We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and good quality accommodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hirel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chambres d'Hotes Le Petit Chatelet
Ranked #1 of 3 Hirel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Alain and Maryvonne are lovely, kind and welcoming owners and, unlike many b&b's, they actually cater for families with proper family rooms! The accommodation is clean and well presented, breakfast is huge fresh croissants/bread with delicious home made jam and there's a lovely selection of tisanes available to make yourself in the evening. Both Alain and Maryvonne are full of great recommendations for where to eat and things to do in the area, will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zippyandbungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed in Le Petit Chatelet for 3 nights end September and had a very nice stay there.
The house is situated on the edge of a little village, very quiet with almost no traffic (one street in from the coastline/coastal street). The location is very good to explore the North coast of Brittany.

We had a lovely room on the ground floor, very convenient, a good bed and shower and very clean. We were hosted by the daughter of the normal hosts and her partner, they were natural talents(used to deal with people) and gave us excellent tips and directions for things to see in the region. They also gave us good recommendations for places to eat in the nearby Cancale(10 min drive), 'the' seafood place in North Brittany.

Value for money wise is Le Petit Chatelet presently within our top three and we will certainly return, again with our special thanks to the hosts

best rgds
Maggy and Jan Nevejans
Aartselaar Belgium

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with steps ask for the lovely room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We found this little gem of a place by accident. We are so glad we saw the sign on the main road, and had a look. Alain and Maryvonne are both incredibly kind and helpful. We only spoke a little bit of French, and they went out of their way to be hospitiable and generous. They also recommended places for us to eat and to travel for our next stop. The room was really spacious and clean with a lovely nautical theme. The bed was really comfortable and the room was nice and dark at night time. The bathroom was modern and the shower had great water pressure. It's only 10-15min to Cancale, a seaside village with exceptional fresh seafood. Breakfast is included with fresh croissants, baguette, jams and nutella with coffee/tea and orange juice. There was so much we couldn't finish it all. We only wish we could have stayed longer. We highly recommend it and think it is exceptional value!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McDonalds4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We have absolutely great experience staying 3 nights at lovely "petit châtelet".
Owners, Maryvonne and Alain have offered us a two rooms apartment at the 2nd floor.
Good size bright rooms, big bathroom.
House is very close to Mont Saint-Michel, Saint-Malo, Dinan, Dinard.
Maryvonne has helped with reservations and suggestions.
We loved the region, beautiful coast and wonderful people.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apNJNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

If you have a moment to read the comments made about this B&B in December 2012 it says it all! We had been given a 'Wonderbox' as a gift and having decided to visit the St Malo area chose Le Petit Chatelet as being the most convenient. We looked at the comments already made about the accommodation and also thought it looked almost too good to be true. However, on arrival we quickly realised we had found a gem. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful and their advice enabled us to achieve quiet a few visits in a short space of time. The amount of information available and the knowledge the owners have of the area was remarkable. The accommodation itself was immaculate, extremely spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was copious with home made jams and even crepes on our second morning. The kitchen facilities would enable you to stay for a length of time without having to go out and eat every day. Tea and coffee were available whenever you wanted. The B&B rooms felt like they were apart from the owners living space which gives them privacy too. We were lucky enough to have gorgeous weather and our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. However, we know where we'll be staying when we have time to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chambres d'Hotes Le Petit Chatelet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambres d'Hotes Le Petit Chatelet

Address: 4 Lieu Dit la Quesmiere, 35120 Hirel, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Hirel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hirel
Price Range: RM 243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing