We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$440
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Bluette(La Barra)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Il Belvedere(Punta del Este)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel L'Auberge(Punta del Este)(Great Value!)
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ricadi(Piriapolis)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ordet Posada(La Barra)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
13
19
1
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
19
1
2
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We were recommended the Posada by a friend who lives in La Barra........ A family run establishment, providing clean and comfortable accommodation, a great restaurant and our own private spot on the bustling beach. True to her word, it was exactly that! On arrival we were greeted by 3 very charming ladies who greeted us as if we were returning guests and friends! Given it was the height of the season over New Year, I was grateful for any room, and allocated a smaller of the standard rooms, spotlessly clean, a terrace, air con and a practical bathroom. The restaurant which overlooks the ocean, had a small menu but everything we tried was excellent, especially the Fillet Steak and the Prawn and avocado salad. The Clerico is a must have at sundowner!! We were recommended restaurants and reservations were made on our behalf in the area, and although we dined at the 'in' hotspots, La Posada was our favourite!!! The private beach has a cabana style bar with the option to eat at tables on the beach, has a limited number of sunbeds, but the staff will go out of their way to set you up on the main beach with a couple of deck chairs and a parasol, taking in all the action La Barra has to offer.

Room Tip: Definitely try and get a top floor room with a balcony overlooking the ocean.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichButt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

You have to change your mindset when traveling to Punta del Este. You will not find elegant resorts or large established brand hotels. There are many small hotels of various quality and location and though Jose Ignacio is the hot place with a fine hotel, Playa Vik, we like La Barra better. Choices however, are meager in La Barra but we found Le Club Posada perfect for our needs. First this is a very basic hotel with basic offerings but the difference in making the top grade are the people who treated us all like family. Kindness was prevalent in all our dealings and though the hotel had many failings in fit and finish it was more than made up for by the service and people. Again you cannot expect an Aman resort here but you can expect a decent place to stay, excellent service, great location and beautiful setting. Enjoy the sunset and forget the rest. I already want to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VoxVolpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Do not expect anything fancy! This is a small and simple hotel, meant for those who want to stay away from Punta del Este chaos and enjoy sun raise and sun dawn and the beach.
The restaurant is lovely and food is good. Personnel is nice and helpful.
If you are on a romantic vacation, ask for room no.5 or similar, facing the ocean with a large window all along the front wall, and a king size bed.
Only issue, the internet connection which is quite unstable.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ric64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

No english spoken,but found staff delightful and helpful.Best location by far in la barra.room was simple but clean and comfortable.Easy walking distance to restaurants and footpath along the coast.Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheriki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

This hotel is all about location and not much else. The staff isn't even that helpful nor friendly and make no effort whatsoever to communicate in English. On our first night there we realized that the blinds in our bathroom which faced the street and the hotel and restaurant across the road were completely see through at night! I approached the front desk about this and they just shrugged their shoulders and said 'oh well, it's the mediteranean style'. I had to insist that they do something about it and two days later they stapled pieces of paper to the blinds. Our room was the size of a shoe box and the zircon dripped water onto our faces while we were asleep. We were there with friends for a week and had breakfast every day and every day had to order each part of the set breakfast because if we didn't, they simply would not bring it. They also charged us 1000 pesos for washing that would have cost us 200 at the local laundromat. There is no room service nor do any of the rooms have bar fridges. Things that I would consider standard issue in hotels but not in back packers.
The owner of the hotel was there at the same time and seemed to use it as his own little party place with clearly no interest in the comfort of the guests or the smooth running of it. The Internet connection was about the same speed as it was when they first invented it.
That was all the bad stuff. Now for the good point: the location is great!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Asorocram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews