We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for business or pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mill at Conder Green
Ranked #1 of 2 Conder Green B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2017

I stayed here for a few nights each time over three months. Welcoming and friendly staff. Fabulous location right on th canal, so could enjoy walks on the doorstep. Very good breakfast, cooked to order. Dinner was consistently well made and delicious. My room on the top floor was comfortable and sparkling clean. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank ScottishStuart18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2017

Great location close to a part of the Lancashire coast good for birdwatching, also within easy reach of Cumbria. Good food, better than at more expensive places, and a fine view in the restaurant and from some of the rooms of Glasson Branch of the Lancaster Canal, and the fields on the hill behind. The staff were friendly.

It's an interesting site for a hotel, a converted former mill. The rooms were clean and spacious, nice touches like biscuits with the coffee. The one downer was that in one of our rooms the double glazing in the window had become hazy, as mentioned in other reviews.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbthomas172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly C, Manager at The Mill at Conder Green, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Mill.
The location is so tranquil and picturesque that we do not take it for granted.
We are aware of the window problem, as it is an old Mill the windows are all odd sizes and new ones have been ordered but do take a while to be made, on your next visit they will be in situ promise!

Kind Regards
Liz S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Stayed for one night two couples.We were attending a family wedding locally. Rooms were pleasant enough and the hotel overlooks the canal.We returned late after the wedding and fortunately I was driving and thus not drinking.
Arrived in the car park which was in complete darkness and bordering on dangerous really.instructions given on how to get into the building were sketchy and not easy in the dark.Access lighting really does need addressing.
Our room had a fogged up velux window which should be addressed .Also in the room there was a leather sofa that was badly marked in the headrest area and simply needed a good clean.
Our daughter and her husband had a room where the window was sited alongside the noisy extractor fan to the kitchen - which was not obvious until very early the following morning when the kitchen staff started up - so the lie in was ruined ! I pointed out all of the above to the management when we got home but the response was lukewarm in my view but we were offered a discount if we visited again. Breakfast was ok . With more attention to detail it could be good. Staff were very pleasant.

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank welshtraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Lovely quiet position. Good size car park and steps up to main reception. No welcoming smile which doesn't cost a thing, but hey ho, we all have bad days. Dinner was busy but good food and waiting staff all friendly and interactive.House wine quality we would say was average. Room was clean and tidy, no problems (a standard en-suite double). Nice and quiet nights sleep. Breakfast, as mentioned by another review, was covered by just the one member of staff, who did seem a bit run of their feet but a lovely aspect looking over the canal at the back. If there was a second member of staff, they could greet the customers. We had not breakfasted there before and it would have been helpful if someone could just explain the breakfast process, eg self service or wait to be seated first, hot/cold etc, there was no one there to help us at all for a good while, so we just sat down and then helped ourselves! Cooked and continental all fine. All in all, good value for money.

Room Tip: Best views from some bedrooms are the ones over the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank catliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

I stayed here for one night in September 2017 on business. The hotel is in a very pleasant location on a canal, and my room was spacious and nicely decorated. The canal path was great for a walk before dinner. The restaurant overlooks the canal, and the food was decent if unexciting pub style fare.

The hotel seemed a bit understaffed and the service was a little gruff at times. Breakfast was particularly slow as there was only one member of staff serving. I had to wait quite a while to find a member of reception staff to call me a taxi.

Guests should also be aware that the hotel is "dog friendly" and there was a dog bathing loudly in the bar during dinner. I'm guessing this is why my room wasn't carpeted. I also heard a dog barking a few times in a neighbouring room which I didn't appreciate.

My room should have had a pleasant view of the canal and surrounding fields, but the glass was so grubby I could barely see through it, which was a real shame.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ness2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly C, Manager at The Mill at Conder Green, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Hi,
Thank you for reviewing the Mill. Some really nice walks along the Canal, you can walk all the way to Lancaster along the River Lune.
If Reception is not manned then there is a notice for all guests to just pop in to the bar and a member of staff will always be able to help you. Taxi's can be rung from Bedrooms at no charge (Welcome pack on dressing table has lots of Hotel info in).
We are a dog friendly Hotel, it is stated on all the Websites and booking agencies that we use. I do apologise for the noise from other guest rooms.

Kind Regards
Liz S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conder Green
0.9 km away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
682 reviews
2.8 km away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 6 in Lancaster
1,391 reviews
6.1 km away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 6 in Lancaster
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 km away
Shard Riverside Hotel
Shard Riverside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Poulton Le Fylde
573 reviews
9.3 km away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 6 in Lancaster
1,094 reviews
6.6 km away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#3 of 13 in Lancaster
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill at Conder Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill at Conder Green

Address: Thurnham Mill Lane, Conder Green LA2 0BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Conder Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Conder Green
Price Range: RM313 - RM527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mill at Conder Green 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill at Conder Green is a charming canal-side, Hotel, Bar and Restaurant located just 4 miles from the historic city of Lancaster and 3 miles from the M6 motorway. We offer clean, comfortable en-suite accommodation with breath-taking canal views overlooking miles of open countryside. Discover a relaxing atmosphere and a dedicated team here to ensure your stay is a pleasant one! Our prime location by the picturesque Lancaster canal is close to the charming fishing village of Glasson Dock and spectacular scenery of the Forest of Bowland. The Mill at Conder Green is ideally situated for walking, cycling, wildlife watching and activity breaks. Our country setting is perfect for a relaxing and peaceful get-away from modern life. We are well positioned for anyone traveling to Lancaster, Preston, Blackpool and the surrounding areas including the Lake District. We are also a popular stay-over for travelers from Scotland wishing to break up their journey. With complimentary WiFi throughout and just 4 miles from Lancaster university, Lancaster hospital and the city centre itself we are perfect for a business trip with a difference. Just a short drive after a long day at work and you will find yourself enjoying your evening by the canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Mill at Conder Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing