We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$440
US$427
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Bluette(La Barra)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Il Belvedere(Punta del Este)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$125
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel L'Auberge(Punta del Este)(Great Value!)
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ricadi(Piriapolis)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
The Grand Hotel(Punta del Este)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Suites Atlantis(La Barra)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Casa Zinc(La Barra)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
13
8
2
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
8
2
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2012

First the positives - perfect location, helpful staff, clean hotel. The location was by far the biggest strength of Villa de Mar. It's a one minute walk to a small-ish but nice public beach and a one minute walk to the main street in La Barra, where there are numerous restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. The owner was very kind, spoke English well, and did his best to help with any questions. The staff-member working at night was also very nice but didn't speak English.

The negative for me was the price. You are definitely paying for the location because you get a small, no frills room, with no furniture and an uncomfortable bed (and very erratic wifi). To be fair, everything in La Barra and Punta del Este was pricey, but I still couldn't shake the feeling that I wasn't getting quite what I paid for. But overall, it was still a decent place to stay, especially if you don't plan to spend much time in the room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

A very cosy family-run hotel, with a fantastic location one minute walk from a beautiful beach.
From our hotel room we could see the ocean, and had a nice view of the sunset colours - even without a sea view room.

The staff was extremely nice and helpful, and were patient with all our requests - they even loan out sunscreen 70 to sunburnt guests (note: the sun is REALLY strong in the Punta del Este area, as we found out firsthand...). They also lend out beach chairs/lounges and beach towels (free of charge) to hotel guests.

Before deciding on where to stay we were not so sure where "La Barra" was, but it turned to be a very good choice - much better than Punta del Este when not a teenager.. Nice restaurants and a few bars, and very classy beaches and people. And also it´s a relatively short distance to visit the famous Bikini Beach (not so sure why it´s famous, the La Barra beach was much better) and also to José Ignacio where the rich & beautiful hang out and where there are several excellent restaurants.

If we go back, we would definitely choose this hotel again! We have been staying at a lot of the big chain hotels in Argentina (i.e. Sheraton) and it was really nice for a change to have the cosy and familiar atmosphere that this hotel provided - it felt like staying at somebody´s home.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

This small, quiet hotel is located in the heart of bustling La Barra. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Rooms are very basic but you're paying for your proximity to the beach and nightlife which are all steps away.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perrotta10011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Location is great for La Barra as it is very central. It is a one-minute-walk to the bars, restaurants and even to the beach. It is also very quiet. But we did not sleep well as the beds were terrible. They had plastic under the sheets which made sleeping noisy and uncomfortable. The hotel was also not very clean. Breakfast was ok. And staff was more or less friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailor20a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We stayed here for two nights between Christmas and New Year, and would overall say that the location is great (just two minutes walk from the beach) and the staff friendly and helpful.

However, the rooms are basic for the price they charged. Yes, yes it was peak season in Punta del Este but one would expect the room to at least have air conditioning and more than two small sleeping pillows. The bed is not the most comfortable either.

They provided a tasty breakfast in our room rate but there's no restaurant on the premises. Not an issue though given the hotel's convenient location just next to the main street in La Barra.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mantelstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews