We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant stay in Carpenters Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pocklington, East Riding of Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

keithandv...
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant stay in Carpenters Cottage”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Would highly recommend this cottage. If you are thinking about it go for it. Everything you need in very cosy cottage and very warm welcome from Helen and Patrick. The hand made furniture made by the owner and stained glass window in the bedroom are particular features. Also the lovely log burning stove. We would certainly return.

Vicki and keith

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambience
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
746mrsas
1 review
“Fantastic, great stay”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Arrived early and had a lovely welcome. Beautifully set out cottage with everything we needed.
Lit the log burner and enjoyed a lovely meal in.
Wold recommend the cottage for a base to say whilst investigating Yorkshire .

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: log burner
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidblad...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Loved the cottage first thing that you notice is how very clean and well cared for it is. Helen the owner came to greet us made us feel very welcome we are already looking at booking our next stay. Also Pocklington a lovely little Market Town to visit.

Date of stay: June 2015
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and convenient”
Reviewed 6 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

First time in Pocklington and certainly not the last. Carpenter's Cottage is superbly appointed and a great place to relax. It is extremely convenient for the village centre, being only a 2 minute walk away. The facilities are very good - we made full use of the secure bike store. The internet speed was quick and reliable.Plenty of hot water and the comfy underfloor heating was excellent. It's a shame it wasn't cold enough to have used the log burning stove! The valuable off-street parking included at Carpenter's Cottage should be mentioned as without this, parking elsewhere would have been a bit awkward.

Regarding Pocklington itself, then it has most things one could possibly want or need. There is a wide range of eateries and shops. The shops range from independent family owned establishments to well known firms such as Aldi, Sainsburys, Co-operative, and Costa, but the latter do not impinge on the lovely charm of the village. There are lots of little cafes and restaurants, and some great pubs serving real ales.

We chose Pocklington as a base for our visit to the inaugural Tour de Yorkshire bike race. This proved a great move as it is in easy reach of the east coast, York, Selby, and Beverley. The area is very good for bike riding. We did quite a bit of road cycling - there is the option of pan flat rides, or you can find some quite challenging hills. The back roads are very quiet and mostly well maintained. For the off-road cyclist there is the nearby Dalby Forest which we understand is very good for mountain biking.

To put it in a nutshell, if you want to wind down from the stresses of a busy life, then Carpenter's Cottage is the place to come. We will be back.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam3ll
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage, lovely hosts”
Reviewed 20 April 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a weekend break in February. A lovely, warm welcome from Helen and Patrick awaited us. The cottage is well-equipped, cosy and just the right size. We felt very comfortable being next door to the owners – we were left to our own devices, but they were on hand if we needed them and they were very friendly.

The location is great for strolling around Pocklington and only a small distance from York – allows you to visit two places in one weekend! We would have no hesitation recommending Carpenter’s Cottage and would consider staying again if we are returning to the area. The only issue is that you will come away wanting a stained glass window. Thank you :)

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cosiness, stained-glass windown
Liked least: Sofa was a little uncomfortable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.