We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the drive to this hidden gem”
Review of La Guixera

La Guixera
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$29
Cuisines: Barbecue, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Guixera Restaurant is located in one of the most beautiful landscapes of Maia de Montcal and Beuda (5 min Besalu ) surrounded by meadows at the foot of Mare de Deu del Mont. It has a large outdoor terrace with views equipped with games and swings for the little mountain. Also has one ( most intimate , perfect for summer evenings ) sunroom and dining room with a capacity of 35 people . The specialty is definitely grilled vegetables, meat and fish, desserts and studied wine selection. Bet of the team: Creating a good combination of gastronomy and experiences in a relaxed atmosphere .
Reviewed 11 July 2016

This is in the middle of nowhere, and we truly stumbled on it. But, you will be surprised at the quality and service. Also, the drive to this restaurant is beautiful. We had 8 people, ordered three bottles of wine, tapas and the grilled meat platter. Total was 140 EUR which was very reasonable. You won't find a lot of people at this place, but very well worth it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dholy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isak N, Gerente at La Guixera, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2016

We enjoyed your visit. Thank you very much for the opinion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2016

We were hiking around the Garrotxa area and staying in Maia de Montcal, when by a stroke of luck we found this restaurant hidden in the countryside behind the hotel. Beautiful quiet location, perfect rural setting for the restaurant. We were attended well, we ate well and we drank well; and all at a reasonable price. The chap introduced us to an amphora-aged monastrell which was among the best bottles I have tried in Spain. Will definitely go back next time I am around the area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Davide K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isak N, Gerente at La Guixera, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2016

thank you for coming and for your good opinion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

This is in a lovely spot, just outside of the village, and it's a pretty restaurant with a homely feel and only a handful of tables. The welcome was warm and friendly, and service was impeccable - efficient, knowledgeable and discreet. We shared the meat platter for our mains, which was excellent value and a good way of tasting a bit of everything - loved the sausages and black pudding. Everything was cooked and served with care. Solid regional cooking and an interesting wine list. Certainly would love to go again!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vigonose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neumand, Gerente at La Guixera, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2016

Thanks for coming, we love the opinions of guests from other countries. ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Nice restaurant in the middle of nowhere. Very nice outdoor place to eat. Great wines !
Had a very nice evening.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isak N, Gerente at La Guixera, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2015

Thank you for your good opinion. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015

One of the best meals we had on our trip . Pretty restaurant , we sat inside because of the size of our group , but lovely terrace for 4's. Staff helpful , kids very impressed with the deserts.

Thank SwedeRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isak N, Gerente at La Guixera, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2015

We are very pleased for your great opinion. thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Guixera also viewed

Besalu, Province of Girona
Maia De Montcal, Province of Girona
 
Besalu, Province of Girona
Beuda, Province of Girona
 
Besalu, Province of Girona
 

Been to La Guixera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing