We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Franco(El Fuerte)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$31
Hotels.com
View Deal
Rio Vista Hotel(El Fuerte)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel El Fuerte(El Fuerte)
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Posada Don Jose(El Fuerte)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$21
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$194
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
18
32
12
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
32
12
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main squarewifibiteinsectstown
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We were on a tour to Mexico's Copper Canyon and we should have stayed at the Hotel Torres del Fuerte. There were problems with the booking and our guide asked us and our friends if we'd mind changing hotels - so we said yes we would be happy to change. This was a very nice hotel just off the main square. We entered through a gate and the hotel had a nice garden and a pool. It was dark when we arrived. It is more modern than the Hotel Torres. We had a nice clean room but the room is only lit with low lights. We didn't eat there. Our meals were at the Torres Hotel where our the dinner was excellent. There was entertainment which was part of the Copper Canyon tour. This was a wonderful dance troup who did dances from 3 different regions.

Room Tip: This is a very nice hotel and the room we had were upstairs and approached from an outdoor staircase. It was away from the road and quiet. We were almost the only people staying in the hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I like a room that is more than a bed and a shower. This is it. Cozy and representative of the Mexican culture. The room is clean, nicely decorated, and it has the right size. The hotel is well located on the main square.

Service at the restaurant has always been excellent, although I agree that the waiters seem unmotivated and tired.
Breakfast, delicious!!!! Lunch has been ok, but the margaritas are yummy! :-)

They close very early, and I think it would be great if they had the bar open for those who don't want to venture out at night. Some music would make it also a great place -instead of the TV!

I will stay here again, but I hope next time I have hot water and working WiFi.
They owner/manager seemed ok with these complaints. Different culture, I guess....

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Psykiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Our group of 10 adults traveled by vehicles from USA to El Fuerte. We decided on Hotel la Choza because of secured parking area for vehicles since we were to leave on El Chepe Train to Creel - Copper Canyon. Enjoyed our stay for 3 nights prior to train trip. Hotel was quite accommodating and staff was very pleasant. We ate both breakfast and dinner and meals were quite good. Wi-Fi available. El Fuerte was historic town with quite a history. We will return to La Choza Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcbaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Rooms are clean and comfortable albeit lighting dim. Great location. We were there at a non busy time so perhaps not usual staff on, but we were not impressed with the restaurant food at night although breakfast was 'solid'. Staff seemed disinterested and unhappy.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristineSMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

Mid range hotel. Large bright rooms with good beds. Very clean with good shower. Tv in room. Small pool and attractive courtyard. Good restaurant and good location on edge of square.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheAdventurer1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews