We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right choice to eat fish”
Review of Ristorante da Remo

Ristorante da Remo
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 30 May 2016

The special food in this restaurant is fish, so if you want to eat very good and fresh fish, you should book a table here. Staff is very very kind and helpful and they make you feel like part of the family keeping a professional behaviour too. Personally I didn't find the wine so particular or special, but it was quite fine.
Place is not chic as very top restaurants in the city, but it is part of the soul of this area, and you have to enjoy this atmosphere.
Price are in the avarage to eat fish, so they are not so cheap, but the final satisfaction rate worth it.
Suggested.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gpin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2016 via mobile

You need to stop here at Remo's, for some outstanding sandwiches or other high quality but genuine food. Don't miss it, especially any serving with wild boar.

Date of visit: February 2016
1  Thank ErPastaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2015

They produce a truly unique seafood in the area (as I understand it is in fact the only fish restaurant in the Park of Maremma) and still are set with a cuisine absolutely from their territory, with raw materials from the area, with absolutely fresh fish bought from local fishermen in the morning...
The cuisine is certainly not overly sophisticated, all based on fresh flavors and fresh ingredients... so much that you can start with the appetizers, that are sliced seabass with balsamic vinegar (the only concession to something coming from outside ... but in Alberese local say that here "lords" knew that even at the time of the Grand Duke), scallops au gratin with herbs of Maremma (I translate: collected half an hour ago in the fields around here ...) as well as an incredible seafood salad...
Better still going to first bavette (a sort of flat spaghetti pasta) "Norway lobster" and lemon, as unexpected as great fish-filled tortelli flavored with truffles, which are tortelli (obviously hand-made in this kitchen, I would say more to the twilight zone that on the border the park) of fresh pasta stuffed with a mixture of pulp of various fish, topped with grated truffles (also absolutely autochthonous as they are found in the pine forest of the Grand Ducal Tombolo that begins right here at Principina on the edge of the park, to get to Castiglione della Pescaja)...
Even the tagliolini (a sort of micro-tagliatelle pasta - always here fresh handmade...) with mussels, zucchini and bottarga (a block of fish eggs like caviar, dryed or smoked) - ah, mussels from the Orbetello lagoon, as well as the bottarga produced by the same fishing cooperative - also amazing the mixed fish grill as well as fish fries and some fish baked in foil that are put in the husks together with seafood..
Inside the fish are often placed absolutely fresh aromas, so much so that if you see Simone, perfectly “dressed to cook”, rushing out of the kitchen, and go through the tables in front of the restaurant for entering a field, do not worry: it's going to take a sprig of myrtle to put in a kind of fish forgotten from large markets called Volpina... will come out something unique.
Please, remember being in a land, as it were, still of "real" men, very little or not at all sophisticated, where the fish (until the invention and diffusion of refrigerators...that means here not long ago...) was eaten almost exclusively on the coast and already a few kilometers away became a luxury.
Today the place is frequented by tourists searching quality and "not really cheap but honest" prices of this restaurant , but it remains popular with the Grosseto people, in short, by the locals... which says a lot about fact that they are simple dishes, like true Tuscan likes.
Having said that about the eventual overcrowding, I must remind you that it's open every evening (and only evening in winter) only for Sunday lunch, instead closed for lunch and dinner on Wednesday, except for the tourist months of July and August ... however these timetables are...approximate?...because they are also people who like to do everything as I do, A Modo Mio, "my way" ... they say that the reservation is appreciated, I'd say it's mandatory, however, they're very kind and sometimes I happened to be holed out in half an hour between a reservation and the other (timing I have observed, as they were able to serve me what I desire so much in so little time, I also was fully satisfied in such "emergency" time).
If you go in the evening during the summer, go early, before sunset, and get to a table outside (ah, crucial, a family-size bottle of mosquito repellent, we are also always in Maremma!) so you can enjoy the light from pink to light blue when the sun goes down and perfumes of the fields explode at the first hint of refreshing... If you close your eyes the silhouette of the cowboy on the horizon could take the contours of Buffalo Bill and the clatter of the train behind you become mixed with whistles and puffs of steam ...

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DOCTOR_TUSCANY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We are regular visitors to this family run fish restaurant. The reasons we go back are the excellent fresh, locally caught (as opposed to farmed) fish, friendly service and, considering the very high quality of the dishes served, reasonable prices.
There is a cabinet where you can select the fish that you want, from a range of locally sourced caught fish of various sizes, which can then be cooked in a range of ways according to the menu.
The house white is inexpensive and works perfectly with the food on offer. If visiting during the high season it is highly recommended to book in advance, especially if near a weekend. People travel a considerable distance to come to this unassuming gem, so best reserve a place.
Most people seem to get there, all together, around 8:15 so I'd advise you to try to be there just before or right at 8pm to beat the rush to order.
The place is children friendly and, in the summer, there are a few tables outside.
Definitely worth visiting, we're looking forward to our next visit.

Date of visit: September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank russ_st_elmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

excellent restaurant! service is excellent. food is excellent. the fish will be prepared at your table - it is an artistic show to watch! there is not much to say when everything is so good from the wine to the secundo its a pleasure! maybe the dolce was more ok than good... but the limoncello and grappa made a perfect finish. :)

Date of visit: August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante da Remo also viewed

Santa Maria di Rispescia, Province of Grosseto
Alberese, Province of Grosseto
 
Santa Maria di Rispescia, Province of Grosseto
Rispescia, Grosseto
 
Grosseto, Province of Grosseto
Alberese, Province of Grosseto
 

Been to Ristorante da Remo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing