We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed”
Review of The Yew Tree

The Yew Tree
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Highclere
Price range: US$7 - US$46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: In an idyllic 17th-century inn, The Yew Tree serves seasonal British dishes and is proud to have been awarded two Rosettes by the AA. Head Chef Sam is committed to using locally sourced ingredients wherever possible. Game from local estates features on our seasonal menu, and frequently on our specials. Very much a cosy village inn, with log fires in the winter months, and an idyllic outside garden with its own bar and kitchen for the summer. With its 8 cottage style bedrooms, it draws in regulars and travellers from all round the world. Located a few miles away from Highclere Castle (Downton Abby), its the perfect place to pop into for breakfast, lunch or dinner after exploring the castle and its grounds.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We had high expectations of this pub for a lovely Easter Sunday lunch but came away very disappointed.

Service really poor - 1 hour for main courses to be served which then came slowly and not everyone was served at the same time. By the time the last person received their food and we started our mains were tepid.

Also, a well known fact (or so I thought) is that you always serve small children first which did not happen.

Food OK but nothing special at £25 for two courses (or £30 3 courses).

We were with friends who had booked the lunch so we didn't want to make a fuss about poor service and the 10% automatically added service charge was paid. Had we been on our own I would not have paid this.

We opted not to stay for deserts as had no idea how long it would take for them to be delivered as everything else had been so slow.

The ironic thing is that whilst we paid we asked if had it been a busy service the waitress said "not really" and that they had two tables that did not turn up.

I did mention our disappointment to someone at the bar as we left. No apology just told they would "pass my comments on",

In summary average lunch, over priced and shockingly poor service. We won't be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kittywoo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2018

Lunch for four was ok. First time visit. The pub its self is charming and welcoming as were all the staff we encountered. The décor is in keeping and the seating is very comfortable. It is expensive for a pub, some times called a gastro pub, I don't think so. I thought the food was expensive for what you got. A burger at £15.00 and a rump stake £19.00 + Service charge so making £16.50 & £20.90. See pics. Honestly I could have brought the skinny piece of stake in M&S for £6.00. Watch the service charge 10% if there is a lot of you it could turn out to be a significant amount. I did ask if there was a gratuity included when paying and told yes, but it could be removed. I did want to leave something but £11.88. I hope the staff get that and its not just a management perk.

Thank johnvincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver C, General Manager at The Yew Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Hello John,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are sad to hear that you found your steak to be less than pleasing for it's value.

We take all feedback very seriously as this is a true reflection on how we perform and from this we grow.

I'd like to start by saying that the service charge added to each bill is "discretionary" as per written on the menus. The service charge goes to all team members except management as part of their great service that you found to be welcoming. This is not added to make up food prices. Also written on the menus is the weight of the steak at 8oz. With this in mind I am unsure why the size of the meat took you by surprise once it arrived. The menu also reminds you to let us know if we have not lived up to your expectations. If that is the case then we can rectify this. Unfortunately nothing was said to a team member at any point during the meal or upon check back.

All of your points will be raised with our Head Chef to see what can be done in regards to pricing.

We are happy to hear that you found the staff welcoming and the building itself very charming. For this reason we hope to see you again soon in the not to distant future.

Kindest regards,

Oliver Callaghan
Landlord

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

We've been to the Yew Tree three times before - it used to be a great little country pub, good food portions, quality and nice service.

However - it feels like its changed hands and service standards out the window.
We arrived early on a Sunday to find the Yew Tree had lost our reservation. Unable to rectify the situation and with the place apparently 'fully booked', the restaurant were happy for us to just leave - no apology or recognition of their error.

After much discussion, we were eventually sat in a table that turned out to not actually be booked for a further 2 hours - any good manager worth their salt would have found this solution without us needing to suggest it to them.

Food was served promptly - small portions at high prices (although quality was good in fairness). Fancy a glass of wine? - Make sure you avoid the £12.50 large rose - the most we've ever been charged for a single glass of wine anywhere.

To wrap up our overall poor experience at the Yew Tree - the manager queried 'why we wanted to remove the service charge' - It was all quite embarrassing really - again - any duty manager with even an ounce of experience would have pre-empted our request and either apologised with the bill, removed some food cost or removed the service charge.

We won't be returning to the Yew Tree

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

An impromptu lunch was called for and a visit to The Yew Tree did not disappoint.
A cosy, warm, friendly and welcoming atmosphere.
Lunch was ordered, fish & chips with mushy peas, duck breast with mashed new potatoes and crispy cabbage.
Both meals were served fresh, hot and were absolutely delicious.
We couldn't manage a dessert, maybe next time.
We will definitely be back again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SteveandJay2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver C, General Manager at The Yew Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Hello Steve & Jay

Many thanks for taking the time to review The Yew Tree.

We are incredibly happy to hear that you found your time with us to be such an enjoyable one! We can't wait to welcome you back again sometime soon.

Kindest regards,

Oliver Callaghan
Landlord

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

Service was great. A short menu was provided, which is always good. Wine by the glass, however, is expensive for a country pub - £7.40

The food was average, but not hot. Buns with our burgers were rock hard - suggest brioche. Ice cream was industrial quality. Food was not memorable.

However - our waitress was delightful and could not have been more helpful.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Yew Tree also viewed

 
Newbury, Berkshire
Kintbury, Berkshire
 

Been to The Yew Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing