We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a busy restaurant ”

Life Grand Cafe V&A Waterfront
Ranked #374 of 2,931 Restaurants in Cape Town
Price range: US$4 - US$20
Description: Relaxed Cafe dining on the waters edge, a blend of Mediterranean influences with an African heart serving breakfast, lunch and diner
Restaurant details
Description: Relaxed Cafe dining on the waters edge, a blend of Mediterranean influences with an African heart serving breakfast, lunch and diner
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Tried to get in a few times and only inside tables, so eventually got an outside table.

A Parma ham pizza and creamy chargrilled chicken pasta.

Service not the greatest, but food we chose was good.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank Sonny_Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonny S, Manager at Life Grand Cafe V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Sonny,

Thank you for your review and feedback. At Life Grand Cafe we are constantly striving to better our food and service through ongoing training.

Regards
Bonny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 97 of 624 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Dropped in after a long and tiring day. Got a bit worried after they took forever to provide us menus and bring us our drinks. However friendly service and once our orders were taken the food arrived quickly. Generous serves and very tasty. No complaints and the cheap wine was actually quite good !

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

We had lunch here when walking around at V&A Waterfront. The service was very watchful and our waiter also had humour. The food was very good and the location with a view over the water was also very nice.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank 715peas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

We first visited Life Grand in early December when we stayed in a nearby hotel to celebrate our anniversary and watch the 7s Rugby. (We're locals.) We decided to skip the disappointing hotel's breakfast offering and visit Life Grand instead. That proved to be a wise decision. The breakfast menu is varied and makes choosing difficult. (The lazy breakfast must be the best valued breakfast in Cape Town! Be warned - go hungry!) The meal was excellent and so was the service. So much so, we decided to return that evening for our anniversary dinner. From start to finish, we had the most magical night. Oysters, sirloin on the bone, belly pork, copious amounts of well priced wine - all fantastic. We've been a number of times since, including for our son's 17th birthday together with other members of the family. Again, we couldn't fault the restaurant. We will most definitely continue to visit and highly recommend that you do the same!

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlisonEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonny S, Manager at Life Grand Cafe V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Hi Alison,

Thank you for the fantastic review. We are delighted we met your expectations on not just one visit, but all your visits.
We look forward to your next visit at Life Grand Cafe

Regards
Bonny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

Service horrible. Food terrible. No reason to visit this restaurant. It is over priced and there are much nicer alternatives. Avoid.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank suzanneb507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Life Grand Cafe V&A Waterfront also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Life Grand Cafe V&A Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing