We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
163
16
0
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
16
0
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed in Le Petit Chatelet for 3 nights end September and had a very nice stay there.
The house is situated on the edge of a little village, very quiet with almost no traffic (one street in from the coastline/coastal street). The location is very good to explore the North coast of Brittany.

We had a lovely room on the ground floor, very convenient, a good bed and shower and very clean. We were hosted by the daughter of the normal hosts and her partner, they were natural talents(used to deal with people) and gave us excellent tips and directions for things to see in the region. They also gave us good recommendations for places to eat in the nearby Cancale(10 min drive), 'the' seafood place in North Brittany.

Value for money wise is Le Petit Chatelet presently within our top three and we will certainly return, again with our special thanks to the hosts

best rgds
Maggy and Jan Nevejans
Aartselaar Belgium

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with steps ask for the lovely room on the ground floor
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We found this little gem of a place by accident. We are so glad we saw the sign on the main road, and had a look. Alain and Maryvonne are both incredibly kind and helpful. We only spoke a little bit of French, and they went out of their way to be hospitiable and generous. They also recommended places for us to eat and to travel for our next stop. The room was really spacious and clean with a lovely nautical theme. The bed was really comfortable and the room was nice and dark at night time. The bathroom was modern and the shower had great water pressure. It's only 10-15min to Cancale, a seaside village with exceptional fresh seafood. Breakfast is included with fresh croissants, baguette, jams and nutella with coffee/tea and orange juice. There was so much we couldn't finish it all. We only wish we could have stayed longer. We highly recommend it and think it is exceptional value!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McDonalds4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We have absolutely great experience staying 3 nights at lovely "petit châtelet".
Owners, Maryvonne and Alain have offered us a two rooms apartment at the 2nd floor.
Good size bright rooms, big bathroom.
House is very close to Mont Saint-Michel, Saint-Malo, Dinan, Dinard.
Maryvonne has helped with reservations and suggestions.
We loved the region, beautiful coast and wonderful people.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apNJNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

If you have a moment to read the comments made about this B&B in December 2012 it says it all! We had been given a 'Wonderbox' as a gift and having decided to visit the St Malo area chose Le Petit Chatelet as being the most convenient. We looked at the comments already made about the accommodation and also thought it looked almost too good to be true. However, on arrival we quickly realised we had found a gem. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful and their advice enabled us to achieve quiet a few visits in a short space of time. The amount of information available and the knowledge the owners have of the area was remarkable. The accommodation itself was immaculate, extremely spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was copious with home made jams and even crepes on our second morning. The kitchen facilities would enable you to stay for a length of time without having to go out and eat every day. Tea and coffee were available whenever you wanted. The B&B rooms felt like they were apart from the owners living space which gives them privacy too. We were lucky enough to have gorgeous weather and our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. However, we know where we'll be staying when we have time to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

I am always suspicious when looking at raving reviews on trip advisor, because it does not look "real". After all, who can provide a perfect service all the time?
Well I don't know for the others who stayed there and did not review, but I can tell you that my 2 days stay at the Petit Chatelet were absolutely amazing.

A lot has been said below but since it's mostly in French let me elaborate.

First of all both owners are very kind, very caring for their guests and at the same time very professional (for example making sure all tables are attended during breakfast while managing time for conversation with everyone).
They do go the extra mile to make your stay extremely pleasant: in the breakfast room, they have a mini "office du tourisme" with all the maps, and tourist guides of the region, and a couple of very good recommendations for local shopping and restaurants. Very handy if you are there casually (I had no map nor lonely planet with me).

Going to the room, everything was there and more.
* spacious rooms (we had a suite with 2 bedroom + 1 bathroom), just for 2 ppl
* all felt like brand new (even though the owner say it's 4 year old)
* there's a nice bed, HD TV (albeit a bit small), WiFi, heater, space for your luggage, extra blankets, heating, a heating rack for your towels, and even (French) comic books if you're bored at night! The owner offered us some shampoo & shower gel because we forgot to bring ours, at no extra cost (and with a smile!)
* the location is extremely quiet: we had a very peaceful night.

Finally the breakfast...
One word: wow! I haven't eaten such a great croissant (or even baguette for that matter) for a long long time. (I live in London but travel back to France occasionally).

One last thing: you get all this for just 52 EUR per night for two people. So yes, you are 15 min away from St Malo or Mt Saint Michel but since you'll need a car anyway to visit those places, it's much IMO nicer to stay there than a bland hotel for twice the price in the city.

So to conclude, I must say that we (my wife & I) have been extremely pleased with everything about the Petit Chatelet and would definitely recommended it. I did not believe a place could only get 5 star reviews, but it can.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Resyek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews