We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A cozy and calm place to stay, only 40 minutes...”
other travellers have booked this property
Settle in at Stoury Bothy.  
Breathe in some fresh air.  And Relax!! xx
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Settle in at Stoury Bothy.  
Breathe in some fresh air.  And Relax!! xx
Grounds outside and looking eastward.  Plenty parking spaces!. Hydrangea outside the patio doors in full bloom.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Settle in at Stoury Bothy.  
Breathe in some fresh air.  And Relax!! xx
Grounds outside and looking eastward.  Plenty parking spaces!.
Hydrangea outside the patio doors in full bloom.
View of living area from kitchen
Oh I wish I knew how to upload photos!
Three wee birdies by the lamp in the double bedroom.
Chooks and hunky cockerel..scraps in...eggs out!
Garden and outside seating area - perfect to use the barbecue!
Standing stone overlooking Townhead Resevoir (known as The Damn or Banton Loch)
View over the Kelvin Valley from the farm.
Beautiful countryside views from all around the Bothy.
Swans and cygnets from the local Mill Pond.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
2e_transl...
Annecy (France) V Galway (Ireland)
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“A cozy and calm place to stay, only 40 minutes from Edimbourg Airport”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

In the heart of the country-side, lies a gem, that we feel honoured to have found.

Stoury Bothy is a home away from home and even better. We travelled to Scotland for my brother's wedding, and after such a short stay, are sure we will return.
Our boys aged 8 and 12 made the most of the garden and all the toys. And as a result, we enjoyed the calm :)
Heather, is the sweetest person ever. Her good nature and humour can be felt from the moment you make an enquiry, to the moment you say goodbye after a long or short stay.
The cottage is attached to their farm house at the end of a lovely farm road. Not a noise to bother you. Despite being so close to the airport.
A generous basket of goodies awaited us on arrival. We have rented many homes in France and abroad, and have often received little goodies, but this basket wins hands down!
The cottage is very comfortable. Very well equipped. Beautifully decorated and immaculately clean.
Only complaint that we could possibly make - is that our stay was too short!
We want to extend our thanks to Heather for her warm Scottish welcome and hospitality, and also to her lovely husband, Dove, who is behind the scene working hard on the farm.

Would we recommend Stoury Bothy? YES! Just be sure not to overlap with our next holidays, as we intend to return :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2014
Thank you Laura so much for another kind review. We are all so glad you enjoyed your time here and would love to see you back again, maybe for the next wedding! We are glad that you made the most of the calm. It would be stressful enough getting ready for a wedding with two boys, so I am glad that we kept your blood pressure down! x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyJor...
1 review
“Sweetness and charm”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We loved our stay at Stoury Bothy so much we wish it had been longer than two nights. From the moment we were greeted by Heather and shown in, we felt welcome and at home. The rooms are decorated in a lovely, crafty, original style (Heather's handiwork, I learned), and everything about the place invites you to relax and enjoy. It is peaceful, the views are lovely, it's immaculately clean, the beds are very comfy, (the eggs are divine!) ... I could go on, but it's clear that we recommend staying here AND that we'll be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2014
Many, many thanks for such a lovely review. We try to keep the bothy looking homely and quirky, -- many people just want that cosy feeling of comfort you get when you visit your grannies house! Many people have told us that it is more homely than their own home! Its a home from home or a hame fae hame. xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill G
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely excellent accommodation and host”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We had a great week staying at the Bothy and visiting various locations. Our 3 grandchildren loved their time at the farm playing with Heather's children. The Bothy itself is really nice and the attention to detail was fantastic - we didn't need all the extras we brought with us. Heather is a lovely host and nothing is too much bother. We would recommend Stoury Bothy to anyone and have already done so. Thanks Heather for making our week even more special and thanks to your children from our grandchildren.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome and the Bothy
Liked least: going home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2014
Fun times! When you are a kid and you make wee pals on holiday, you never really forget them. We are so glad that you all had a ball and would love to see you all again. x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ammiescot...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quiet location, beautiful views, friendly owners, fresh eggs for breakfast!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My partner and I booked the Bothy for a weekend stay, as we were attending a wedding at Glenskirlie Castle. We were welcomed by Heather on our arrival, and given a basket full of essential food and drink items which was much appreciated..

The Bothy is a perfect size for a couple or family as there are two good sized rooms. The location was perfect for a stroll to the lake and around the villiage. The locals were friendly and the special delivery of fresh eggs on the Saturday morning was perfect.

Excellent location if you want to go for a trip to Stirling, Falkirk, Edinburgh or Glasgow.

I have already recommended Stoury Bothy to others as I think it is an ideal getaway for a family holiday, or quiet spot for a couple.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We liked the views and peace and quiet
Liked least: That we hadn't booked the Bothy for longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2014
THank you so much for your great review. It is just 5 minutes from Glenskirlie Castle which is a very popular wedding location around here, but we are also 5 minutes from Colzium House and the Coachman in Kilsyth which also hold many functions. We are glad you enjoyed our hamper and eggs - the hens are laying well these days! We would love to see you or any of your friends back again. Heather x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat W
Lampertheim, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful cosy bothy.”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We have just returned from Scotland , where we spent a lovely week at Stoury Bothy.
It was beautifully decorated, with lots of homely touches, and we felt at home as soon as we arrived.
We really appreciated the welcome food pack. After a long drive, we did not want to go to a supper market first thing, and we had a delicious tea and breakfast before having to go out for provisions.
Heather was very welcoming and helpful throughout our stay, and we can't help her enough.
The countryside around the bothy was lovely and it was very relaxing just being at the farm, after day trips to Glasgow and Edinburgh.
We also discovered great local places , such as the Colzium Estate and the canal path, which are great for little mountain bike trips.
It was excellent base to explore Glasgow and Edinburgh; but still be in the countryside.
We heartily recommend the Bothy to everyone, and a big thank you to Heather and her family for making us feel so welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely cosy lounge with great country views.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2014
Very many thanks for your positive review. It is great to have people from all around the world realise that Banton is probably the heart of Scotland! We like to think that everyone who comes here can certainly escape into the nearby cities and towns, then come back into the country and enjoy life at a slower pace. Hopefully you managed a good bit of both and we would love to welcome you back anytime. Our welcome pack always goes down well, it's just nice for someone else to give you some naughty Scottish goodies that need eating! xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$141
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing