We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fasinating views. Excellent hospitality. Very...”
other travellers have booked this property
Settle in at Stoury Bothy.  
Breathe in some fresh air.  And Relax!! xx
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Settle in at Stoury Bothy.  
Breathe in some fresh air.  And Relax!! xx
Grounds outside and looking eastward.  Plenty parking spaces!. Hydrangea outside the patio doors in full bloom.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Settle in at Stoury Bothy.  
Breathe in some fresh air.  And Relax!! xx
Grounds outside and looking eastward.  Plenty parking spaces!.
Hydrangea outside the patio doors in full bloom.
View of living area from kitchen
Oh I wish I knew how to upload photos!
Three wee birdies by the lamp in the double bedroom.
Chooks and hunky cockerel..scraps in...eggs out!
Garden and outside seating area - perfect to use the barbecue!
Standing stone overlooking Townhead Resevoir (known as The Damn or Banton Loch)
View over the Kelvin Valley from the farm.
Beautiful countryside views from all around the Bothy.
Swans and cygnets from the local Mill Pond.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Shashini
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fasinating views. Excellent hospitality. Very relaxing and Comfortable stay.”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We had lovely stay in Scotland at Heather's place in July 2013, wish I had more holidays to stay there! I took my parents who came on a holiday from Sri Lanka and they loved the way they were treated by Heather.

The place located in a tranquill area and was very neat and tidy with a very clean and modern bathroom. Heather was so concerned and thoughtful so she had provided everything you feel that is necessary for your stay. Heather had been very thoughtful to prepared a lovely food basket with Scottish bread, butter, cheese, biscuits and etc. We enjoyed the farm fresh eggs that were available in her farm. They are HUGE :)

There are superstores (Asda and Tesco) withing 8 miles so it was very convenient for us to buy things. Its and ideal place if you want a relaxing and calm holiday as well as for sight seeing.

The owner (Heather) lives next to the cottage and her little ones were so adorable and very well behaved. They invited us for a camp fire as well :)
It was well worthy stay and we have no hesitation in recommending Stoury Bothy to anyone. This will definitely be our home when we come to Scotland again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Calm, quiet and relaxing stay
Liked least: returning home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rupinder1...
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful host and location”
Reviewed 17 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Heather is a great host, extremely helpful and sweet. Cottage is at top of the hill with great view of the fields and very conveniently located midway to Glasgow ans Edinburgh (car is definitely recommended if you plan on travelling very often). Cottage in itself is very nice and comfortable. We had a real good time staying at "Stoury Bothy".

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roshithaa...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place”
Reviewed 28 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Scotland is a country of sheep, farms and nice sceneries. So why not stay in a place with all these surrounded? Hotels are all the same around the whole UK, right?
Firstly, I must admit Heather, was very kind and very helpful. She made sure we had everything we need for the kids.
The apartment was very elegantly decorated and this is newly built, so most of the equipments were not used yet.
Although this is in Glasgow, it is really situated between Glasgow and Edinburgh, which makes easier to drive to both cities.
We went on a Highlands tour while we were there and drove upto Fort Augustus while we stopped at many places to take photos. It was great.
We wish we could stay few more days, just enjoy the surrounding.
Definitely will recommend for my freinds

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Apartment itself
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2013
Thank you Suraj for your lovely review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your short stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views!
Liked least: Road a little bumpy!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vincent P
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2017
TRANSLATION OF ABOVE FOR NON-FRENCH SPEAKERS....
Charming small "bothy" in a farmhouse. Tranquility assured in this charming corner of Scotland. A kindness full of delicate attentions from Heather and her family. Everything you need is there and Heather's visiting tips are just right. Between Edinburgh and Glasgow an ideal position to discover the riches of this country. I highly recommend.

Thank you so much Vincent and family for your lovely kind review. You had a mixed bag of weather..but managed to squeeze loads of Scotland into it and we are so glad that you got to see so far around Scotland from the Bothy. We would love to welcome you all back again anytime at all. Xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing