We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (654)
Filter reviews
654 results
Traveller rating
402
162
53
23
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
402
162
53
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsglasson docklancaster canaloverlooking the canalsignature roomsmoked haddocklocal produceevening mealtop floormain coursepuddingsunday lunchreal alebar arealovely hotelbeer gardenfood was lovelyone night stay
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 654 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2017

Great location close to a part of the Lancashire coast good for birdwatching, also within easy reach of Cumbria. Good food, better than at more expensive places, and a fine view in the restaurant and from some of the rooms of Glasson Branch of the Lancaster Canal, and the fields on the hill behind. The staff were friendly.

It's an interesting site for a hotel, a converted former mill. The rooms were clean and spacious, nice touches like biscuits with the coffee. The one downer was that in one of our rooms the double glazing in the window had become hazy, as mentioned in other reviews.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbthomas172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly C, Manager at The Mill at Conder Green, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Mill.
The location is so tranquil and picturesque that we do not take it for granted.
We are aware of the window problem, as it is an old Mill the windows are all odd sizes and new ones have been ordered but do take a while to be made, on your next visit they will be in situ promise!

Kind Regards
Liz S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Stayed for one night two couples.We were attending a family wedding locally. Rooms were pleasant enough and the hotel overlooks the canal.We returned late after the wedding and fortunately I was driving and thus not drinking.
Arrived in the car park which was in complete darkness and bordering on dangerous really.instructions given on how to get into the building were sketchy and not easy in the dark.Access lighting really does need addressing.
Our room had a fogged up velux window which should be addressed .Also in the room there was a leather sofa that was badly marked in the headrest area and simply needed a good clean.
Our daughter and her husband had a room where the window was sited alongside the noisy extractor fan to the kitchen - which was not obvious until very early the following morning when the kitchen staff started up - so the lie in was ruined ! I pointed out all of the above to the management when we got home but the response was lukewarm in my view but we were offered a discount if we visited again. Breakfast was ok . With more attention to detail it could be good. Staff were very pleasant.

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank welshtraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Lovely quiet position. Good size car park and steps up to main reception. No welcoming smile which doesn't cost a thing, but hey ho, we all have bad days. Dinner was busy but good food and waiting staff all friendly and interactive.House wine quality we would say was average. Room was clean and tidy, no problems (a standard en-suite double). Nice and quiet nights sleep. Breakfast, as mentioned by another review, was covered by just the one member of staff, who did seem a bit run of their feet but a lovely aspect looking over the canal at the back. If there was a second member of staff, they could greet the customers. We had not breakfasted there before and it would have been helpful if someone could just explain the breakfast process, eg self service or wait to be seated first, hot/cold etc, there was no one there to help us at all for a good while, so we just sat down and then helped ourselves! Cooked and continental all fine. All in all, good value for money.

Room Tip: Best views from some bedrooms are the ones over the canal.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank catliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

I stayed here for one night in September 2017 on business. The hotel is in a very pleasant location on a canal, and my room was spacious and nicely decorated. The canal path was great for a walk before dinner. The restaurant overlooks the canal, and the food was decent if unexciting pub style fare.

The hotel seemed a bit understaffed and the service was a little gruff at times. Breakfast was particularly slow as there was only one member of staff serving. I had to wait quite a while to find a member of reception staff to call me a taxi.

Guests should also be aware that the hotel is "dog friendly" and there was a dog bathing loudly in the bar during dinner. I'm guessing this is why my room wasn't carpeted. I also heard a dog barking a few times in a neighbouring room which I didn't appreciate.

My room should have had a pleasant view of the canal and surrounding fields, but the glass was so grubby I could barely see through it, which was a real shame.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ness2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly C, Manager at The Mill at Conder Green, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Hi,
Thank you for reviewing the Mill. Some really nice walks along the Canal, you can walk all the way to Lancaster along the River Lune.
If Reception is not manned then there is a notice for all guests to just pop in to the bar and a member of staff will always be able to help you. Taxi's can be rung from Bedrooms at no charge (Welcome pack on dressing table has lots of Hotel info in).
We are a dog friendly Hotel, it is stated on all the Websites and booking agencies that we use. I do apologise for the noise from other guest rooms.

Kind Regards
Liz S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Just spent a night here,wonderful setting right by the canal.our room was lovely overlooking the lock.Friendly ,attentive staff,our evening meal was gorgeous and breakfast yummy.
Will definately return again,to explore the area .FABULOUS.

Room Tip: 2nd floor room has great views
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahay28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews