We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of George Inn

George Inn
Price range: US$6 - US$29
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A welcoming and friendly local pub in a picturesque corner of the Forest of Dean. Visit us for hearty dinners, lunches and snacks and an excellent selection of beers, ciders and wines. We are located just off the A46, next to the Castle in St Briavels, a popular spot for walkers, and just off the Offas Dike and Wye Valley trails. A beautiful refuge for locals and tourists alike, and all visitors are made welcome by the friendly staff and cosy atmosphere.We look forward to seeing you soon!
Reviewed 1 June 2021 via mobile

Excellent food. Seafood was a treat. We are so lucky to have this experience in the Forest of Dean. Service outstanding. Will definitely return.

Date of visit: June 2021
2  Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2021 via mobile

Not been here before but know the people who run it, can't beat the food we had the lamb and veg excellent service by pleasant staff will definitely be back for more.
Thanks Pat Tim and Ian.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2020 via mobile

After a walk to the Devil’s Pulpit my partner and I chanced upon the George Inn. We were very impressed by the standard of the food and friendliness of the staff. I highly recommend the Gourmet Baguettes. I had the bacon, Brie and mango which was stuffed with bacon and huge piece of cheese. My partner had the ham and cheese which was equally impressive. A great find, we will be back.

Date of visit: September 2020
1  Thank Stanbury1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2020 via mobile

Having arrived at forest of dean earlier in the day we hadnt pre booked our evening meal and as it was a wednesday most were full doing the eat out promotion. On phoning round we managed to get a table here and glad we did . The menu was varied . The wife chose the hunters chicken, and I had the chicken with apricot in a cheese sauce ( rarely seen on the menu here tho popular in turkey). Both were fabulous so congratulations to the chef . So why 3 stars ? Well the place looks tired and run down and could really do with some serious money spent on it . But dont let that put you off going for the excellent food

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank U9165WCdavidp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2020 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch which we had pre-ordered. The food was really good, the staff friendly and the place clean. Would visit again if in the area.

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank davidhH1662AT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed George Inn also viewed

Lydney, Forest of Dean
 
Saint Briavels, Lydney
Tintern, Monmouthshire
 

Been to George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.