We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage,lovely location and welcoming...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bank Top Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Very comfortable King bed with lots of storage.
The sea view balcony from the open plan lounge & kitchen area.
Enjoy the sea view from morning to night.
The snowy balcony in January.
You can open the bi-folding doors to welcome the outside in.
Even grey days look brilliant from Bank Top Cottage's balcony.
The cottage is perfect for relaxing and enjoying the sea view.
The Aurora Borealis viewed from the balcony!
Rainbow over Bank Top Cottage's balcony.
Bank Top Cottages balcony from the outside.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cresswell, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Joannacla...
1 review
“Beautiful cottage,lovely location and welcoming host.”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Such a great ever-changing view all day long. Well appointed with luxurious furnishings. Lots of great walks and places to visit on the doorstep.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review for your stay. You're completely right about the view: it never stays the same from one tide to the next. We're so glad you enjoyed it. I hope to greet you both back to Bank Top Cottage in the future!

Kind regards,
Ewa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of Cottage and views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for this lovely review! We've just updated the fridge to a larger capacity one to offer more food storage, I'm pleased you found there to be plenty of room during your stay. It's great that you managed to have breakfast on the balcony,

We currently don't leave a non-slip bath mat in the cottage for hygiene reasons, but we will certainly look into adding an option for guests to request one during the booking process (or even during their stay).

Many thanks again for taking the time to leave a review, I hope we can welcome you back to Bank Top Cottage in the future!

Kind regards,
Ewa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
June M
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just... Wow”
Reviewed 29 January 2016 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed back in October, during a particularly stormy week. We were blown away by the cottage itself and the magnificent view! The cottage is decorated to a high standard and you can tell its a much loved property as the attention to detail really makes it. We had planned to explore Northumberland during our weeks stay but we never made it past the front door, we didn't want to leave!! The view really kept us entertained. The wonder of nature right on your doorstep!!! I can thoroughly recommend this gorgeous cottage. The bed was the comfiest we've ever slept in. We will be back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole cottage
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2016
Hi there,

Many thanks for your lovely review!

We take great pride in Bank Top Cottage and really appreciate guests letting us know their experience of it. To hear you didnt want to leave is wonderful!! I hope to greet you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ewa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, the bed and the shower
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Jan 2016
Hi there,
What a lovely review!! I'm so glad you felt cosy during the storms. I look forward to welcoming you again so soon and I'll pass on the details of where the boat display is from! Many thanks, Ewa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 January 2016 for a stay in January 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Jan 2016
Hi there,

I am so sorry to hear Bank Top wasn't up to your expectations during your stay.

I can't offer an explanation for the linen, only that we will keep a closer eye on this for future guests.

We did used to offer a welcome pack, but after feedback from multiple guests who said they didn't find it to be a necessity, we stopped putting one in the cottage. I have wondered if we should start doing so again, and after this feedback, we will definitely arrange for a welcome pack for guests to enjoy.

Again, I am so sorry to hear Bank Top Cottage wasn't as expected, we really care about guest feedback and hope to improve upon the areas mentioned.

Kind regards,
Ewa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing