ride a Segway. Guests of this calibre make hosting fun.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saraw71
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
“Great company, wonderful beach, and private accommodation”
Reviewed 21 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Allan and Debs couldn't do enough to make my stay relaxing. The accommodation is well set out and has good facilities. The free wifi also came in useful. I would not hesitate to recommend Sandcastle. I will definitely stay here when I am next in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorel B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay in a great place”
Reviewed 18 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Stayed at Debbie and Allan's place a few days and thoroughly enjoyed the company and the home. Knowledgeable hosts and a nice and comfortable environment, what more can you ask for? Although we traveled on day trips, we had enough time to enjoy the hospitality(breakfast is just the beginning), the rooms, the backyard. You're on the beach before you know it and it's gorgeous, from the sand and waves to the view.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Interaction with Debbie and Allan
Liked least: Level of privacy (from neighborhood)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing