We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice B+B run by pleasant people and with a very pleasant surprise!”
Review of Domaine Pascaud

Domaine Pascaud
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rions
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Domaine Pascaud
Ranked #3 of 4 Rions B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 September 2014

We stayed at the Domaine Pascaud last week as part of a package cycling tour. When we arrived, I found to my delight that we were actually staying in a brewery! In addition to their bed and breakfast business, Fabrice and Pauline run a craft micro brewery on the premises as well as catering for large wedding parties in the enormous hall that had been converted from a barn on the premises.

Having just cycled around 40 kilometres from St Emillion in the late summer heat, we were hot and bothered when we arrived. Fabrice immediately took pity on us and offered us each a bottle of his craft brewed beer. It was like nectar on the tonsils and just what the Doctor ordered! Thanks!

Our room was in a cottage that adjoins the old farmhouse where Fabrice and Pauline and their two kids live. They were great hosts. We chatted a lot and learned about their enterprises and could clearly see that they both put in a helluva lot of work to build their various businesses. I really admire this and do wish them well.

The Domaine Pascaud is behind electric gates on a large fenced plot that is alongside the main road that runs from Bordeaux to Cadillac, which is nearby. Traffic noise could be heard but was not overly intrusive. Our room had all the usual facilities. Wifi was offered foc but didn't seem to work properly on our smartphones or tablets. In terms of location, the Domaine Pascaud is around 15 minutes stroll to the nearby village of Rions where there is a restaurant and a pizzeria. It is probably around half an hour stroll to Cadillac where there is a greater choice of places to eat. In both cases, there is a route that runs near the river and away from the main road. There is an outdoor swimming pool on the premises but we did not take the plunge.

Breakfast was the usual French arrangement and was served in the old kitchen that was alongside our room. It was entirely adequate for a hard day's cycling. We had not booked directly with Domaine Pascaud so cannot comment on price but we really liked our hosts and wish them well in their endeavours. Nice people!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gastropod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

This is not a hotel and if you want room service, lifts, a bar and a giant TV you are in the wrong country never mind the wrong place to stay. The essence of travel in France is to find these friendly family run establishments. I have stayed on working farms, with friendly old people who have told me about the war and in this case a working micro-brewery. This in the beautiful Bordeaux countryside is something of a novelty with even this house being an old chateaux that once produced wine from the surrounding vineyards. You may buy wine here that still has the house pictured on the label and with the Domaine Pascaud name. The wine and the beer like anything in this part of France is amazing.
I have stayed here on a few occasions and had a different room each time. I have watched the place progress and love the quietness, being in a self contained walled garden and up a set of steep stairs into attic rooms that are really comfortable and quaint one in particular that opens out large wooden shutters to an amazing view over acres of vineyards. There is one ground floor room and one up a short flight of steps so book ahead for those. This is a busy place during the day and at weekends throughout the summer there will be weddings. You will be left to your own devices. It is however very interesting to sit back and watch this all going on beside the pool with a beer or get out a walk in the vineyards and see the local villages. Plenty of breads and home made jams will be waiting for you in the morning with tea and coffee. You fend for yourself a little but when you find everything waiting for you its not a problem…the jams are so good. When I went here first there was food prepared in the evening and it was superb but on later visits I was directed to local restaurants not far away as things just got too busy. I was lent a bike and a tripod The couple are both fluent in English having lived in Ireland for some time and can make themselves understood in another few which (just a bit annoying) is great.

A couple of things I might add when you hit the country areas, everything stops for lunch (and holidays), have Euros and plenty of fuel in the car.

Room Tip: The room with the view of the Vineyard!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Two families stayed here as part of a cycling holiday. We arrived late after a very very long cycle ride with four children on a Monday and all local restaurants were closed. The owner wasn't able to provide dinner but she kindly dropped us at the local supermarket, unfortunately it was 15 mins before closing after a supermarket sweep dash we managed to grab some pizzas. When we returned we realised despite having a kitchen we had nowhere to cook them. We asked the owner if she'd mind heating them up...although she did it she was very very reluctant! Not sure how else we were to feed four kids!

The space 3 rooms really wasn't big enough for two families totally 8. The rooms were small and although nicely decorated and clean had small windows with little light. There's a communal kitchen that we weren't aware of before booking which anyone could have access to, we weren't overally comfortable with that given our rooms with children were very close by. And breakfast was a disappointment brown bananas! I was glad it was just for one night, Overall it felt like we were intruders and the owner was putting us up out of the kindness of her heart rather than paying guests! Sorry but I wouldn't recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lougi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Domaine Pascaud. We had a wonderful stay, the owners were so kind and the bedroom so cosy and clean. The decoration was nice, the place was very quite and the view was wonderful. The french breakfast was good and we had a lot to eat. PERFECT REALLY PERFECT !!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie Evelyne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I've stayed 2 nights at Domaine Pascaud with my family and enjoyed the place, the welcoming owners and the vineyards around the domaine. My family made a great use of the swimming-pool too !
Excellent value for a family as we have access to the pool, the park, wifi and a kitchen.
You can also discover how a microbrewery works, very interesting indeed!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odile D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rions
12.8 km away
Hotel Atena
Hotel Atena
#1 of 2 in Creon
70 reviews
1.3 km away
Le Relais Des Remparts
4.1 km away
Maison d'hotes Les Batarelles
Maison d'hotes Les Batarelles
#1 of 2 in Villenave-de-Rions
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
La Chartreuse Des Eyres
La Chartreuse Des Eyres
#1 of 1 in Podensac
65 reviews
2.3 km away
Chateau de la Tour
Chateau de la Tour
#1 of 1 in Beguey
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine Pascaud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine Pascaud

Address: 3 Lieu Dit Pascaud, 33410 Rions, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Rions
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rions
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing