We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Great Coombe, Bookham Court
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Great Coombe, Bookham Court
Great Coombe sitting room View of the garden and surrounding fields from the sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Great Coombe, Bookham Court
Great Coombe sitting room
View of the garden and surrounding fields from the sitting room
Dining room
Kitchen
Double bedroom with balcony
Downstairs twin bedroom with door to patio and ensuite wetroom suitable for disabled guests
Upstairs twin bedroom - nautical theme
Ensuite downstairs wetroom
Games room, situated next door to Great Coombe
Course fishing lake in field beside Great Coombe
Wildlife hide with interative cameras into bird boxes
Barn owl box on a pole, in the field behind Great Coombe cottage
Our Highland cows
Misty early morning view of the Blackmore Vale
Some of the 800 cattle at Bookham Farm
Young barn owls - we watched these owls grow and fly from our camera in the hide
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Cerne Abbas, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Joanne R
Herts, UK
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for 3 nights with the extended family for my Mum's 70th birthday and wished it had been longer.
The cottage itself is full of character and is decorated to the highest standard. The kitchen has everything you could need. We loved the big lounge area where we could all gather in front of the log burner in the evening. I quite liked that the WiFi was only in the games room next door as it stopped us having our heads in our phones all weekend. The games room was popular for the pool and table tennis.
The views are spectacular over the fields and woodland and the hide is just wonderful. The kids loved all the interesting stuff on birds and wildlife and we were lucky enough to see a woodpecker (Great Spotted I think) in the evening and following morning.
There are some lovely walks from the cottage but check the opening times of the pubs - they are very short in winter.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and comfort
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan E
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Over and above the call of self catering”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Eight of us stayed in Great Coombe at Bookham Court for a week at Whitsun. It is tucked away down a lane and we found it hard to find the first time. Country miles are deceptive. Once there we were blown away by it all. The location is stunning with views across wooded hills for miles. The barn conversion has been sympathetically done and includes all mod cons. Under floor heating and a heat exchanger kept the temperature throughout the whole place at a very comfortable level 24/7. The weather was grey and chilly in the evenings so we lit the wood burner - just for effect really - very cosy.

The beds were very comfortable and all linen of good quality. Everything was there that you could possibly need including a games room and a "nature watch hide". We saw Barn Owl chicks, a fox, two badgers and many species of birds. We walked the farm and met the cows and horses.

There are some good pubs close by (not walking distance) and plenty of places to visit, although the barn is so lovely it is hard to leave it. Nicola is always close by to sort out any problems you may have, we had none , but still enjoyed a chat.

We all had a wonderful week and didn't want to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the house, the disabled facilities, it was all great
Liked least: The lack of worktop/food preparation space in the kitchen
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$189
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing