We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all costs”
Review of The New Inn

The New Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Restaurants in Horning
Price range: US$7 - US$28
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 1 June 2021

Booked a table for 8pm- all our details were taken. Turned up and we were told we had no table- they had no record of our booking.
Staff were rude and unhelpful. We have heard other people complaining about service and attitude of staff.
Go somewhere else with reliable and better service.

Date of visit: June 2021
1  Thank O7038AXsarahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 1,141 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2021 via mobile

Great waterside location with plenty if Covid friendly outside tables. Unfortunately bang average food with very disappointing Madras curry. Although having a meal, we had to pay for drinks separately and not able to put onto one main bill? After leaving we noticed a 12.49% SERVICE CHARGE !!!!We were never informed this would be added prior to ordering or paying the bill. Very underhand guys in these competitive times. We are visiting Motorhome customers trying to put money back into the local communities, but will not visit The New Inn again and went to other pubs nearby.

Date of visit: June 2021
1  Thank alanpT5666GV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2021 via mobile

Looked forward to first family meal out after lockdown Bank holiday Monday 31-5-21. We arrived at the beer garden at 6.30 , lovely sunny day, loads of empty tables but two tables had meals. Lovely garden riverside with pleasant music playing. We sit down and waitress soon comes over. We’re informed they’re not serving food to walk ins only bookings! Very disappointed especially as it’s so empty only two of our group of six order drinks. On paying at the bar, the restaurant is empty inside. Unbelievable! Several members of staff cleaning bar and wandering outside. My first and last visit here, as locals that’s a shame they have missed out on year round future business! Surely in the hospitality sector you make hay while the sun shines?

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank AngieClaxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2021 via mobile

Turned up at 11am and helped off our boat by a very helpful gent who told us food wasn’t served until 12. Walked around before coming back at 11:30. Waited for drinks (2 wrong drinks given) and when it hit 12 we tried to order food but were told we couldn’t order when the lady got to our table at 12:05 due to it being ‘too busy in the kitchen’.

I don’t think I’ve been to many places where they refuse food orders 5 minutes after opening, especially as we were one of the first tables to arrive but one of the the last to be seen! Had to go in and pay early as the food took over 1 1/2 hours to arrive and we needed to go straight after. Eventually when food arrived it was cold and seemed low quality considering we had paid almost £100 for 5 of us. 12.5% service charge is laughable when I’d probably get better service in a care home.

A pregnant member of our group went to the toilet to be told there was ‘no loo roll’ and someone needed to go to the shop to get some more. She then had to share toilet roll with ladies in the other toilets due to there only being one roll provided, absolutely unbelievable.

I’m usually very positive on reviews but it is difficult to comprehend how this prime location establishment can be so poorly organised. Multiple tables around us gave up on waiting for food and had we not had a heavily pregnant member of our party we would have done the same. This place needs a good shake up because location wise it is unreal and it has such good potential as a lot of these other reviews seem to indicate.

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank isnchrisbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2021 via mobile

This pub is in a great location on the water's front. Low key music was playing. The sun was out. The crowd were in. This is another place where they just didn't have the staff to cater for the customers. Those staff there were rushed off their feet but just couldn't keep up. I ordered a lasagne then found out there was no lasagne so ordered a jacket potato, which was actually rather nice. My husband ordered a burger that had to be returned as it wasn't cooked through. My daughter had chicken nuggets and fries which she enjoyed. My son had kids macaroni and really enjoyed it. We had 2 nice desserts. It's a shame that this experience was tarnished by poor staffing levels. However, if you want to enjoy the scenery, in the sunshine it's a good choice. At the moment you can walk up before 4pm after that it is bookings only.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank LouLouTravel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The New Inn also viewed

 

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.