We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb location for families (and dogs)”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tauranga

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Bull20142...
Dortmund, Germany
1 review
“Superb location for families (and dogs)”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This was our second visit to Camber Sands and Tauranga. It proved to be another thoroughly enjoyable holiday, particularly as this holiday home also welcomes dogs.

Camber beach is within walking distance. Section B is open to dogs during the summer months. Some of the major attractions, such as Battle Abbey and Dover Castle, are also dog-friendly.

The house had everything we needed. Larger families (we are only three plus a Labrador) should probably opt for one of the larger properties within the portfolio of holiday homes. I think it is probably perfect for four people sharing.

If you need a larger supermarket, we would recommend the Sainsbury's Sedlescombe Road store north of Hastings (McDonald's is next door if you have to bribe the children before/after visiting some of the cultural attractions in the area).

Children: Lydd is approx. 20 minutes away by car for karting. Additionally, you might like to look up Action Watersports in Lydd for various activities (not cheap, but worth a visit).

Another point: the process of booking Tauranga online was very efficient, and the response time is excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: England is not cheap - but then you will probably be aware of that before you visit.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B
Dortmund, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This is the second time we have been in this wonderful house and we will return for more perfect holidays at Camber beach! The house is made up to a very high standard and has everything one needs during a holiday. We ( a familily with a 11 year old daughter and a black Labrador) enjoyed the dog friendly house and beach and the beautiful countryside. There is plenty to do for everyone: spending time on the beach, visiting Dover Castle, Battle or Rye, watersports, karting and so on. Looking forward to come back!

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nilla360
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming homley holiday house!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband, my two daughters (13 and 15 year olds) and our Border Terrier Maisy stayed in this house for two nights to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday. When we arrived at the house we were very excited! The house was everything we could have hoped for and more. The rooms were comfortable and homely and nicely decorated. Everything was very clean and tidy. There were lots of extras like a welcome pack of chocolate cake, biscuits and apple juice. There was milk in the fridge, teabags, coffee and sugar on the side. Even kitchen, downstairs toilet and upstairs bathroom had lovely liquid soaps in them. Fantastic! Lovely towels and plenty for all of us, some really good dvd/blueray films for us all to enjoy! Location was great, easy walk to the beach (where Maisy went mad with happiness) and easy to drive into Rye for an explore. We definitely want to return and stay for longer! Most important to us was the Maisy dog could come with us to be part of our holiday and that is how we found this property as it was listed as pet friendly which it definitely was!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That it is dog-friendly
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marleen S
Voorschoten, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable, warm cottage during a stormy week”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Tauranga for a week over New Year's. We booked last minute and had a very smooth booking procedure, then received detailed and tailor made information.
We knew the weather was likely to be wet and wild, so we wanted a comfortable place to stay, which is what we found.
We visited Hastings, Rye and Folkestone, enjoyed getting there using the coastal roads where possible. The children (9, 11 and 14) much appreciated the internet connection, the collection of dvd's and the spread of tv programs that were on offer.
The cottage is very well equipped and we were able to stay nice and warm. The welcome package was a really nice touch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: feeling right at home
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewed 30 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location near a very nice beach, combined with the beauty of the English countryside
Liked least: That we stayed just one week....
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing