We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent value for money”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Holly Cottage Barn

Holly Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Holly Barn
View from Rear window Dinning area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
36 reviews
Holly Barn
View from Rear window
Dinning area
Kitchen
bathroom
Holly Barn
Stelling Minnis Windmill
Stelling Minnis
Stelling Minnis
view from Holly Barn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stelling Minnis, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
stedman20...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

With computer problems before leaving home l had no directions to the property but as it was daylight we managed a sign at the end of Mill Lane would have been good.

The village it's situation,access to many area's ( Stack permitting) all good shop excellent and local pub. A small folder with local pubs,tearooms along with a doctor,dentist,hospital number might have been useful gladly we didn't need the three latter numbers.
Kitchen was fine but did need a ovenglove and a handful of pegs maybe a casserole dish.All utensils were in good condition. Opposite thread hot tap was a challenge and a mirror over the sink for my wet shaving hubbie would have been helpful. Another mirror long length would have been useful.

Lovely having a bath and good hot water supply. The musical mattress was semi cured by turning the whole mattress round . Agree with the comment that the bed would be better on another wall to save head bangs.
Advice to bring a good torch for the walk back from the pub would have been good.
Overall good value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Area it was in, car parking area a bonas.
Liked least: Springy mattress.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmlcoy
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great potential...”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

my husband and i stayed at the barn recently and was mostly pleased with the property ("it does what it says on the tin") i have, however, recommendations that would make the accommodation even better. (i've seen too many "four in a bed" type shows! :) )

-definitely a new (or at least better quality) mattress! it's very soft/loud/springy! and i agree with another reviewer here- the bed and wardrobe should be switched around.
-a clock radio
-a full length mirror
-a fourth chair for the dining table
-better fitted lamp shades
-a tighter fitted toilet seat
-a shower curtain (water goes everywhere because of the awkward positioning)
-shades on the living room ceiling lamps (awful bright at night!)
-a new tv remote control (we struggled with it the first couple days)
-an oven mitt or two (or at least more than one tea towel)
-a dish pan
-and perhaps a couple extra blankets.

i also suggest putting in an oscillating fan for those hot summer days (as rare as they may be). but we make sure to bring our own because this generally isn't provided.

these things wouldn't break the bank and would make the stay so much nicer.

i was surprised to find when we arrived a completely wet blanket laid out on the sofa bed. surely there was time to dry it before we arrived?

there was quite a bit of dust and dust balls. it's a simple place with easy to clean surfaces, no reason for there to be dust as thick as it was.

this next mention did not bother us in particular, but it might others, there were *many* moths inside. i think they're cute but others might be put off by that.

***my biggest and most important "gripe" is that the pictures on this site make it look like the view you have from the living room would be the same the same from the back patio. it is not. there is a big wooden fence completely blocking off the view of the field. so if you want to enjoy that, you have to do it from inside. false advertising? that's a big no-no.***

now with all that out of the way, the hosts were very friendly upon arriving and departure. the wifi was strong and handy! the village is nice with a great little store and pub. the windmill tour was good and the cream tea was great! if you don't want to drive there's the 18 bus that goes to canterbury or hythe often enough but cuts off at around 18:30...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: the wood floors
Liked least: no view of field from back patio
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison W
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed 27 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We had a lovely stay over Christmas. It did take us a while to find the barn as it has no name outside it but if we;d read the owners directions we would have found it quite easily. Although small the barn was very reasonably priced and comfortable. Nicola, the owner, was very helpful and welcoming. We would definitely stay there again as it made an excellent base for visiting family and friends in the area. The kitchen was small and not really suitable for cooking anything but basic meals but it was fine for what we needed and I did manage to cook a Christmas dinner with a bit of juggling. Its a great area for dog walking and the village is very friendly with a lovely shop and pub. We will definitley stay there again if its available when we are visiting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Kitchen
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2015
Thank you, glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clairesto...
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chilling”
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Me and my partner stayed there for 3 nights we was greeted by the owner on arrival she was lovely they left us to it the view was lovely there was a few bits I would say is need to bring a iron update the leaflet would be handy and the mattress was a bit uncomfortable but part from that I definitely stay there again and thank you for sending my stuff though the post x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare B
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
“fantastic break away”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014

my husband and i stayed at this wonderful property the last week in june, from the moment we arrived we were amazed and overwhelmed with the quality of the barn and the peace and quiet which is what we were after this did not disappoint. the barn itself was comfy and had everything we needed including the most amazing view from the sitting room.
we hope to be able to book this again for our wedding anniversary in october we had such a wonderful time

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing