We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (649)
Filter reviews
649 results
Traveller rating
399
161
53
23
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
399
161
53
23
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsglasson docklancaster canaloverlooking the canalsignature roomsmoked haddocklancashire hotpotlocal produceevening mealmain coursetop floorpuddingsunday lunchreal alebar arealovely hotelbeer gardenfood was lovely
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 649 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2017

We came here for our first Wedding Anniversary on Bonfire Night on the way back down south from a family reunion (the location was picked due to the fireworks display in Lancaster). At first sight the hotel looked lovely and was in a nice setting by the Canal.

When we got to our room, the first two things we noticed were 1) It was very small and 2) There was a very loud noise coming from outside! When we looked out, we found the source - the kitchen extract which ended in front of our window (avoid room 4 - especially if booking through an external company)! We went straight down to ask about the fan - when told it was on from 7.30am till 10pm I asked to move rooms. I was told that a) Breakfast was at 8am so I would need to wake up anyway (romantic) and b) there were no rooms available as everyone else had pre-paid whereas we had booked elsewhere. No other options were offered, which we decided to just accept. The room also got very hot overnight, but was clean, had coffees etc available and WIFI/TV worked fine.

When checking in we decided to book a table for dinner - we were told they were busy at half 7 but that 8pm would be fine. So we went to the bar at 8pm and were told it was a little delayed so to sit in the bar with our drinks. At 8.30pm we were given menus and told again that it was still busy. At 8.45pm our food orders were taken whilst still sat in the bar, and at 9pm we were taken to our table. Unfortunately this table was in a function room where a family party was taking place - we were the only other diners in here and couldn't hear ourselves speak! So my husband looked and saw 4 empty tables in the main restaurant, asked if we could move and was told they were taken so we could only sit back in the bar. When we moved I asked again if, after an hour wait, we really couldn't sit in the restaurant - 'I suppose its OK'.

After this the night improved - the food was all delicious and came out quickly and piping hot. We were slightly rushed through the courses, but by this time we didn't mind as we were starving! However, the tables that were 'taken' earlier began to be set up for breakfast around us and when we paid there was no question about how dinner had been and no apology for the mix up.

Breakfast was a much better experience, sat by the canal in the sun with quick service and great options. The cooked breakfast was tasty and the selection for continental was decent.

On checkout, we had to wait for 10 minutes for someone to appear at reception until another guest waiting went to the bar to chase. We again were not asked about our stay and with 3 people in the queue to check in we decided just to leave it.

Room Tip: Do not let them put you in room 4, pre-paid or not!
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Martha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly C, General Manager at The Mill at Conder Green, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Hi,
Thank you for your review.
The Hotel and Restaurant was full on Saturday. All food is cooked fresh and there can be a little of a wait at peak times.
Kind Regards
Liz S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Extremely disappointed. Booked to stay Saturday 4th for a 1 night treat away. Hoping to indulge in the relaxation and beautiful surroundings that the website offered. Arrived early & not able to check in until 1.30 -not a big problem, we took a walk & returned later. Booked in and sent to room 2, this is where is all went wrong. ROOM 2 is very dark, I asked my husband to open the blind. He replied, there is no blind it is so dark because there is a black wall about 3 foot away from the window with a small triangle in 1 corner letting in the smallest amount of light.
We sat for a few minutes and then I asked him to go and see if we could change rooms. Unfortunately we couldn't as they were fully booked. Sat for a few more minutes & I decided, NO this is not acceptable for £85. So we requested a refund and left to find alternative accommodation elsewhere.
Please management team look at your website. It is not fair that your guests are arriving only to be so badly disappointed by this room. I know as a business you do not want to point out negative points, but as a consumer I feel it is unfair and un acceptable that this room is sold with no footnote to explain EXACTLY what you are getting.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a black painted wall 3 foot from the window making the room dark and no view
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly C, Owner at The Mill at Conder Green, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Hi,
Thank-you for your review. All your points have been raised and will be acted on.

Kind Regards
Liz S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

I stayed here for a few nights each time over three months. Welcoming and friendly staff. Fabulous location right on th canal, so could enjoy walks on the doorstep. Very good breakfast, cooked to order. Dinner was consistently well made and delicious. My room on the top floor was comfortable and sparkling clean. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank ScottishStuart18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

Great location close to a part of the Lancashire coast good for birdwatching, also within easy reach of Cumbria. Good food, better than at more expensive places, and a fine view in the restaurant and from some of the rooms of Glasson Branch of the Lancaster Canal, and the fields on the hill behind. The staff were friendly.

It's an interesting site for a hotel, a converted former mill. The rooms were clean and spacious, nice touches like biscuits with the coffee. The one downer was that in one of our rooms the double glazing in the window had become hazy, as mentioned in other reviews.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbthomas172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly C, Manager at The Mill at Conder Green, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Mill.
The location is so tranquil and picturesque that we do not take it for granted.
We are aware of the window problem, as it is an old Mill the windows are all odd sizes and new ones have been ordered but do take a while to be made, on your next visit they will be in situ promise!

Kind Regards
Liz S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Stayed for one night two couples.We were attending a family wedding locally. Rooms were pleasant enough and the hotel overlooks the canal.We returned late after the wedding and fortunately I was driving and thus not drinking.
Arrived in the car park which was in complete darkness and bordering on dangerous really.instructions given on how to get into the building were sketchy and not easy in the dark.Access lighting really does need addressing.
Our room had a fogged up velux window which should be addressed .Also in the room there was a leather sofa that was badly marked in the headrest area and simply needed a good clean.
Our daughter and her husband had a room where the window was sited alongside the noisy extractor fan to the kitchen - which was not obvious until very early the following morning when the kitchen staff started up - so the lie in was ruined ! I pointed out all of the above to the management when we got home but the response was lukewarm in my view but we were offered a discount if we visited again. Breakfast was ok . With more attention to detail it could be good. Staff were very pleasant.

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank welshtraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews