We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house”

Review of Loch End Cottage

Lochend Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lochend Cottage
Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Lochend Cottage
Master Bedroom
Banton Loch
Colzium Glen    5 mins. walk
Decking Area
Kitchen
Livingroom
Living Room
Bedroom 3 (twin)
Kitchen/Diner
Family Bathroom
Downstairs Bedroom with En-Suite
Kitchen
Master Bedroom En-Suite
Master Bedroom photo 2
House from the North
Play Park - 5 mins away
Cottage from the south
Bedroom 3
Banton Loch   100mts from House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mmelly
Fanas, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great house”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Really enjoyed our time in the house. It was perfect to hold all of our extended family. The yard is fantastic and although you are only a short walk to town it feels like you are out in the country. Really private and quiet. Only complaint would be the appliances had some quirks...perhaps just our ineptitude with them! Would also be nice to have a gas grill outside instead of a charcole one.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bizzy C
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Wow what a place. Great quality and lovely relaxed feeling within. Had everything you would need. Great location with beautiful surroundings. Great value for money. Came here with some girlfriends to celebrate my 50th birthday. Mark the owner very approachable and helpful with any special requests. Boathouse nearby worth a visit for lovely food and only £4 for a taxi many thanks and we'l be back x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alec w
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best Holiday Cottage I have stayed in”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

I have been staying in cattages for the last 40 years with my children and now with my children and Grandchildren.
This is the best cottage for quality and value for money I have stayed in.
Spacious, quality fittings, three showers.comfortable beds, own grounds, secluded.
If you want a base for touring Scotland this is it,
Glasgow, car or train ,great for the shopping, Edinburgh,car or train, great for the tourist, Stirling, for the castle Loch Lomand for the scenery, etc.
Unfortunately now I have said all this, it will get bookred up and I won't be able to stay their next year, so will have to book now.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious accomodation, luxury fittings, three bathrooms
Liked least: Poor reception on the Television, but on holiday should not be watching the box
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
k0612
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Had an amazing weekend with friends at Lochend Cottage! Although it is definitely not a cottage but a beautiful big house. It has a vast private garden which my dog loved running around, spacious kitchen and livingroom and 4 big bedrooms.

It feels completely remote and is surrounded by lovely walks and views. Banton loch is a 2 minute walk away. However it's really close to plenty of amenities.

The house is very well equipped. It has nice touches like underfloor heating, quality glasses and a ice machine in the fridge.

If I had to add anything it would be for the house to have wifi, if I was being picky.

I would highly recommend a relaxing and enjoyable stay at Lochend Cottage.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelpopp...
2 reviews
“Perfectly secluded”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We booked this as part of a holiday. Directions were straight forward and we were really delighted when we saw the house and garden which is hidden on edge of the Colzium Estate where the play park is situated, which took only 5 minutes to walk to. Upon entry the house did have a stale cigarette smoke smell in the hall, lounge and kitchen, this was our only issue as our son is asthmatic it can cause issues. The house instruction booklet does state smoking allowed only in kitchen but on another note states you may smoke in living room too so obviously other rentals have taken advantage of this confusion.

There was sufficient towels toilet rolls washing supplies for a family. It did feel like home from home despite the smoke smell.

We would recommend this property if you want a nice quiet spot for the kids to be able to run around outside and get a quiet nights sleep without the drone of traffic outside your window.

We would stay again if property was available.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2014
We have monitored the smoking issue for a year and there has been no further problem. Smoking is therefore still allowed strictly only in the kitchen which is easily aired with the double doors and windows with no soft furnishings to hold smell.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$214
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing