We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$20
Booking.com
View Deal
Madera's Inn(Masaya)
US$7
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$53
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Mar Dulce(Granada)(Great Value!)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
393 results
Traveller rating
357
22
6
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
357
22
6
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshacienda puerta del cielomasaya volcanoother guestsactive volcanocloud forestthe owneroutdoor showerzip liningtour guideevery mealbeautiful countryhoneymoon suiteeco lodgeoff the beaten pathdirt roadone of a kindnatural beauty
Filter
Updating list...
248 - 253 of 393 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hacienda for just two nights and it was really not enough. Luis was a super gracious host and went out of his way to make sure that we were comfortable and happy. Because an earthquake had damaged the pool, he look us to the Laguna de Apoyo where we swam, lounged, and ate all the day long. The food was delicious--it felt as though we were getting the best versions of the most celebrated dishes in the region. The staff was incredibly accommodating and easy to communicate with. My main recommendation is to stay there for more than two nights!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Can't say enough of the beauty ,and friendly staff at puerta de ciello. Would go back in a minute , food was excellent ,rooms were beutifull and spacious,it's a winner. Louise the owner is very accommodating ,he can't do enough for you, anything you ask of him he will try to do for you.

Room Tip: All rooms are beutifull,
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bill2277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

My husband and I went to Nicaragua with 4 friends. Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo was to be our 2nd stop for one night. When we arrived it was clear on our arrival that one night just wasn't going to cut it. Luis' welcome along with the incredible view convinced us all that we needed to stay 2 nights. I have no doubt that we would have stayed longer had we not had reservations at another hotel in Granada.

Thank you so much Luis, Oscar, Mario and Jasema. Everyone went above and beyond. The food was incredible! You must get a massage while you're there! The BEST! Luis was so informative and made sure we had everything we needed. Oscar was right there to help with whatever we needed.

You won't be disappointed in anything. The views, food, service, rooms, birds and flowers were all amazing.

Thank you again everyone!!
Denver & Christine

Room Tip: Any room you choose will be great!
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Spent our honeymoon at the Hacienda and it was all we could have hoped for and more. We felt the entire time like we were visiting with old friends and were treated like members of the family. The location, food and experience was wonderful. The friendliness and attitude of the entire staff was the highlight of the trip. We took a couple of the day excursions and recommend them highly. We can't recommend the resort highly enough and will definitely return to see our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

I will not ever be able to describe what a wonderful experience we had and how gorgeous this property is within this review, but I am going to try to give you everything you need to be confident in booking this hotel for your next trip. I have broken down into categories because I have a feeling this review is going to be long, there is so much wonderful to say!!
LOCATION: First off, do not be concerned about the location (I had a hard time finding Massatepe on the map and thought it to be very remote) the hotel is remote and tucked away but is close to everything, this is the perfect location surrounded by many things to do. Anyone wanting to visit the several volcanos around the area, Granada day trips, coffee plantations, zip-lining, lagoons/lakes, and many unique towns with great shopping are all convienient. I will warn though once you get to the resort you may not want to leave to do any of that....the views, luxury, and the staff are like none I have experienced!
HOST: You are given the 'royal' treatment from the moment you are picked up from the airport, Luis was the most gracious host and a wealth of knowledge, his English is perfect (he lived stateside for many years) which can be helpful if your Spanish is not so great. His only concern was to make your stay perfect! I feel like a member of the family and will definitely be going back to visit.
ACCOMMODATIONS: The accommodations are of a luxury hotel in the States (this is not so commen to find in Nicaragua) HOT beautiful showers with the rain head as well as a handheld shower (options are nice:-) the shower was equip with shampoo, conditioner and soap (again not as commen with hotels in Nica), a stocked refridgerator in the room, we had the Casa Linda with a full jacuzzi tub (not sure how many rooms offer that), a ceiling fan (the first we had seen in our travels in the country) and a nice cold AIR CONDITIONER (again not commen, many places have them but to have one that keeps you cold is great). The design of the rooms is perfect, we did not even use the AC unit except one night because the air flow in the room was perfect for cross-ventilation full length window doors which were screened surrounded us on three sides of the very spacious room. Two sinks and a huge counter space to set all your stuff (things taken for granted in the states but nearly unheard of in most Nica hotels). Oh and I forgot to mention the King size bed, and very nice linens made for our most comfortable nights sleep!
PROPERTY: This room was very private, our own outdoor shower surrounded by flowers, a beautiful deck with comfy chilling chairs and a big enough for two people hammock to louge on. The pool on the property was also very unique, with a swim-up bar and shallow lounge area if you just wanted to cool off, all with a beautiful view of the lagoon and volcano. The property is surrounded by plants and flowers adding beauty and privacy, the attention to every little detail is obvious throughout the resort, not only the efficient and private layout, but the beautiful locally made pieces throughout the property including furniture and decor, it's just perfect, so much time and care was taken to make it perfect!
SERVICE: The size of this resort added to the experience so much as well, it feels very private accommodating a max of 14 guests I believe, which adds to a personal warm feeling. Luis made sure any and every need we had was met, right down to my special request for my boyfriend liking RedBull to start his morning (not even sure where he found it, I had not seen in the country anywhere). All of the staff were so warm and welcoming wanting to make sure everything was just right, and every request met happily with no expectations of anything in return. We spent New Years here and Luis made sure to have wonderful entertainment for us, with talented dancers showing off the many regional dances, so entertaining. When midnight came the view was amazing seeing fireworks for an hour and a half from 3 neighboring towns, it was nothing short of incredible!
FOOD: ummm, YUM! I am self-admittedly a bit of a 'food snob' I love to cook and am told I am very good at it, so I believe I am harder to impress! Every meal that we had while at the Hacienda was nothing short of excellent (thank you Mario)!!! Everything is extremely FRESH, and so DELICIOUS, with a beautiful presentation, such a wonderful representation of the culture as well!!
In short, I cannot think of a single bad thing about this experience (rare,right) the entire team at the Hacienda is dedicated to your 100% happiness and satisfaction and it is very evident! This is a must stay place, the resort that you will forever compare other resorts to, and worth every penny, I just wish I was writing this review from the Hacienda!! (oh and by the way they do have very good WIFI in the commen areas). We will definitely be back (which is un-commen for us because I like to explore different place typically) but this place breaks the mold and is an exception to that rule! I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND staying at this resort, in fact I would travel to Nicaragua specifically to stay at the Hacienda Puerto del Cielo again, it was an amazing place and an awesome experience!

Room Tip: Casa Linda is the suite we stayed in and had private access to the pool, really neat I had never seen that. Any of the Casa's though are worth the small upgrade cost, very private and large.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank MissElizabeth8-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcespinosa, Owner at Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Dear MissElizabeth8-D:

I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to write such a well detailed review. I know that future guest would appreciate your efforts.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our little piece of Paradise and hope to see you in the future with friends and family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews