We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect secluded getaway just minutes from...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Slade Barn Gower

Front parking
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front parking
Front lawn and decked area Level lawn and decking enclosed by stock proof fencing.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
79 reviews
Front parking
Front lawn and decked area
Level lawn and decking enclosed by stock proof fencing.
Master bedroom
Master bedroom showing en suite
Seating area viewed from kitchen
Seating area towards kitchen
Three cliffs bay 10 minutes drive from cottage
Slade sands 5 minutes walk from cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Oxwich, Swansea County, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 79 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anne H
Braughing, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect secluded getaway just minutes from the sea!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed at the barn for 3 nights as part of our 'mini moon' following our marriage at Oxwich Bay Hotel. Martin couldn't have been more accommodating, essentials on arrival (bread, milk and even homemade jam) and he even dropped the barn key to our wedding planner the day of the wedding so we didn't need to pick it up ourselves on our special day!
The barn is very spacious and was easily able to accommodate a few friends and family who joined us for a BBQ the day after the wedding!
I can see why so many people come back time after time, we will now be one of those!
Thanks Martin for making our first few days as a married couple a truly special one! We will be back...
Anne & Jenks (aka Mr & Mrs Jenkins)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizzyb54
Barry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“top notch excellent accomodation”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

stayed here Monday to Wednesday prior to our wedding at the Oxwich bay -- friends joined us on the Wednesday evening and Martin accommodated my son and his family and friends on the Thursday evening as the accommodation was suitable to their needs i.e. two couples and 3 kids!! as opposed to staying in hotel rooms -- i cannot say enough about this most fantastic place. not only is it in the most beautiful of settings but everything about it is top notch, from the fittings and fixtures to the facilities. Nothing has been missed, i almost don't want to say to much as it is a hidden gem. martin and his partner have clearly paid great attention to getting this place just right
everything is finished to the highest standard, from the en-suites to the fully equipped kitchen and a full entertainment system, not that you would need the latter so much when surrounded by the beautiful Gower, but having said all that one of the most important things to me was Martins hospitality and helpfulness-- it was clear nothing was to much trouble and he was always on call if needed -- plus the lovely complementary bottle of fizz in the fridge -- thank-you so much both for a fabulous pre wedding stay -- cant wait to come back to celebrate future anniversaries Liz & Kev Gardner -- Barry South Wales

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2014
Thanks Liz ,It was a pleasure to meet you all especially on your happy occasion ! glad we helped to make it special . love to welcome you back on your anniversary or any time ! Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_1977...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect quiet week away”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Barn is excellent, Gower is lovely, good time had by parents, baby & dog! Great location for local beaches.

Martin is lovely as well!

Would recommend to all.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PJMSomers...
Somerset
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Truly outstanding”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

If the mark of a good holiday is that you don't want to go home, this is it. If the mark of a good holiday home is that it caters for your every need, this is it. Slade Barn was the most wonderful of holiday homes, and Martin the most considerate of hosts.
It wasn't just the complementary bottle of wine, Welsh cakes, homemade jam, milk, tea and coffee, it was the thoughtfulness behind ensuring that every comfort was provided. This ranged from the stock of domestic cleaning materials, toiletries and Ordnance Survey maps and shelves of books to a "guests' guide", showing recommended walks, emergency numbers, reviews of local pubs and retsaurants and a history of the barn's conversion. Truly outstanding accommodation and service.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: See review
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$134
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing