We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, 3rd visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mill at Conder Green
Ranked #1 of 2 Conder Green B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was the third time my partner and I have stayed at The Mill. The rooms are nice and the setting is stunning. The breakfast is usually excellent (albeit not this time) and generally the staff are lovely.

Look forward to returning next summer.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckygrattan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly C, Front Office Manager at The Mill at Conder Green, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi,
Thank you for your review of the Mill, nice to welcome you back for the third time.
Look forward to seeing you both in the Summer (if not before)

Liz S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2017

We came here for our first Wedding Anniversary on Bonfire Night on the way back down south from a family reunion (the location was picked due to the fireworks display in Lancaster). At first sight the hotel looked lovely and was in a nice setting by the Canal.

When we got to our room, the first two things we noticed were 1) It was very small and 2) There was a very loud noise coming from outside! When we looked out, we found the source - the kitchen extract which ended in front of our window (avoid room 4 - especially if booking through an external company)! We went straight down to ask about the fan - when told it was on from 7.30am till 10pm I asked to move rooms. I was told that a) Breakfast was at 8am so I would need to wake up anyway (romantic) and b) there were no rooms available as everyone else had pre-paid whereas we had booked elsewhere. No other options were offered, which we decided to just accept. The room also got very hot overnight, but was clean, had coffees etc available and WIFI/TV worked fine.

When checking in we decided to book a table for dinner - we were told they were busy at half 7 but that 8pm would be fine. So we went to the bar at 8pm and were told it was a little delayed so to sit in the bar with our drinks. At 8.30pm we were given menus and told again that it was still busy. At 8.45pm our food orders were taken whilst still sat in the bar, and at 9pm we were taken to our table. Unfortunately this table was in a function room where a family party was taking place - we were the only other diners in here and couldn't hear ourselves speak! So my husband looked and saw 4 empty tables in the main restaurant, asked if we could move and was told they were taken so we could only sit back in the bar. When we moved I asked again if, after an hour wait, we really couldn't sit in the restaurant - 'I suppose its OK'.

After this the night improved - the food was all delicious and came out quickly and piping hot. We were slightly rushed through the courses, but by this time we didn't mind as we were starving! However, the tables that were 'taken' earlier began to be set up for breakfast around us and when we paid there was no question about how dinner had been and no apology for the mix up.

Breakfast was a much better experience, sat by the canal in the sun with quick service and great options. The cooked breakfast was tasty and the selection for continental was decent.

On checkout, we had to wait for 10 minutes for someone to appear at reception until another guest waiting went to the bar to chase. We again were not asked about our stay and with 3 people in the queue to check in we decided just to leave it.

Room Tip: Do not let them put you in room 4, pre-paid or not!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Martha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly C, General Manager at The Mill at Conder Green, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Hi,
Thank you for your review.
The Hotel and Restaurant was full on Saturday. All food is cooked fresh and there can be a little of a wait at peak times.
Kind Regards
Liz S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Extremely disappointed. Booked to stay Saturday 4th for a 1 night treat away. Hoping to indulge in the relaxation and beautiful surroundings that the website offered. Arrived early & not able to check in until 1.30 -not a big problem, we took a walk & returned later. Booked in and sent to room 2, this is where is all went wrong. ROOM 2 is very dark, I asked my husband to open the blind. He replied, there is no blind it is so dark because there is a black wall about 3 foot away from the window with a small triangle in 1 corner letting in the smallest amount of light.
We sat for a few minutes and then I asked him to go and see if we could change rooms. Unfortunately we couldn't as they were fully booked. Sat for a few more minutes & I decided, NO this is not acceptable for £85. So we requested a refund and left to find alternative accommodation elsewhere.
Please management team look at your website. It is not fair that your guests are arriving only to be so badly disappointed by this room. I know as a business you do not want to point out negative points, but as a consumer I feel it is unfair and un acceptable that this room is sold with no footnote to explain EXACTLY what you are getting.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a black painted wall 3 foot from the window making the room dark and no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly C, Owner at The Mill at Conder Green, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Hi,
Thank-you for your review. All your points have been raised and will be acted on.

Kind Regards
Liz S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

I stayed here for a few nights each time over three months. Welcoming and friendly staff. Fabulous location right on th canal, so could enjoy walks on the doorstep. Very good breakfast, cooked to order. Dinner was consistently well made and delicious. My room on the top floor was comfortable and sparkling clean. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank ScottishStuart18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

Great location close to a part of the Lancashire coast good for birdwatching, also within easy reach of Cumbria. Good food, better than at more expensive places, and a fine view in the restaurant and from some of the rooms of Glasson Branch of the Lancaster Canal, and the fields on the hill behind. The staff were friendly.

It's an interesting site for a hotel, a converted former mill. The rooms were clean and spacious, nice touches like biscuits with the coffee. The one downer was that in one of our rooms the double glazing in the window had become hazy, as mentioned in other reviews.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbthomas172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly C, Manager at The Mill at Conder Green, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Mill.
The location is so tranquil and picturesque that we do not take it for granted.
We are aware of the window problem, as it is an old Mill the windows are all odd sizes and new ones have been ordered but do take a while to be made, on your next visit they will be in situ promise!

Kind Regards
Liz S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conder Green
0.9 km away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
682 reviews
2.8 km away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 6 in Lancaster
1,393 reviews
6.1 km away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 6 in Lancaster
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 km away
Shard Riverside Hotel
Shard Riverside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Poulton Le Fylde
573 reviews
9.3 km away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 6 in Lancaster
1,096 reviews
6.3 km away
The Royal Hotel and Bar
The Royal Hotel and Bar
#2 of 13 in Lancaster
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill at Conder Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill at Conder Green

Address: Thurnham Mill Lane, Conder Green LA2 0BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Conder Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Conder Green
Price Range: RM318 - RM521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mill at Conder Green 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill at Conder Green is a charming canal-side, Hotel, Bar and Restaurant located just 4 miles from the historic city of Lancaster and 3 miles from the M6 motorway. We offer clean, comfortable en-suite accommodation with breath-taking canal views overlooking miles of open countryside. Discover a relaxing atmosphere and a dedicated team here to ensure your stay is a pleasant one! Our prime location by the picturesque Lancaster canal is close to the charming fishing village of Glasson Dock and spectacular scenery of the Forest of Bowland. The Mill at Conder Green is ideally situated for walking, cycling, wildlife watching and activity breaks. Our country setting is perfect for a relaxing and peaceful get-away from modern life. We are well positioned for anyone traveling to Lancaster, Preston, Blackpool and the surrounding areas including the Lake District. We are also a popular stay-over for travelers from Scotland wishing to break up their journey. With complimentary WiFi throughout and just 4 miles from Lancaster university, Lancaster hospital and the city centre itself we are perfect for a business trip with a difference. Just a short drive after a long day at work and you will find yourself enjoying your evening by the canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Mill at Conder Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing