We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous”
other travellers have booked this property
Master Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master Bedroom
Twin Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Master Bedroom
Twin Room
Bathroom
Dining Room
Kitchen
Single Bedroom
Promenade
Boat Yard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Newbiggin-by-the-Sea, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bridgetjo...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 2 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a wonderful weekend at the Mules. Spotlessly clean and extremely cosy. Gorgeous furnishings, perfect location for exploring underated Northumberland. Newbigging has everything you need to self cater and the house is just a stone's throw from the beach. We went to Beamish (a tad pricy but your ticket lasts a year) which is just awesome especially riding on the old trams and buses. Also drove up to Holy Island and Bamburgh. We will definately be back as so much more to see and do up in Northumberland. A big thank you to Karen too for directions and communication

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2017
Thank you so much for this glowing review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. This is a beautiful part of the country with so much to offer guests. Glad you made the most of your time here. Hopefully see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enzo_Cuti...
Bedford, UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 5 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Comfortable and cosy accommodation in Newbiggin. Good directions to get there and an allocated parking space which was useful. Karen was very welcoming and gave us a brief tour around the property. The property had all that we needed for our few nights away and was a minute (if that) from the beach. Lots of DVDs and board games available if you want a quiet night in after a days exploring. About an hour from peaceful Lindisfarne. We went to Seahouses for a tour around the Farne Islands (puffins!) and Alnwick is even closer (well worth a visit for the castle and grandens and Barter books).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2017
Thank you for your lovely review and insight into some of the great places guests can visit when staying at The Mules. Hope to see you again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen G
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 6 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Perfect home away from from. Everything you need and much more. Spotless, modern and homely. Great location to beach.....out the back door. Lovely hosts will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure having you and I am looking forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes, Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keeysgill...
1 review
“Miss”
Reviewed 26 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Wow! What a beautiful home from home. We all had a lovely time. Such amazing value. Perfect place to stay while enjoying Northumberland. Everything you could possibly need was thought of. Immaculately clean and beautifully furnished. We will recommend highly to everyone we know and will definitely be back. Such a lovely warm welcome from Karen. We will be seeing you again soon. None of us wanted to go home. Thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2016
Oh thank you so much for your lovely review. It was lovely having you and your family. I am pleased you found The Mules to be comfortable and that you enjoyed your stay. i am looking forward to welcoming you back. Karen x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dilj2015
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“PERFECT!”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Mules is a beautiful property - immaculately clean and modern (to be honest, it looked as if no one had ever used it!). The whole property has lots of little decorative touches that made it a delight to stay in. Really well equipped and with strong WiFi and very comfortable beds. We arrived to find fresh milk, cookies and crisps (thank you Karen!) and a note to welcome us. Karen has kept in regular contact and is friendly and helpful.
We are regular visitors to Newbiggin so had no problems finding things to do but there are also a variety of local info leaflets available as well as a well stocked DVD library and lots of books (including the one I am currently reading, funnily enough!) and games.
Our only problem was that we were there for 3 days - could happily have stayed a week or more!
:)

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Not there long enough!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your glowing review. It was a pleasure having you stay and hope to welcome you back sometime :) Karen x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing