We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house in a great location.”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Maytime Cottage

Maytime Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Maytime Cottage
Maytime Cottage - Garden room Maytime Cottage - The Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Maytime Cottage
Maytime Cottage - Garden room
Maytime Cottage - The Garden
Maytime Cottage - Kitchen and Dining Room
Maytime Cottage - Living room
Maytime Cottage - bedroom 1
Maytime Cottage - bedroom 2
Maytime Cottage - Bedroom 3
Maytime Cottage - View from the garden
Maytime Cottage - The terrace and garden
View along the lane from Maytime Cottage
Early morning mist - view from Maytime Cottage
Distant view of Maytime Cottage
Evening view from Maytime Cottage towards Godshill
Evening view from Maytime Cottage
Maytime Cottage - nearby Woody Bay
Maytime Cottage - a nearby beach
Maytime Cottage - nearby St Catherines Down - 'The pepper pot'
Maytime Cottage - Nearby St Catherine's lighthouse
Maytime Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Whitwell, Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stephen P
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely house in a great location.”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Maytime Cottage was the perfect base for our Isle Of Wight holiday. We know the island quite well and knew that Ventnor would be a great place from which to explore the island and were originally looking for a place in the town. However, when we saw Maytime Cottage online we knew it was the place for us. Happily, the pictures were a true reflection of the quality and charm of the cottage and the location – around only 4 miles from the centre of Ventnor – worked out really well for us.

Set amongst rolling hills and twisting country roads, Maytime Cottage is in a beautiful location and what you lose from not being in a town location you more than gain in bucolic views and a peaceful environment. Another advantage is that it’s so convenient to explore the island; 10 minutes from Ventnor and Godshill, 20 from Newport and Shanklin and 40 from The Needles.

The house has pretty much everything and was comfortable and spacious for a family of four. When you rent a holiday home it’s often the little things that can make the difference and Maytime Cottage covers all the bases including excellent Wi-Fi – something that can’t be said of many places we have stayed and an absolute essential with two children in our party.

Around the island there is so much to do. If you have younger children I would recommend Black Gang Chine amusement park. Ventnor is a charming Victorian town with a decent selection of shops (Morrison’s in Newport is the closest large supermarket), places to eat and small beach. Ventnor is also home to the Botanic Garden which is well worth a visit. Shanklin and Sandown offer larger beaches and more facilities you would expect from a British seaside resort (golfers should check out Brown’s pitch and putt and budding palaeontologists will enjoy Dinosaur Isle – both in Sandown). The Needles was probably the highlight of our trip; a precipitous ski-lift down to the beach followed by a speed-boat trip around the Needles was great fun and there is plenty to do in the main park area, including cliff walks with stunning views.

I’ll finish with a tip: before you go to the island make sure you download the paybyphone app on your smart-phone and register your credit card and car’s details. Unless you plan to carry a lot of coins with you using this app is by far the easiest way to pay for parking on the island. You can pay by the hour or day but note that you use a different location code for hourly or daily parking (location codes are displayed on the parking machines).

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally H
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfectly Relaxing Getaway”
Reviewed 2 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

My family and I spent two weeks relaxing here, the cottage is in a tranquil location with wonderful views across the fields. It was very easy to get about by car from the cottage. There are plenty of walks starting from the house too, including to the local pub in Whitwell (we did this a couple of times) and Godshill for those wishing to walk a little further.

The rooms are spacious with lovely views. The garden room was a hit with us all for a bright and airy room to relax in. We do not have a dog and whilst the property does accommodate dogs (and their owners!) we would not have known.

The neighbours selling fresh produce were wonderfully friendly, their jams were great.

Perfect location for accessing beaches and attractions across the island, I would recommend the cottage to anyone wishing for a relaxing break in a home from home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarkoBies...
Stockbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb cottage and location ”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We have just come to the end of our first stay in Maytime Cottage
The cottage is simply superb and the location is perfect for a relaxing holiday
The owner is extremely helpful and the neighbours were really friendly
We would highly recommend a holiday in this fabulous cottage

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage with lovely views”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This is a lovely cottage with plenty of space. I particularly loved the garden room. On arrival the cottage was clean and a bottle of wine left for us. There was no other supplies welcome pack like I've had at other cottages though. My parents stayed in the double room which was comfortable. I started off in the single room but there was an annoying noise from the boiler so moved to the bunk bed room. The single bed in there was uncomfortable so I ended up on the bottom bunk bed which was ok but not ideal for an adult. This would be my only negative about this cottage. I worried about the cream carpets a lot as I had my black dog with me, so ended up hoovering a lot and making sure we left no marks. Lovely area very peaceful and relaxing. Lots of fields to walk my dog. You're very close to the beaches and shops, nowhere is far? All in all a lovely time was had, I didn't want to come home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden room
Liked least: The beds
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaltyShor...
West Mersea
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Maytime revisit”
Reviewed 5 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Just back from another great weeks holiday at lovely Maytime cottage. If you are looking for a comfortable, well equipped cottage with the benefit of an enclosed garden and very welcoming of dogs, then look no further.

The cottage is very spacious and has a lovely sun room perfect for those afternoons you don't want to be out and about. There is also a cosy separate sitting room with log burner and a spacious kitchen diner to cater for all needs.

Located with great walks starting on the doorstep, beaches a short drive away and a couple of very good pubs serving food from fresh local producers you have all you need for a great stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$150
/
Night
Week
Month
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing