We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$106
View Deal
Free cancellation until 14/03/21
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$106
View Deal
Free cancellation until 14/03/21
TravelocityUS$106
Orbitz.comUS$106
CheapTicketsUS$106
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveller rating
217
75
8
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
217
75
8
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hiking trails premier cabin one night the owner matanuska glacier glenn highway strawberry rhubarb pie salmon hot tub nice spot restaurant food two nights halibut dinner fully equipped kitchen cozy cabins lion's head bed was comfortable
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 304 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Comfortable cabins, hot showers, great nordic ski trails, very quiet location, your own kitchen if you want, good food delivered to your cabin, not a bad drive from town. What else could you want? No, they don't wax your skis for you ;-) but they will take you up in a helicopter!
We've been going to Sheep Mountain since 1982 (Fleeners are our 4th owners!) and we hope to keep going there for a while to come. We really appreciate how the lodge has evolved to meet our needs.
This is a great, comfortable, fun get away.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Foot_Loose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2021

My wife and I stayed one night for her birthday. We arrived early to hike the Lion's head. We were very hungry afterwards. The restaurant made COVID accommodations delivering dinners and breakfasts to the cabins. The food was excellent.

The following day we walked the trails for several hours until it was time to go. We enjoyed it so much that we made plans to come back for my birthday in the spring and take advantage of the snow for cross country skiing.

If you are from Alaska or from out of state, this is a nice spot to spend one or two nights.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank raul_a_rovira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2020 via mobile

Thank you to Mark and his team at Sheep Mountain Lodge for making our engagement weekend a dream come true!

Fantastic food (I highly recommend the halibut and carrot cake), beautiful clean cabin accommodations and an incredible scenic helicopter flight! We saw a bull moose, sheep, black bear, mountain goats and a golden eagle on top of the awe inspiring mountains and glacier!

So many fun activities near by from hiking Lion’s Head, to walking on Matanuska Glacier and Gunsight Mountain is on our hiking list for next year. If you’re looking for a fun weekend get away, Sheep Mountain Lodge should top the list!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jon_adventures_in_AK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2020 via mobile

If you want a place to get away from a busy schedule and want time to reconnect, this is the place. Scenic views, amazing hiking trails (well maintained), lovely rooms, excellent food, helicopters rides of the glacier. And they have fancy coffee for those coffee drinkers out there that need a mocha or latte. The staff are very kind and professional. The owner has done a beautiful job of providing a place that balances the need for nature and the need for some modern luxuries.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ylliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2020

Made a last minute reservation for the lodge and I was thrilled that it worked out. A great location for local hiking a glacier or trails, I would stay here again. The staff was very friendly, food was excellent at the restaurant, and the cabins were perfect.

Room tip: Amazing views everywhere
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank sch_usa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews