We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Damai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Damai
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

I stayed here as a family for 5 nights in July. I couldn't fault this hotel AT ALL. The food is fabulous and staff cannot do enough for you. We booked the last night in a pool villa which I wish we had booked for our entire stay. We went snorkelling in Lovinia which the hotel organised and it was great, worth doing if you've got a 13 yr old with you. I would go back to this hotel without a doubt.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sujo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    641
    73
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
124
483
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed at Damai for New Years Eve 2011.
Not only did we thoroughly enjoy the most incredible accommodation and NYE festivities (we will remember the sumptuous 7-course meal and local Balinese music & dancing forever!) but we experienced service from the staff that truly was world class.

We were cycling around Bali by ourselves, so the friendly staff Oka and Prima assisted us in booking onward transport for our luggage and giving advice on directions.

However due to bike mechanical problems and deteriorating weather conditions, we became stranded in a remote location high up the mountain above the hotel and knew that we couldn’t make it to the next destination.

We called the Damai and asked if they could assist with organising a taxi to pick us up (along with our bikes) – which Oka and Prima did – but then Oka also drove to meet us after he had finished work, while we waited for the taxi. He didn’t have to do this, but it made us feel quite safe. Oka assisted in translating, ensuring the driver knew about our predicament and exactly where we needed to go.

We made it to our next location in one piece thanks to the assistance of the staff (both on duty and off duty!).

This made our Damai experience not only wonderful, but perfect.

Standouts: welcome drink was delicious (even more so after arriving by bike) and we stayed in the Umah Master villa (sublime). NYE degustation menu is a MUST for foodies, but the standard brekky was delicious (freshly baked breads with international cheeses.....).

We'll return again.

Room Tip: Umah Maga Villa - with private pool, huge outdoor bale-lounge, vaulted ceilings, comfortable king si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brett M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Double Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

superb hotel in superb location perched on a hill overlooking north bali and the sea. cooler than being at sea level. really a boutique hotel with small number of bungalows.Very peaceful and in first class condition.INSIDER TIP: you will need transport to go anywhere as the hotel is isolated and by itself.

Room Tip: closer to the hotel facilities the shorter the walk up a hill to them will be
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lux2lessworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Delivers an amazing surrounding and excellent restaurant.
Good service! and great food.
The little town is a gem!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bogert_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

Stayed for 3 nights with my wife and daughter. Absolutely 100% loved the place! Totally friendly, relaxed and personal service from all of the staff, great food, although we could have wished for a little more variety for breakfast. All cottages situated in tranquil surroundings down the slope from a hilltop, surrounded by palms and lush vegetation, interior tastefully decorated in contemporary style. The outdoor bathroom courtyard is a real plus.
Would go back any time!

Room Tip: 14 cottages with queen size 4-poster canopy bed, additional bed for child possible. #1 is close to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovina Beach
39.1 km away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
36.5 km away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#2 of 8 in Payangan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
34.1 km away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 8 in Payangan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#6 of 23 in Lovina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
3.4 km away
The Lovina
The Lovina
#2 of 23 in Lovina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
0.3 km away
Puri Mangga Sea View Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Damai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Damai

Property: The Damai
Address: Jalan Damai | Kayuputih, 81161, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lovina Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price range (per night): RM514 - RM1,303
Hotel Class:4 star — The Damai 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Damai is a boutique resort in the green hills above Lovina. 15 Beautifully appointed villas in a lush tropical park welcome you with stunning views over the North Bali coast and the distant volcanoes of Java. The award-winning restaurant serves delicious local and international cuisine with organic ingredients from the resort's own gardens and farm. The Damai is perfect to relax from your daily hectic world, to enjoy the private luxury of a pool villa during your honeymoon, or simply to relax in your private pool after a wonderful massage and before a delicious meal over the hills of Lovina. Of course, The Damai offers you all the facilities to stay in touch with your home world. Your fellow customers believe that The Damai is the best hotel on Balis North coast - let us show you why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Damai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Hotel Lovina Beach
Damai Lovina Hotel
Hotel Damai Lovina
The Damai Lovina Beach, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing